214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Frankfort, Kentucky (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.12 miles W
16.29 miles SE
20.81 miles E
25.27 miles SW
29.85 miles SE
30.40 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Capital Bar-B-Q
3.29 miles NE
Columbia'S Steak House
3.38 miles NE
Juniper Hill Park
3.43 miles SE
Kelley'S Garden Cafe
3.79 miles E
Market Cafe
3.80 miles E
Bullfrog'S Restaurant &
3.81 miles E
Super Wal-Mart
I-64 Exit 53B
301 Leonard Wood Rd
3.87 miles SE
Kentucky Military Histor
4.00 miles E
Old Governor'S Mansion
4.01 miles E
Kentucky State Capitol
4.02 miles SE
Jubilee Dragon Chinese R
4.43 miles E
Capital City Airport
4.45 miles SW
Kentucky Vietnam Veteran
4.54 miles SE
Kentucky State Universit
4.76 miles E
Jim'S Seafood
5.05 miles NE
Rio'S Steak House
5.15 miles NE
Flying J
I-64 X43
7.22 miles SW
Wal-Mart
224 W Park Shop Ctr
12.81 miles SE
Kentucky
Frankfort
Most Recently Reviewed
Elkhorn Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-19 15:09:28
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Frankfort, Kentucky
Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   10   8   10   9   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Neat, tidy campground with clean restroom and showers. Showers and toillet are all carpeted and I question how these are kept clean. The pictures of the pull through sites are very deceiving because they show only one rig per pull through. Actually, they put two rigs per site with one unit being a back in making the water connection on the wrong side. We had a popup directly behind us and their tent end was only 4 feet from our back window. Motor homes can not put their car on the site unless they pull in sideways. The pull through sites are very close together. We would probably stay here again because other campgrounds are rated poorly except for the Kentucky Horse Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
Interior roads were paved, with some sites paved and some gravel. The entrance road was one-way with some low-lying branches that scraped our coach - not good. Our paved site (#92) was fairly level and required only some work from the jacks. There were lots of trees throughout the park, which provided helpful shade. Sites were close together, putting awnings in close proximity with each other and forcing folks to walk through neighbor's sites to access RV compartments. The 50-amp power was strong, and water pressure was good. The signal to our Verizon phones and hotspot was strong. Many sites do not have sewer, so be sure to ask for full hookups if you want them. Same with fire pits, not all sites have them so you should ask if you want one. The dump station is in an odd location where you must block the road while you dump. The bathrooms and showers were nice and clean, although they were carpeted, which we haven't seen before. The air-conditioned laundry room consisted of 4 washers, 4 dryers and a carpet-covered folding table. Many stores and services were available in the capitol city of Frankfort, just a few miles down the road. Lexington was also very accessible from this park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
Nice, quiet, and well run campground with lots of amenities. The pool is fun and the bathroom and showers are very nice. There are many long term residents but everyone is friendly. WiFi is good, cable TV is plentiful. This campground is off a small road so it is quiet with lots of green space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Elkhorn Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This is a nice campground about 10 miles outside of Frankfort KY. Initial impressions were that the grounds were somewhat "aged" but after paying and heading to the site, the actual grounds are very nice. They are back quite a bit from the office and well maintained, quiet and pleasant. Our only issue was that the electric spiked high voltage every evening around 7:00. This caused our EMS to shut down the electric to our coach and start the inverter to protect our system. The length of time varied each day. We had good Verizon cell and air card coverage. The owners were very pleasant. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Rate reflects a weekly rate. This is a gem located north of Frankfort on the Kentucky River at the mouth of the Elkhorn Creek. Entry can be misleading as you cross a single-lane bridge on pavement and then transition to gravel. The area around the office and the storage area are a bit unkempt, but as you are escorted to your site you round the bend and see a beautiful, unspoiled meadow. All roads are gravel and single lane but courtesy makes traversing them no problem. We requested a site for our satellite and had no problem connecting. However, many sites are in the shade so be sure to request an open site if that is important to you. The full-hook-up sites have many seasonals but their campsites are neat. The hook-ups are conveniently located and easily accessed. The sites are gravel surrounded with grass. This is not a resort but if you like a state park atmosphere with full hook-ups, you'll enjoy Still Waters. There are also two primitive areas and water/electric only sites available for RVs and tents with a dump station on the grounds. There are no trains, no highway noises, no city lights. Frisbee golf,fishing, hiking, volleyball and a lots of wide open spaces for the kids to run are located on the grounds as well as canoe rentals available at the concession in the campground. Probably could be busy/zoo on a summer/holiday weekend or if there's a company picnic on the grounds, but during the week it is an oasis. Located about 10 miles north of Frankfort, Still Waters is close enough to access all the sightseeing available in the area. Would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com