214768 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Spencer, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.15 miles SE
15.94 miles N
25.49 miles NW
32.55 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
Rr 5 Box 774
2.34 miles NW
Indiana
Spencer
Most Recently Reviewed
McCormick's Creek State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-14 16:41:01
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Spencer, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   1   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
We stayed here for two nights while visiting an area attraction. It as a campground so the majority of the sites were seasonal. The few overnight sites were level gravel and were easy to get in and out of, although the road to the campground was a couple of miles of gravel with lots of low hanging tree limbs that hit the top of our motorhome. There was a tremendous amount of golf cart traffic. Most of the people in the carts were friendly and waved as they went by, but the late night traffic made it difficult to sleep. They advertised a swimming lake but the beach was just a small sandy area on a small pond of very brackish water. We saw no one swimming there even though it was a hot weekend. They also advertised a petting barnyard. Our young grandson was looking forward to petting some animals but we only saw two horses and a rooster, and the rooster chased him and tried to peck him. We could hear other animals inside but the door was locked. There was no sign stating what their hours were and who to contact to open the door. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Most of the sites at this campground are seasonal; in fact, during our four night stay there was only one night when there were other overnight. What this meant was we didn't have any neighbors really close. It was very quiet. We did meet a few of the neighbors and they were really friendly and helpful. I wouldn't recommend this campground for people with children, because one little boy came over and asked us if we had seen any kids around (he was looking for someone to play with) and when we said we hadn't he burst in to tears. The site was fairly large and well maintained. The male host was very friendly and even sold us firewood the first night after the camp store was closed. The female host was, unfortunately, not so friendly. The firewood they sold us was unseasoned, but one of the year-round neighbors traded us for some that would burn without being drenched in lighter fluid. We went on the canoe trip, which had it's ups and downs: we didn't see anyone else on the river the entire time, but then we had to wait for 75 minutes for the guy to come pick us up at the end. He apologized for the wait and said that the way that trips are scheduled means this happens a lot. My husband said the "swimming pond" was actually a little mud pit not much bigger than our site so we didn't bother with that. We had fun here, but I doubt we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We visited this park and had a great time. It is very well maintained and clean. There is a cute country store that has groceries, snacks and souvenirs. The staff was friendly and the activities were a lot of fun. We went on a canoe trip one afternoon and a horseback ride the next morning. There are marked hiking trails through the woods, two lakes for fishing and boat rentals on site. We would recommend this park for a stay in the country. It is located on a gravel road, but it is well maintained. It did not bother us and it reminded us we were not in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hickory Hills Campground
Camp Information
Sites
289
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   6   8   10   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$26
We really enjoyed this park. It was our first trip in our travel trailer. Very beautiful scenery. Gate attendants were helpful and courteous. Roads are well paved and somewhat easy to navigate. Campsites are nice. Restrooms are neat and clean. Sites are gravel. Some will need work to level your RV but most are easy to level. If you're new at it you might want to call first. Trails are well marked. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Wonderful state park. Great facilities, lots of dumpsters. The creek is amazing, and the campground is right in the middle of the woods, with the west fork of the White River on the north side of the property (and a walking trail to the river). The park's naturalists are very friendly and knowledgeable. There is WiFi available at the park's hotel, The Canyon Inn, which also features a fantastic (if a little pricey) restaurant. The food is delicious, and the glass enclosed dining room/porch is an awesome experience- especially in winter when the birds visit the feeders. I think all the state parks are a little high-priced, but they do offer a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Decent campground. Very short sites and not very many accommodating to longer trailers. Also a lot of very unlevel sites taking quite a while to level. We stayed in A loop. B loop is little better w/ flatter sites but still quite short. Both loops are quite shaded. Nice pool and very good trails. First time we've ever complained to rangers about other campers noise (loud boombox) and they took care of it quickly. Might also add that this park has one of the best primitive campgrounds I've ever seen. If we go back, will probably take the trailer to that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for McCormick's Creek State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com