206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Marquette, Kansas (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.71 miles E
15.62 miles NE
22.19 miles NE
24.36 miles NW
31.33 miles SW
36.24 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Swedish Crown
8.65 miles E
Rest Area On Ks I-135 At Mile Marker 68 Verified On 05/04
12.02 miles SE
Mcpherson College
16.47 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
I-135 Exit 60
2210 E Kansas St
16.94 miles SE
Kansas
Marquette
Most Recently Reviewed
Venango Park COE
Latest Review Submited On
2013-05-31 07:51:30
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Marquette, Kansas
Camp Information
Sites
193
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
This was my first trip to Kanapolis State Park. It is an older campground but very nice and everything worked properly. The restrooms and shower houses were very clean. You are about 11 miles from the nearest town so if you happen to need or forget something, you will have a small drive ahead of you. The area is picturesque and the lake if beautiful. The water level was way down when we were there but it was nice none the less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$6
Nice grassy campground with level gravel sites. I went there under the impression there were no showers but did find they had them although they were under repair at the time. Only one other camper there and you cannot beat the price especially when able to use your Federal Golden Age Passport old person's discount. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Small, quiet, shaded, campground located on a small bluff overlooking the Smoky Hill River. We camped here on the recommendation of other reviews and used it for an overnight stop on a multi-day vacation. We had a reservation for this campground. To view the river up close requires a short scramble down a 20' bank. The park was peaceful and quiet, mix of family campers and RV/trailers. Restrooms were clean and in good repair. We missed the dump station on the way out and stopped at the other COE campground up the road and asked at the entrance station (our campground did not have an entrance station) if we could use theirs and they said OK. This campground had good views of the lake, which ours did not. The only negative was the restroom had speakers and played the weather report on an endless loop. If camping near the restroom it would get annoying. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$6
Compact Corps of Engineers park on the banks of the Smoky Hill River, just downstream of the Kanapolis Lake dam. Asphalt interior roads in excellent condition, gravel pads, fire rings, grills, and picnic tables (not covered). Lots of trees. Rate shown is the winter rate, good until May 1st. Then $18. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Riverside COE
Camp Information
Sites
141
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$9
Rate reflects national senior discount pass. Beautiful well kept park on the banks of Lake Kanopolis. Quiet and peaceful even over a holiday weekend. Roads are a little narrow, but it does keep speeding and cruising down. All the loops have a view of the lake. Not all sites have utilities here, some are 50A/W; some 30A/W, some have either water or no electric; some have electric and no water. Some sites with no utilities at all. No sewer sites, but there is a dump centrally located in the park. Bathrooms were clean. A couple of very momentary power “clicks” due to high winds, but nothing serious, water pressure is good. No Wi-Fi here, but our Verizon card and cell worked fine. There is a very nice, easy to walk two mile nature trail. A written guide at the start of the walk will point out areas of interest. There is a swim beach area and an ATV park on the grounds, but just outside the campground so no noise. They have a boat launch, but it was closed when we were here due to low water. There are other entrance points around the lake. Camp hosts were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Rangers were visible and friendly. They do lock the gates here at night. Don’t miss a quick drive to Mushroom Rock State Park, right up the road. Tiny little state park, (no camping), around some unique rock formations. We would recommend a visit to Venango Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$9
Paid $9.00 per night with a NP Senior Pass (full price is $18.00 per night.) This is another example of a well run COE park. We opted for the "E" loop which has a little more shade than the other loops. All loops have lake views. Park is about 10 miles from the closest town of Marquette, which has a couple of restaurants and a grocery store. Other than that, it is fairly isolated which makes for very peaceful nights. The restroom/shower facility was fairly new, private and clean. I had very limited service on T-Mobile and had several tv stations to chose from with an antennae. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$2
We intended to stay at the nearby state park, but left after we saw the poorly maintained place. A drive across the Kanopolis Lake dam brought us to this Corps of Engineers (COE) park. What a difference! This is a large and well maintained COE facility. As it was off season the daily fee was $4, but with our senior pass we paid $2. We had the D section with no neighbors and a view of the lake. We were able to get Dish reception, although there are trees. Watch for unlevel sites. This is probably the one problem at the campground. While staying at the park we drove to Abilene to visit the Eisenhower museum. Each site is gravel with a picnic table, grill and fire ring. The roads are paved. For a big rig the dump station exit is a bit tight. Our site was an easy back-in, although there are pull-thrus. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com