221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Junction City, Kansas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.96 miles NW
17.41 miles NE
21.87 miles SW
28.90 miles NW
31.44 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
I-70 Exit 298
521 E Chestnut St
0.82 miles SE
Fort Riley Military Res
4.28 miles NE
Manhattan Municipal Airpor
12.17 miles NE
Kansas
Junction City
Most Recently Reviewed
West Rolling Hills - COE
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-26 17:27:24
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Junction City, Kansas
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
Nice campground on Milford Lake. Our loop had only 30 amp and water, no sewer. There is a boat ramp nearby and some shady spots. Rate reflects Federal senior pass. Be advised that the campground is located 11 miles from the interstate. We were told that 50 amp sites are at another park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$8
We have a Federal Parks pass, so rate was 1/2 off. There are only 5 sites with 50 amp, and is on a first come basis, no reservations. Sites are shady and there is a view of the lake from all sites. Will stay here again. Great value. Swim, fish and boat in the lake. Has boat dock. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$9
We used our National Park discount for the 1/2 price ($18 a night regular price) - stayed 2 nights. It was a wonderful, peaceful campground near a beautiful lake. We enjoyed our 2 night stay. Visited Junction City WalMart (very nice) to stock up. No 10 since it didn't have sewer. We enjoyed the park and would visit there again if we were in the area. Park has 4 showers near the entrance of the park. The bathrooms are clean and placed around the park. The hosts are very helpful. Lots of boats and great fishing apparently in the area. Located near Junction City on one of the state's largest lakes. Campsites located right on the lake if wanted. One loop has no facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
This is a very lovely little campground right on Milford lake. The camp hosts are super friendly and helpful. Most of the sites have some shade, many of the sites have almost total shade. And the lake is visible from every site. When we were there the lake elevation was up 9 foot from conservation level, and many of the campsites along the lake edge are now very near the shore making them smaller sites than normal. The shower house and toilets are new and really nice. There is a nice new playground also. The one negative, and it could be a deal-breaker, is that many of the sites are just impossibly small. The pull-through sites are perfect, but there are only five of them. When reserving, be very very careful about campsite size. It is mentioned for every site on-line. That being said, if you get one of the many larger campsites you will absolutely love this campground. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9.5
Mostly level sites for smaller units. There are only five 50 amp sites. Sites are gravel. There is a new shower house. Some sites are 1st come, 1st served and some can be reserved on line. COE contract folks very nice and helpful. Office hours are strange at entrance station- 7-8 AM and 5-10 PM. New shower building in the last year. Loop A has electric and water hook-ups. 50 amp sites are $19, 30 amp are $18. Card holders (seniors and disabled) get 50% discount. Well cared for with big trees and grass on Milford Lake, the largest lake in Kansas. We would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   7   10   10   5   3   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
Excellent small campground. Mostly friendly long term campers staying here. Clean facilities, full hook-ups at every site, paved roads and sites with cut grass between. Long back-ins and decent sized pull-throughs. Sites are close together, but no more then at other private campgrounds. Very friendly staff. Good Wi-Fi. Park office is only open until 4:30, but there is a camp host to take care of late arrivals. Rate reflects a Passport America discount, which is good for just one night and cannot be reserved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Owl's Nest Campground is the standard ALL campgrounds should strive for. This was the nicest RV Park we ever stayed in. Perfectly neat, all paved roads and sites, nicely landscaped and grass mowed. Everything worked properly, great WiFi, TV, etc. Owner and staff were "top-notch!" Bathroom and shower were spic and span! We only stayed one night due to traveling through but will certainly stay at Owl's Nest Campground again. Cannot say enough about how nice this campground is. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a well-cared for small RV park with paved roadways and paved, reasonably level sites. A majority of the units are seasonal, but they seem to have a few daily sites available most of the time. I would recommend reservations to be sure. The park is centrally located for visits to Fort Riley (US Cavalry Museum), Manhattan, KS and the Eisenhower Library and Museum. Cable TV gets many stations and the Wi-Fi works well. There is also a hard line web connection in the laundry room. There is just one unisex full bath, but even with the park full there hasn't been a long wait to use the facilities. We would stop here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Owl's Nest Campground
Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   9   6   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$9
We stayed at the West Rolling Hills section of the Milford Lake COE. This campground has two loops – A & B. Loop A has 15/50 amp electrical outlets, flush toilets and most of the non-reserved sites do not have a view of the lake. Loop B has 15/30 amp electrical outlets, vault toilets and a large number of non-reserved sites have a view of the lake. There was 1 non-reserved and 2 reserved sites that were pull-thrus. All of the interior roads were on asphalt and the sites were on packed gravel. The interior roads were very narrow considering that they were two way streets. Each loop had a narrow circle to turn around. The electrical voltage was good hovering around 120 volts. All sites had a fire ring and a picnic table. The electrical box and water was in the correct position. Check out time was 6 P.M. and the park attendances are duty at 5 P.M. There are two dump stations and the showers are near the entrance to the campground. The shower house contained 8 stalls per gender. The interior of the shower room was very dated and looked institutional. Not very appealing. The dumpsters were also located near the entrance to the campground. From any site it will be a long walk to the showers or to throw out your trash. Some of the sites were more level then others. There was a dip from the road in most of the sites. Depending upon the size of your rig and/or the length of the site, it could be tricky to get into. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here. It was very quiet at night except when Fort Riley was on maneuvers. The price reflects the senior discount rate. We would come back here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$9.5
Great campground. A little out of the way, but convenient to the Eisenhower Library in Abilene. Typical COE campground with nice large sites and great views of the lake. Fee reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
Pretty typical COE campground, except that it has pretty low power. First time we've come across this in a COE campground. Sites are large, but not very level. For $9 with an access pass you can't beat it. Nice and quiet and a short 7 mile drive off the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for West Rolling Hills - COE
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com