218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Golden Pond, Kentucky (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.33 miles S
19.82 miles NW
20.98 miles NW
21.86 miles SW
21.86 miles SW
24.50 miles S
25.34 miles SE
27.22 miles NE
28.15 miles NW
35.10 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Land Between The Lakes
11.81 miles SW
Kentucky
Golden Pond
Most Recently Reviewed
LBL National Recreation Area / Piney Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-03 19:44:16
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Golden Pond, Kentucky
Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
We spent four nights on a very nice paved site with a nice view of the woods. The campground was not crowded at all, while other area campgrounds were jammed packed. I can only figure that Energy Lake Campground is much less utilized because it is a much smaller campground that is located way off the beaten path, there is no campground store, there are only electric sites, and there is no dump station at the campground. The dump stations are located at (or near) the park visitor centers that are 10 to 15 miles away. Energy Lake Campground is very scenic and quiet. It is three or four miles from the Nature Center, which my kids enjoyed very much. The only negative that I have is that the lake swimming area is in need of maintenance. It looked dirty, the beach needs sand on it, and there was trash floating in the water and around the water line. I would not let my kids swim there. If I find myself in the area, I would stay there again because I believe that it is the best of the choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
Really a great campground. All gravel on the site. A bit of trash around. Hosts were wonderful and very helpful. Unless you fish, boat or hunt there isn't a lot to do. But the beach at the camp was very nice. And we went to the bison/elk prairie and the old time dam, Homestead. Those were great. Signage is very bad, so watch your GPS or map. Mosquitoes, etc. were bad, but they've had a lot of rain, so it was expected. We would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Beautiful area. Challenging to get to our site in a 36' motor home but worth the effort. It's a 15 minute drive to the dump station. Most sites have gorgeous lake views. Helpful staff told us their favorite fishing spots. A memorable experience; can' wait to return! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for LBL National Recreation Area / Energy Lake Campground
Camp Information
Sites
380
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   6   5   9   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Very nice. I would have rated a 10, but we did not use the restrooms or laundry so do not know about them. Area is quiet and undeveloped. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
We arrived without reservations and were given first come, first served site in the T section with full hookups. I would not call the sites huge and the driveway area could be tight with all the vehicles parked at each one. Our site was gravel and level, but there are a few that are concrete. We did not use the bath house in the T section. We launched the kayak near the swimming area because of the huge boats and wake at the other boat launch. We enjoyed the area and also took the Honker Trail hike - but the mosquitos were AWFUL. Everyone said the rain had really brought out the bugs. I would recommend buying fuel and supplies before arriving as the area is remote to shopping and somewhat expensive. We would return, if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
The park is an impressive development over a vast expanse along the lake. The first thing noticed is no big motorhomes, mostly trailers, fifth-wheels and a few class B and C’s. The second noticed thing is how hilly it is in places. Sites here may have long steep back-in ramps. There are some pull-through sites. Expect to do some creative leveling. The electric was excellent on this Memorial Day packed camp. Water pressure was also good. Cell phone was coverage spotty. The beach in the A area is very nice. The individual shower rooms were modern. This is a justifiably popular camp ground which attests to the continuing expansion for more sites and to accommodate larger rigs. If you have a long rig, it is strongly advised to consult with the excellent staff about where to go and the impossibly tight places to avoid. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for LBL National Recreation Area / Hillman Ferry
Camp Information
Sites
384
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   9   6   7   7   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
I was amazed that this campground was not in your database. It is a National Recreational Area, part of the Land Between the Lakes. The park is beautiful, the sites are mostly large and level with stones, and much of the campground is in the trees. We were here over the Fourth of July weekend so it was busy, but the overall attitude of the employees and the guests is courtesy first. The kids are having fun without being noisy or annoying in any way. There are sites right on Kentucky Lake, a beach area, and a boat ramp so that campers can bring their boats up behind their sites. We would definitely come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
Have commented on park before and stayed several times, like the park and area. BUT, feel a little taken advantage of as they now seem to charge the 50 amp price on all full hookup sites. All full hookup sites have 50 and 30 amp but have to pay 50 amp price if only using 30 amps. No other full hookups avail even though web site says otherwise? We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Park was full on Labor Day weekend and all went well. Haven't been in about a year and arrived to find mostly all new bathhouses which are very nice, with private shower rooms. Park is clean, well maintained and managed, priced very reasonably. I advised the staff on Sunday that the 20 amp plug in post didn't work but 30 amp was fine, only so they'd be aware as it was no issue for me at this time. Approximately 30 minutes later a ranger came by and checked it and attempted to fix it but was going to need new receptacle and didn't have available at time. I certainly didn't expect a response on Sunday of Labor Day weekend but I think it did show their concern for their facilities. Only critique could be need a few more sites with full hook-ups. $22.00 price was for electric only. This is one of my favorite parks close to home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for LBL National Recreation Area / Piney Campground
Camp Information
Sites
163
Date of Stay
December 2012
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$11
More than five years ago the previous review detailed this park perfectly. It was enough information for us to enjoy a 10 nights stay. All sites are huge (in average more than 2,000 Sq ft), although part of that space is dedicated for the horses, which we do not have. Cell-phone service does not work in all spots, but the friendly other campers will quickly share their favorite locations with you. Restrooms and showers were average State Park quality. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
This unique park caters to horses and horse people. We are neither but loved watching others tend to their animals. The draw seems to be extensive horse facilities, including rentals, and over 100 miles of riding trails. There is also a small cafe, The Outpost, on site. Most rigs here were of the horse trailer/RV combo type. The only negatives were a few flies and some trail muffins here and there. The park is in a beautiful, wooded area of the Land Between the Lakes. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com