218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Dubuque, Iowa (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.34 miles NE
13.39 miles N
18.07 miles SE
20.28 miles NW
20.59 miles SW
20.70 miles W
21.95 miles SE
24.36 miles NE
26.10 miles SE
34.06 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Emmaus Bible College
0.34 miles NW
Bunker Hill Golf Course
0.37 miles NE
Clarke College
0.49 miles NE
University Of Dubuque
0.66 miles SE
Loras College
0.98 miles SE
Nicholas Perrot'S
1.36 miles SW
Mario'S - Dubuque
1.58 miles E
Yen Ching - Dubuque
1.68 miles E
Fenelon Place Elevator
1.70 miles SE
Dubuque Diamond Jo Third Street Ice Harbor Dubuque Ia 52004 563-583-7005 (Located To Zip)
1.71 miles SE
Porter'S Steakhouse
1.85 miles SE
Alte Glocke
1.95 miles SE
Dubuque Greyhound Park An
2.17 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
4200 Dodge St
2.29 miles SW
Mississippi River Museum
2.31 miles SE
Miller Riverview Park County 50 E
2.64 miles NE
Sundown Mountain
4.50 miles NW
Swiss Valley Park County 54-E/20-Ne
5.72 miles SW
Crystal Lake Cave
6.19 miles SE
Dubuque Municipal Airport
6.61 miles S
Mud Lakes Park County 24 E/30 Ne
7.65 miles N
Massey Marina County Park 24 E/40 Ne
7.80 miles SE
Guy'S Truck & Tractor
7.87 miles NE
Finley'S Landing Park 22 E/18 Ne
14.58 miles NW
Fillmore Recreation Area County 6 E/15 Ne
16.36 miles SW
Iowa
Dubuque
Most Recently Reviewed
Miller Riverview Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-18 23:12:28
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Dubuque, Iowa
Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
June 2010
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$0
This location is closed to overnight camping. Only seasonal camping is available based on sign posted at the old office. I was told it had been closed for two years. Do not confuse this RV campground with Miller Riverview Campground about 1/2 mile away on Riverview Park Rd but on the same island. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
This campground is located adjacent to the Mississippi river with a nice view of river. Nice flat site, no sewer available, water and power connections in pretty poor shape. A lot of permanent RVs as it has good boat ramp. Rather loud partying till about 10pm. Entrance is rather tight between gates. Not bad location as there are few alternatives in the area. Would use again if passing thru. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
The fairgrounds are a great deal if visiting Dubuque. They are close to the city, less than 10 minutes to downtown. Sites are all back-in to a fence that has all the utilities. It's really just a grass field with hook ups along the fence line. All the sites slope to the back so leveling can be tricky. Electric and sewer take long cords/hoses depending on the site. A number of seasonal sites in use. Only 4 to 6 other sites available when we were here. Water is not freeze proof so it won't be available in cold months. Racing takes place on Sat night in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Clean, quiet, easy access to pull through site with motor home and towed car.fire pit and picnic table at site. Firewood available at campground. Lots of trees throughout campground. Would rate higher if a camp store were present and office were located in permanent structure and staff available during the day. No camp store. Office is in a camper near entrance to park. Water pressure good except when management is filling swimming pool. Gravel camp site needed additional gravel for rainy weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
No laundry; no real office-just a trailer where someone takes money (cash or check only); no security; it is quiet and sites are wide. One concrete slab holds a Big Rig. Odd place but choices are few in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
The management was helpful, friendly on the phone and when we got here. Campground is on the West side of Dubuque, and not very far outside of town. It was a very handy location for us. We came from Highway 20 and found it very easy to get to the campground. We lived in Dubuque several years ago, and found the town has expanded greatly. It is even better than it was 25 years ago. We have always liked Dubuque. There were a lot of campers the night we were here, and we were parked on the side by the road. However the park was very quiet, day and night and there was no traffic noise from the road. The sites are gravel and were reasonably level, the roads were paved and in good condition. There was a pool and shower house, but we didn't use either one. It was a nice place to stay and we may use it again, but we felt the price was kind of high. We paid $35 for full hook up, but could have paid $5 less without sewer hook up. There is a dump station available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hoot Owl Hollow Campground
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
June 2009
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
