220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Frankfort, Kentucky (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.12 miles W
16.29 miles SE
20.81 miles E
25.27 miles SW
29.85 miles SE
30.40 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Capital Bar-B-Q
3.29 miles NE
Columbia'S Steak House
3.38 miles NE
Juniper Hill Park
3.43 miles SE
Kelley'S Garden Cafe
3.79 miles E
Market Cafe
3.80 miles E
Bullfrog'S Restaurant &
3.81 miles E
Super Wal-Mart
I-64 Exit 53B
301 Leonard Wood Rd
3.87 miles SE
Kentucky Military Histor
4.00 miles E
Old Governor'S Mansion
4.01 miles E
Kentucky State Capitol
4.02 miles SE
Jubilee Dragon Chinese R
4.43 miles E
Capital City Airport
4.45 miles SW
Kentucky Vietnam Veteran
4.54 miles SE
Kentucky State Universit
4.76 miles E
Jim'S Seafood
5.05 miles NE
Rio'S Steak House
5.15 miles NE
Flying J
I-64 X43
7.22 miles SW
Wal-Mart
224 W Park Shop Ctr
12.81 miles SE
Kentucky
Frankfort
Most Recently Reviewed
Elkhorn Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 21:51:06
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Frankfort, Kentucky
Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   8   9   10   8   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
You can get a big rig in but it is tight. Some sites are paved but narrow. Lots for kids to do: pool, game room, shuffleboard, etc. Roads in and out are also tight but doable. We enjoyed our stay. Ice cream was a nice touch. Dump station difficult to get to if you are not on full hookups. Full Hookups are appropriately placed. Not a lot to choose from if visiting Lexington area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
This is an older campground that is very clean and well maintained. Most sites are back in but access roads are pretty good and backing in was no problem. Sites are paved concrete with a wooden deck on the side with a picnic table. Fire rings are at each site with plenty of shade. Not sure satellite would work. Cable TV is digital an only works if you have a digital TV. We don't and were only told this after fiddling with the TV and cable for quite a while until I finally went back to the office to ask if cable worked. Staff was not all that helpful and questions were answered after the person on duty finally decided to look up from her smartphone. Additionally she didn't seem to know much about the area and suggested I "read the brochures" that were available in the office. A few of the sites are rather close together, and our neighbor had to move their chairs out of the way so I could extend my slide out on the driver side. Most of the other sites did not have that problem. Also be aware that the creek front sites are not full hook up, but a dump station is available. Lots of families were there for vacation so lots of kids were enjoying themselves. I would consider this park again if in the area as it is very close to the beautiful horse farms and Lexington area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Neat, tidy campground with clean restroom and showers. Showers and toillet are all carpeted and I question how these are kept clean. The pictures of the pull through sites are very deceiving because they show only one rig per pull through. Actually, they put two rigs per site with one unit being a back in making the water connection on the wrong side. We had a popup directly behind us and their tent end was only 4 feet from our back window. Motor homes can not put their car on the site unless they pull in sideways. The pull through sites are very close together. We would probably stay here again because other campgrounds are rated poorly except for the Kentucky Horse Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Elkhorn Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This is a nice campground about 10 miles outside of Frankfort KY. Initial impressions were that the grounds were somewhat "aged" but after paying and heading to the site, the actual grounds are very nice. They are back quite a bit from the office and well maintained, quiet and pleasant. Our only issue was that the electric spiked high voltage every evening around 7:00. This caused our EMS to shut down the electric to our coach and start the inverter to protect our system. The length of time varied each day. We had good Verizon cell and air card coverage. The owners were very pleasant. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Rate reflects a weekly rate. This is a gem located north of Frankfort on the Kentucky River at the mouth of the Elkhorn Creek. Entry can be misleading as you cross a single-lane bridge on pavement and then transition to gravel. The area around the office and the storage area are a bit unkempt, but as you are escorted to your site you round the bend and see a beautiful, unspoiled meadow. All roads are gravel and single lane but courtesy makes traversing them no problem. We requested a site for our satellite and had no problem connecting. However, many sites are in the shade so be sure to request an open site if that is important to you. The full-hook-up sites have many seasonals but their campsites are neat. The hook-ups are conveniently located and easily accessed. The sites are gravel surrounded with grass. This is not a resort but if you like a state park atmosphere with full hook-ups, you'll enjoy Still Waters. There are also two primitive areas and water/electric only sites available for RVs and tents with a dump station on the grounds. There are no trains, no highway noises, no city lights. Frisbee golf,fishing, hiking, volleyball and a lots of wide open spaces for the kids to run are located on the grounds as well as canoe rentals available at the concession in the campground. Probably could be busy/zoo on a summer/holiday weekend or if there's a company picnic on the grounds, but during the week it is an oasis. Located about 10 miles north of Frankfort, Still Waters is close enough to access all the sightseeing available in the area. Would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com