221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Winterset, Iowa (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.93 miles NW
19.47 miles N
20.09 miles NE
21.82 miles NE
24.22 miles SE
26.28 miles SW
27.14 miles NE
27.73 miles NE
28.83 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
John Wayne Birthplace H
0.08 miles NE
Bridges Of Madison County
0.13 miles SE
Kaser-Bevington House And
0.58 miles NW
Madison County Covered B
0.62 miles NW
"Winterset City Park 25-E,W,D"
0.80 miles SE
Pammel State Park
8.39 miles SW
Iowa
Winterset
Most Recently Reviewed
Winterset City Campground and RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-16 19:14:31
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Winterset, Iowa
Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$0
I really wanted to stay at this park but was concerned about driving under the tunnel so we decided not go go here. However, we parked at a nearby campground and drove over to this park. Our 5th wheel would not fit under the tunnel to the entrance but there was another entrance however you would need directions to get there. You would also need to drive over a ford so if there was a lot of rain that entrance would probably not work. My suggestion is to call first before coming here. The park was very wooded and looked like there was a lot to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
For the price this Park is in our top 20 campgrounds of 137 visited within the last three years. The Park from reservation to actual stay was pleasant, quiet and soothing. The Park sits atop a lovely Ridge "Devils Backbone" approx. 1000+ feet. Although there are not many amenities here, the park is very clean, has large sites and is sound. The Park, Camp Hosts couples were amazingly friendly and accommodating. This park in not far from the town of Winterset, Iowa and birthplace Museum of John Wayne. Additionally the home county of the "Madison County Bridges" which is not far off I-80. We can assure you, your stay here will be most relaxing and comforting. We stayed for 4 days in our 5th Wheel. WE WILL RETURN HERE someday in passing thru the area for sure. Thank you Pammel Park, IA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
The park's north entrance has a beautiful stone tunnel. We need 11 feet to enter and we had lots of room. The east entrance is a gravel road, but with no tunnel. The campground as a couple camping areas. One area with mature trees has a couple rows of spots for RVs with medium spaces between the gravel pads. Nice place to hang out and have a campfire cookout. The second area is a more open area, parking in large circle with a grassy area with playground and area for football tossing, etc. Great ford in this State Park - walk or drive your truck or SUV across the water. You do not need to drive through the water to the campground. We spent about an hour wading in the water with our friends. Our dogs were so happy to be cooled by the water - swimming and wading. Many children were tubing and swimming. Downstream people were fishing on the sandbars. The hosts were very nice. We will go back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Pammel Park
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   3   8   8   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$19
This city park is very clean, well-maintained, and quiet. The gravel road loops around to all the gravel back-in sites. Sites are rather wide, as the trailers are stagger-parked on each side of the loop. Restrooms were clean with 2 shower stalls that were spotless. As the county seat of Madison County, the town's small businesses are alive and well - many within a longer walk around the town square. Right at the park is a fun corn maze, and a 1-mile trail to historic stone Clark Tower. Good Verizon phone and MiFi connections. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$19
This park was one of my favorites. We got site 5 which had a nice shade tree, water, sewer, and 50 amp. Firewood at $2 for a large bundle. Verizon phone and hot spot worked great. Each site is a gravel pad for your RV with a large grassy area complete with picnic table. We camped during the week so we were able to get a nice spot. If coming on a weekend you would need to make a reservation due to many spots were already reserved for the weekend. Town park is right next to the campground and we walked around the park, visited the maze and drove up to Clark Tower. We were able to maneuver our dually truck up the one way road. Town is within walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
This was a nice small RV park to stay at while visiting the local balloon festival. We called a week ahead and reserved a spot. The space we had was large gravel, level, and clean with the grass in between the sites. Nice people and guests. Bathrooms were clean and tidy. No WiFi. No pool. Close to the tiny town and a great park next door for walking. Gorgeous surroundings on the outskirts of town with wonderful views. Self-check in at a board when you arrive. Cash or check only. There was a host on site that we talked to. Helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Winterset City Campground and RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com