This facility looks to be built on someone's spare pastureland or perhaps a large front yard. The road leading to the campground is a bit rough though it is asphalt. Once you enter the campground the road is gravel and a bit dodgy in places. It was difficult to see the spaces after dark. The space we chose was a large, level, concrete pad which easily accommodated our 31' Class C; however, it was situated so that it was difficult to turnaround in order to back into the space. The surrounding terrain was sloped and made it difficult to maneuver. About 30% of the facility was full of full-timers though most looked to be fairly high end. The shower and bathroom facilities were what you might find at an old church camp from the 50's. The plumbing was exposed and though it was fairly clean it was cramped and had a very old feel to it. There is a nice picnic area next to the restroom facilities and it appears that this campground is very tent friendly. All that being said, the fact that this campground is quite a ways from town meant that it was very, very dark and very quiet which we loved. We heard coyotes off in the distance which was also kind of neat. All in all a pleasant experience even with the challenges of navigating inside the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   8   7   8   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
This is a park maintained by the city of Dubuque. They do a good job, sometimes in spite of some of the guests who come. The park, located on the edge of the Mississippi River, only opened around August 2014 as the river had exceeded 17’ and the park is about 10’ above the river. Call to be sure there is no issue with the river. They have put in 50-amp on over 50 sites since we were there in ’09. Some sites along the river have a slope that might require cribbing your jacks and extra steps to get in, while sites away from the river’s edge are almost level. The sites are covered in packed rock that easily supports your RV. Reservations are accepted for sites. We were on the river but had to move on a weekend as a group had reserved multiple sites together. Much of the park is under trees and open areas may not receive satellite signals because the trees are so tall. Cell phones work in the park without any issues. The restrooms are functional and typical of city park fixtures; all stainless. Condition of the restrooms depends on the campers and their behavior. They are watched and cleaned as needed, but this can’t guarantee you it will be to your standards. It appears that some who tent at the park have fewer manners. The park is on Adm. Sheehe, but GPS thinks it is Riverview. Ken, at the office, will accept mail and our UPS was delivered to our unit. Planning to stay only a few days, we ended up staying 10 days and have stayed longer once in the past. There are gas and fuel facilities very near the park as well as several places to eat. The river lock #11 is north of the park on Kerper Blvd going north to the stop sign. Turn right to the lock; very interesting and likely you will spend over an hour there. At the same stop sign, turn left, cross the RR tracks and the Point Café is on your left. Make this a ‘for sure stop’. Don’t order the Point Burger ($7.49) unless you have help to eat it. All portions are huge and are served very hot by friendly wait staff. Maybe after eating at the Point Café, head south and watch the signs for the Eagle’s Nest Park. This is one of the nicest parts we have visited. Admission is only one buck. The park offers great views of the river and lock from about 500’ up. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Decent place to stay while visiting Dubuque. Located right on the river the views are terrific. No sewer or water. Lots of trees but we were able to get satellite in our site which was close to the front of the campground. Nice bike and walking trails. Located right behind a decent casino. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Although these were electric-only sites and there is no bathhouse, this is a beautiful park with fantastic Mississippi River views at a great price. We camped mid-week, and the park was only half full. There is a friendly, helpful host. It is very close to the casino. We would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Miller Riverview Park
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
Nice county campground located about 8 miles from downtown Dubuque and only 3 miles from major roads. Half of the sites are large enough for big rigs. Dump station is too tight for 40 plus foot coaches, however it works fine by backing in. This was not a problem as we were the only campers in the park. It might be an issue in the middle of summer. Beautiful park and grounds in a scenic country location. On-site ranger. For larger rigs we would recommend camping on the left side of the entrance as the sites seem to be bigger. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
This park was devastated by flooding in the Spring of 2011. Only 10 sites were usable when we stayed there. Though their web site stated they were closed, we called and they assured us a site. They should be ready to go almost full steam in 2012. A narrow twisty road to get to park but ti is OK. Some sites were pretty short for a "big rig". Dump site was somewhat difficult to get to. Be sure to dump prior to hooking up to dingy. We stayed 2 nights while biking the Heritage Nature Trail (cinder/crushed rock Rails-to-Trails) located Dyersville to Dubuque, 5 miles away. The Heritage Trail suffered severe flood damage also. Don't try biking on "road" tires. There is small county nature center near park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
This is a nice county park about 5 miles outside of Dubuque. Sites are all level with a gravel parking pad. Space between site is 15' to 20'. Adjacent county park has large playground and activity fields. Stocked trout stream runs through property. No TV reception. No camp store - nearest stores is about 1.5 miles away. We stayed here in the off-season and water at the site was off but there were a few freeze proof hydrants that were reachable with 50' to 100' of hose. Dump station open year round. Shower house closed in the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com