223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Colby, Kansas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.32 miles SE
28.76 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
Colby-CS
0.16 miles N
Wal-Marti-70:53 1915 S Range Ave (Located To Block)
1.73 miles SW
Prairie Museum Of Art &
1.79 miles S
Cummins Mid-America
2.98 miles S
Rest Area On Ks I-70 At Mile Marker 48 Verified On 08/02
6.79 miles SW
Kansas
Colby
Most Recently Reviewed
Thomas County Fairgrounds
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-20 00:03:18
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Colby, Kansas
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   9   3   9   6   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Stayed here en route to Colorado for one night only. It was very sufficient for the one night. A lot of space to back up our big trailer. Attendant was friendly. It was quiet and off the highway as well. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Nice, clean, large back-in sites. Full hookups, it is on the county fairgrounds land. No showers/restrooms, you must be self-contained. There are no signs on roads to find this campground. You can stop at the visitor center or like most add to your GPS. Quiet area and close to shopping and gas. Great place for overnight stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
We made the decision to stay here at the last minute, when a thunderstorm chased us off the interstate, so I didn't have very high standards. The Thomas County Fairgrounds both met my expectations and surprised me. This is a campground that exists to serve annual county fair. The fact that it was still open puzzles me a bit, but there were another half-dozen sites occupied, so maybe they get enough business to justify it. The campground is really just an open field, mowed short, and a little muddy in the rain. There are zero activities for the children, unless you count running amok in field (after a long day on the road, sometimes that's all we need!). No pull-through sites, but the sites are incredibly easy to get into, with tons of maneuvering room, and only the utilities hookups to worry about hitting. The campground attendant was very casual -- we called in to check they had an opening, and he just told me to pick whatever site looked good to us :) As we were settling in, he came to collect our payment -- $20 cash, no registration required. Because we'd pulled off the road due to a thunderstorm, I asked about a storm shelter. It's a concrete box under the grandstand -- not exactly ideal to this Kansas girl, but lots better than a trailer in a storm! Fortunately, we didn't need it. Would I stay here again? If I needed to a place to get off the road in Colby, yes. Would I make it a destination? No. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Thomas County Fairgrounds
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   1   4   7   5   2   6   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
I guess the first thing you notice about this park is that you kind of have to guess where the registration office is. Coming in the main entrance, dirt and dusty, you miss it completely. The second thing is that there rate is not as quoted on the web site. Not $32, but $35 and then they charge you a $3 credit card fee. I had driven all the way from Sarasota FL and this is the most I have paid for site, and the place is basically a dirt field. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$95
It's unusual that we find a park that really flips our switch, good or bad. This place did it. And, not in a good way. We were looking to stop in the Colby, KS area for the night. There were no recent reviews of this park since this time last year, so we were curious and stopped by. By "stopped by", we don't mean we drove through the entrance. We mean we found the park next to a Walmart. We parked at Walmart and wandered in (easy, too easy). Here is what we found. We probably wouldn't have found the park in the first place had we not been fortunate to see the EXTRA-small camper sign that directs you to the park. You know the one, a 1 square foot blue background with white relief of a trailer you see along County roads. Yep, that's all there is here. We can't imagine how many potential customers have missed that. Wished we had. It is no longer called Bourquin's RV Park & Restaurant. The restaurant is dead. It is now Bourquin's RV Park & Farmer's Market. We didn't see any farmers, or a market, just poor passer's-by who paid money to park there. This is a teenie-tiny RV park charging premium prices for teenie-tiny sites. Not as bad as KOA, mind you, but close, and still charging WAY too much for what they were selling. Sad! We truly felt sorry for those who'd paid to stay there. At least the owners didn't presume to call the place a "Resort" and charge yet another $3 per night. The park's only claim to fame is it is a very, and we mean a VERY short walk to Walmart (lock EVERYTHING up). That's the best we can say. We didn't check to see if we would be allowed to park at Walmart for free. We suspect not. By-the-way. There were at least two motels in town that advertised less for a single room than Bourquin's charged for their tiny pieces of dirt. Not at all a fair deal for the RVer. We'd have paid $20 for a night at this place, if they'd talked real pretty. $15 if not. Not a penny more. We decided we could drive another hour or two, and did. WE DID NOT STAY AT THIS PARK! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2010
$33
This is one of the worst RV parks we have ever stayed in. It bears little resemblance to the pictures on their website. The instructions on the office were to call the owner(?) and we would be assigned a spot. She gave us a couple to choose from. One didn't have water and the other had a faulty electrical hookup. We got this information from a "permanent" parked near the sites. He indicated he had told the owners several times about the spots that had water and electrical problems but nothing was done to repair them. With his assistance we finally found a spot where the connections worked and got parked. Totally overpriced. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Whistle Stop RV and Antiques
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com