214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Abilene, Kansas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.87 miles NE
22.22 miles SW
23.93 miles NE
26.15 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Dickinson Cnty Museum &
0.91 miles SE
Eisenhower Center
0.96 miles SE
Kirby House
1.01 miles SE
Brookville Hotel Dining
1.57 miles NE
Old Abilene Town & Wester
4.12 miles SW
Four Seasons Rv Acres
6.47 miles NE
Kansas
Abilene
Most Recently Reviewed
Covered Wagon Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-10 19:35:41
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Abilene, Kansas
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   7   5   8   7   8   8   2   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
This is an older park that is in need of some serious infrastructure TLC. The roads are gravel, but the edges and turns in the road are rutted and when it rains, it's like driving in a mud bath. I spent an hour scraping the stone-encrusted mud off of my tires. There are 3 types of sites: seasonal residents located in a shaded area at the front of the park; long gravel transient sites in front of the Self Storage building that have grass in between the sites and are fairly level; at the south end of the park, sites on a large mound of gravel, raised up several feet, where your wheels and front legs sit on opposite sides of the hill and leveling can be a challenge. There is no grass between the sites, and sites are opposing so you are facing the doorway of your next door neighbor. Almost all of these sites are occupied by working families, so work trucks abound, sometimes making navigation tricky. There are lots of children running about so you need to drive carefully and slowly during the day. Weekends are like ‘party central’. On the plus side, the water pressure, cable TV, and Verizon signals were great. The park is very close to several of the main attractions in Abilene; the Eisenhower Museum, Greyhound Hall of Fame, Old Abilene Town. There is a small swimming pool, the water is bright and clear, but there were some leaves sitting on the bottom. On the negative side, the ‘big rig’ access should be taken with a grain of salt, as the roads are narrow and winding. The exit route is like following a snake trail (or you can cheat and exit via site #15 and the main entrance). A double tracked main rail line runs through town. At the road crossings the train horns are loud, long, and at all hours of the day and night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
It was our misfortune to arrive at the campground during an unusual monsoon type rain. After paying our fee ( no discounts offered and only check or cash accepted ) we headed toward our site. We attempted to pull into the site per the directions at the office and we could see that the hook-ups for our rig would ALL be on the wrong side. We then looped around to come in from the other direction and while attempting to avoid one of the park homesteaders trucks ( 50% or better are homesteaders ) that stuck out into the driveway, we became stuck in the grass. Fortunately the park owner has a towing company and at no charge, we were pulled out. I think that the check in guy/ tow truck driver learned something about the park layout ( ie. that rigs need to park in alternating directions ). The sites are almost level, gravel but VERY soft when wet. There are lots of trains/train whistles to be heard throughout the nite and day. Based on the many kids bikes laying around the various sites, I’d guess that the park caters to a high number of local workers. They weren’t obvious during our stay because it rained both days and nights but the sites are so close together we could hear doors slamming and conversations. I think that I calculated that the park is 4/10ths of a mile from the Eisenhower home and museum and the Greyhound Museum. The museum offers adequate parking and charges $10.00 per person to see everything. My Garmin had the park on the left side of South Buckeye after leaving the interstate but fortunately my wife’s Google phone map listed it on the right ( correct ) side. They offer Tengo net but it’s so weak/limited that it’s not worth fooling with. The sites are too close to each other at our site. Our Verizon cell and mi-fi connected with 4 bars. The water pressure is listed at 75 lbs. and a pressure reducer is highly recommended. The park is just fine for us for a two nite visit to the museum and to visit the Russell Stover Factory down the road but this one visit/experience is more than enough. We did have a great meal at Joe Snuffy’s on first street and would recommend this eatery. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
While definitely lacking in ambiance, it is within easy walking distance (just 4 blocks) from the Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum It was our main reason for stopping in Abilene. Owner could not be more charming and helpful. Recommend people request pull-thru sites in rear of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Covered Wagon Campground
Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   7   5   10   3   7   7   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  no  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is an OK park to stay overnight. The restrooms and laundry are dated and the grounds not real well maintained. Convenient to Eisenhower Museum and Library. There's a convenience store on the grounds and a nice lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
Rate reflects off-season weekly rate. This park is a good base for exploring attractions in Abilene, Salina, Junction City and Fort Riley, as it is very close to I-70. Park has both back-in and pull-through sites available. Our site (#30) was long enough to park the car behind the motorhome, but it was not level. Utilities worked well, as did cable. There was one interruption to Wi-Fi service, but it was handled promptly. Interior roads are in good condition. One of the best things about this park is there is a windbreak of trees to help block the wind, and the wind can blow really hard in the winter in Kansas. There are not many shade trees within the park, however. There are many long-term campers here, but most of the sites are neatly kept, and the park has been quiet during our nine-day stay. There is a small pond on the property with ducks in residence. We did not check bathroom facilities. Fuel is available on-site. We enjoyed our stay here and will choose it again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Fine for visiting Abilene. Some pull throughs, many with sattelite view. Also cable is available. Camp Wi-Fi was strong and fast. Reasonable rate. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Four Seasons RV Acres
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com