224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Johnston, Iowa (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
3.75 miles W
6.42 miles NW
7.29 miles SW
7.71 miles SE
9.92 miles SW
10.20 miles SE
12.62 miles SE
14.48 miles NW
16.71 miles SW
22.50 miles SE
23.62 miles SE
28.83 miles SW
29.67 miles NW
30.78 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Cutty'S Des Moines Camping Club
(515)986-3929
3.29 miles SW
Cutty'S Des Moines Camping Club-10500 Nw 54Th
3.29 miles SW
House Of Hunan - Des Moi
3.69 miles S
Acorn Valley (Coe) 98 Sites
3.70 miles N
Sams Club?I-235:3 1101 73Rd St (Located To Zip)
4.20 miles SE
The Mandarin
4.21 miles SE
Prairie Plower Rec Area Coe
4.70 miles NE
Christopher'S - Des Moin
4.71 miles SE
Pilot Travel Center
I-35 X126
4.88 miles SW
Brix - Clive
4.92 miles SW
Woodside Golf Course
5.16 miles E
Cosi Cucina Italian Gril
5.19 miles SW
Living History Farms
5.63 miles SW
Faith Baptist Bible Col
5.64 miles NE
The Machine Shed - Des M
5.66 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
I-235 Exit 3
1001 73Rd St
5.89 miles S
China Palace - Des Moin
5.89 miles SW
Bavarian Haus
5.95 miles SE
Waterfront Seafood Market
6.32 miles SE
Cummins Great Plains 15 2 0
6.32 miles SE
Ohana Steakhouse
6.32 miles SE
Drake University
6.65 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
I-35 Exit 90
1002 Se National Dr
6.68 miles NE
Grand View College
6.94 miles SE
Science Center Of Iowa
6.97 miles SE
Jesse'S Embers
7.11 miles SE
University Of Osteopathic
7.25 miles SE
Lewis Jester Park County
7.43 miles NW
Aunt Butch'S Bistro
7.47 miles SE
China Wok
7.61 miles SE
Des Moines Botanical Cent
7.74 miles SE
Quenelles
7.86 miles SE
Metz Continental Cuisine
8.01 miles SE
Jester County Park 52 E/12 Ne
8.16 miles NW
Nacho Mammas
8.19 miles SE
A Taste Of Thailand
8.20 miles SE
Big Creek State Park
8.65 miles N
Walnut Woods State Park 8 E/20 Ne
10.22 miles SW
Crimmins Cattle Co
10.45 miles SE
Des Moines International
10.64 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
3501 8Th St
10.85 miles SE
Freightliner Of Des Moines 8003972002
10.86 miles E
Adventureland Park
10.88 miles SE
Rest Area On Ia I-80 At Mile Marker 118 Verified On 08/04
10.99 miles SW
Prairie Meadows Race Tra
11.25 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
5101 Se 14Th St
11.57 miles SE
Willow Creek Golf Club
11.80 miles SE
Blank Park Zoo
12.24 miles SE
Swede Point County Park 24 E/10 Ne
15.31 miles NW
Iowa
Johnston
Most Recently Reviewed
Bob Shetler Campground COE
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-20 15:05:52
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Johnston, Iowa
Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$9
This park is very nice, but it has some aging problems. The sights are gravel and mostly level. My wife and I have been coming here for about 10 years. Acorn is a alcohol free park. I talked to the ranger today and ask him why is Iowa's Army Corp parks behind as far as upgrading come pared to others that we have camped in, such as in Texas. He told me its a slow process getting money from the government. My wife and I like this park because its close to everything we see and do in Des Moines why we are here visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Very nice campground lots of shade in most site. The only draw back we noticed was that it was a perty good distanced to water hook ups, we had to run out about 150' feet of hose to fill our water tank. Other wise it was a great place to stay if you don't drink, There is No alcohol allowed in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
I did not stay in the campground, but because it does not have a previous review, this one is being posted. My comments are based on a detailed inspection of the facility. This is a nice Corp campground. It has trees that provide some shade for most sites, but they do not interfere with the sites or the paved access roads. There are only 33 RV sites, the rest are for tents. The separate tent only area is also nice. RV sites are gravel and will accommodate most sized rigs, but the bigger the RV the more front to back leveling will be required on about half of them. All sites are 30A service and only a selected few have water hook-ups. There are community faucets for filling holding tanks. Bathhouses were clean and centrally located. There is playground equipment for the kids. All sites have picnic tables and fire rings/grills. There is a small pond in the campground. This appears to be a very quiet place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   6   10   10   7   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
We loved this park. It was beautiful, quiet and fairly easy to maneuver. We had some difficulty finding the park, but it was worth the effort. The sites are mostly level, spacious and covered with a fine gravel. Restrooms and showers are conveniently located. The camp host was not very friendly, but that was not a game changer for us. Verizon was OK. Our stay was quiet and enjoyable and we would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
My wife and I camped in the section right along the river. All the sights along the river are paved. They are back ins, but very nice. Some shade and easy to get your satellite dish lined up. The sights come with really nice picnic tables and fire rings. Our rate was based on Golden Age discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$8
Nice facility. Well kept and well patroled. Most sites have adequate room . We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bob Shetler Campground COE
Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   6   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$10
We were very impressed with this COE campground. We had a large and level site with a lake view. We found the host to be friendly and helpful. We had good reception on our Verizon phones and hot spot. It's an eight or nine mile drive off of I-35 but worth the drive. We would stay here again on future travel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
This was a very disappointing COE campground and we probably won’t stay here again. For starters, the volunteers insisted on assigning us a spot instead of letting us choose our own (like we do in all other COE campgrounds). As a result, we got a small spot with very little space for being outside. Luckily, no one came in on the site next to us, so that helped. In the morning, we were awakened by the sound of lawn mowers. We thought surely we’d slept in, but soon found out it was only 7 a.m. When we asked the host about it, he said quiet time ended at 7 a.m. and the contractors always started mowing that early. Needless to say, we can’t recommend this campground, especially when there are several others from which to choose in the area. Price reflects our Senior Pass Discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
Nice COE campground on Saylorville Lake, east of the interstate a ways. Large campground with many loops. Situated on a ridge above the lake with no direct access. Our site was fairly un-level, but could compensate. Many sites are not level, but not terrible. Shady, which helped with the mid 90's temps we experienced during our trip. Other than the distance from the interstate, a great place to overnight. Very quiet during mid-week, probably very busy on weekends being on a high use lake. Rate reflects Senior Pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Cherry Glen COE
Camp Information
Sites
154
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   6   9   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
Cement pads with good paved roads. Beautiful views of Saylorville Lake. Campsites well spaced. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$10
This campground, on Saylorville Lake (an Army Corps of Engineers project) had been improved since our last stay. It was great then and is even better now. We camped on the "B" loop and had a lovely view of the lake. Large cement pad (level also), excellent table and fire pit grace every site in this loop. This area is very well maintained. I got a 50% discount because of the Senior card that I got at a National Park. While there were a lot of people at this campground, the sites are large enough that you don't feel like cordwood-city. Camping here is about 30 minutes away from downtown Des Moines. Excellent shopping centers are only about 10 minutes away at the intersection of 160 and US 35. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
Rate quoted is with the Federal Golden Pass. What a nice campground. Clean, well kept, quiet. Only thing would make it better would be full hook ups. But at only $9 a night, who's complaining! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Prairie Flower Recreation Area COE
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com