206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Colby, Kansas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.32 miles SE
28.76 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
Colby-CS
0.16 miles N
Wal-Marti-70:53 1915 S Range Ave (Located To Block)
1.73 miles SW
Prairie Museum Of Art &
1.79 miles S
Cummins Mid-America
2.98 miles S
Rest Area On Ks I-70 At Mile Marker 48 Verified On 08/02
6.79 miles SW
Kansas
Colby
Most Recently Reviewed
Thomas County Fairgrounds
Latest Review Submited On
2012-10-10 17:24:37
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Colby, Kansas
Camp Information
Sites
Don't Know
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   10   8   9   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
If you need a place to stop for the night near Colby KS, this place works. Full hookup sites are $20/night. Since it is located in the fairgrounds park, I expect that it is full when there are activities at the fairgrounds. Nothing was happening at the fairground when we stopped there. There was nowhere to check in (it is just a large dirt parking lot with full hookups). We called the phone number on the sign; the person who answered told us to just put $20 in a truck that was parked nearby. It works for a quick overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
The RV park is obviously set up for Fair Carnival workers, and the sites feel somewhat tight. It is about 18’ between the sewer pipes, but each pipe is encased in concrete poured into a vehicle tire, laying flat on the ground, (they must have gotten tired of people runing over their sewer pipes). The extra foot or so taken up by the tire on each side of the site reduces site width to 16’ or less. There is a graveled road that runs across the front of the sites, but the sites are, like the rest of the area, very flat river silt. It might get a little soft in a good rainstorm. About half the sites have a dip in the middle. This dip is no problem for towable RVs, because the wheels are close together. In a motor home, the front wheels are on higher ground, and the rear wheels wind up in the middle of this dip. People must have complained though, because the other half of the sites have this dip filled in. Just park in any vacant site. A representative will come around, after dinner, (in our case) to collect fees. Basic Verizon phones worked well, and 4Gite was available on our Verizon modem and also worked well. There was no obstruction to Satellite TV signal. I couldn’t find an address for the actual fairgrounds anywhere, although it isn’t that hard to locate once you get to town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We had another nice stay at this campground. All the electrical have recently been replaced. It is quiet, plenty of room to maneuver, and everything worked well. The water pressure was the best we have had in a long time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Thomas County Fairgrounds
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$95



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   4   7   5   2   6   6   3   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$95
It's unusual that we find a park that really flips our switch, good or bad. This place did it. And, not in a good way. We were looking to stop in the Colby, KS area for the night. There were no recent reviews of this park since this time last year, so we were curious and stopped by. By "stopped by", we don't mean we drove through the entrance. We mean we found the park next to a Walmart. We parked at Walmart and wandered in (easy, too easy). Here is what we found. We probably wouldn't have found the park in the first place had we not been fortunate to see the EXTRA-small camper sign that directs you to the park. You know the one, a 1 square foot blue background with white relief of a trailer you see along County roads. Yep, that's all there is here. We can't imagine how many potential customers have missed that. Wished we had. It is no longer called Bourquin's RV Park & Restaurant. The restaurant is dead. It is now Bourquin's RV Park & Farmer's Market. We didn't see any farmers, or a market, just poor passer's-by who paid money to park there. This is a teenie-tiny RV park charging premium prices for teenie-tiny sites. Not as bad as KOA, mind you, but close, and still charging WAY too much for what they were selling. Sad! We truly felt sorry for those who'd paid to stay there. At least the owners didn't presume to call the place a "Resort" and charge yet another $3 per night. The park's only claim to fame is it is a very, and we mean a VERY short walk to Walmart (lock EVERYTHING up). That's the best we can say. We didn't check to see if we would be allowed to park at Walmart for free. We suspect not. By-the-way. There were at least two motels in town that advertised less for a single room than Bourquin's charged for their tiny pieces of dirt. Not at all a fair deal for the RVer. We'd have paid $20 for a night at this place, if they'd talked real pretty. $15 if not. Not a penny more. We decided we could drive another hour or two, and did. WE DID NOT STAY AT THIS PARK! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$33
This is one of the worst RV parks we have ever stayed in. It bears little resemblance to the pictures on their website. The instructions on the office were to call the owner(?) and we would be assigned a spot. She gave us a couple to choose from. One didn't have water and the other had a faulty electrical hookup. We got this information from a "permanent" parked near the sites. He indicated he had told the owners several times about the spots that had water and electrical problems but nothing was done to repair them. With his assistance we finally found a spot where the connections worked and got parked. Totally overpriced. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
What a joke of a campground! First, there is no staff at all. You have to find your site, pay and get no help at all. Some of the sites have cable TV, some don't. How do you find out? Walk around and look. Some have 30 amp some have 50 amp, again no map no way to know until you go to hook up. They say they have WiFi, but it secured and there is no one to give you the code!!! This is a field that they put water and sewer in and would not be bad for an over night at $25 a night, but $33 for a do it yourself campground is a bit steep! I would not stay here unless I could not find any other place. Oh another thing, be careful of the big ruts pulling in and out of your grass site! I would suggest staying someplace other than Colby. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Whistle Stop RV and Antiques
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com