223408 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Acadia National Park, Maine (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.36 miles E
8.99 miles SW
9.29 miles SW
9.49 miles N
15.20 miles NW
15.20 miles NW
15.27 miles NE
19.35 miles SW
24.58 miles NE
33.52 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Acadia National Park
0.12 miles NW
124 Cottage Street
0.26 miles NW
Maggie'S Classic Scales
0.35 miles NE
Miguel'S Mexican
0.38 miles NE
Mama Di Matteo'S
0.39 miles NE
Lompoc Cafe & Brew Pub
0.40 miles NE
Maine Street Restaurant
0.42 miles E
Island Chowder House
0.44 miles NE
Rinehart Dining Pavillion
0.44 miles NW
Freddie'S Route 66
0.47 miles NE
George'S - Bar Harbor
0.51 miles NE
Quarter Deck
0.56 miles NE
Reading Room
0.63 miles NE
College Of The Atlantic
0.63 miles NW
Rose Garden Restaurant
0.76 miles NW
Bar Harbor Lobsterbakes
1.08 miles NW
Bay Ferries Ltd/The Cat
1.32 miles NW
Jackson Laboratory
4.13 miles S
Jordan Pond House - Nort
7.31 miles SW
Docksider
7.36 miles SW
Winter Harbor Rec Area
8.33 miles SE
Hancock County (Bar Harb
8.38 miles NW
Mount Desert Oceanarium
8.73 miles SW
Beal'S Lobster Pier
9.03 miles SW
Seawall Dining Room
11.57 miles SW
Maine-Ly Maine Gift S
12.18 miles NW
China Hill
12.97 miles NW
Cordelia Stanwood Home
12.98 miles NW
Wal-Mart
461 High St
14.03 miles NW
Hilltop House - Ellsworth
14.59 miles NW
The Mex
15.02 miles NW
Maine
Acadia National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Blackwoods Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-07 17:09:44
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Acadia National Park, Maine
Camp Information
Sites
306
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   10   9   10   5   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$10
We have stayed here about twenty times over the last 30 years and written many reviews. There are two campgrounds in the Park - this one near Northeast Harbor and Seawall near Southwest Harbor. Acadia is now rated the #1 National Park and is one of our favorites. No hookups in the park but the bathrooms have been redone and are nice and clean. Private showers are outside the campgrounds for a fee. L.L.Bean runs free shuttles around the island from mid June through Columbus Day Weekend. The shuttle comes every 30 minutes and connects to other shuttles that take you to the Visitor Center, Bar Harbor, Northeast and Southwest Harbors. Two shuttles run the loop road and make stops at all the lookouts - Sand Beach, Thunderhole, Otter Point, Jordan Pond, Eagle Pond, and many other places. It is great. The last shuttles drops off at the campground near 9 PM. These shuttles also pick up at all the campgrounds, motels , and resorts on the island. We just spent a week there this fall and the weather was perfect and the lobster rolls were yummy. A great place to visit for ranger talks at night, hikes, walks, drives, sailing etc. In the fall, cruise ships come into Bar Harbor during the week and you can see these ships from town and on the Loop Road. Golden Age pass gets you onto the Loop Road for free and 50% off camping rates so per night it was $10 for us. This campground is closer to Bar Harbor than Seawall and it has a great walk down to the cliffs to sit and watch the waves. Blackwoods takes reservations and you need them because some sites RVs cannot fit in. You reserve a spot but not a specific site. Seawall campground now takes reservations for the first time this year and they redid the RV camping sites there about four or five years ago and they are great. The National Park Service is now building a campground in the other part of Acadia NP north of Ellsworth off the mainland - about 130 sites opening next summer. This section does not get many visitors and the roads are kind of narrow but it is beautiful over there and they will be running 30 minutes shuttles around there next year. Great place to camp especially in the fall! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
I was very nervous about staying in this campground with no hookups and a large trailer. We had a wonderful experience. We made our reservations months ahead for a RV 35FT site. The morning of our arrival, we called the campground to let know that we needed to make sure they had a site big enough for our slides and trailer. They had one ready for us when we got there! The sites are beautiful and wooded but manageable to drive to. It stays nice and cool in Maine so we could leave our dogs inside with the windows open. Sites for our size trailer are pull-through. We had to back out when it was time to leave because we could not make the turn. No major problem! Staff was very helpful! Park is amazing! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
We stayed at this campground for 4 nights the week before Memorial Day. The weather was cool, clear and sunny, making for nice rides any time of day through the park loop. Our site accommodated our 31' motorhome and Jeep without a problem. The campground was easy to find, the entrance road was paved, park rangers were friendly and helpful. The site was pretty level and surrounded by trees offering privacy. It was very quiet at night. There are no hookups at this campground so we did use our generator during appropriate hours. There is a dump station. The restrooms were clean. We used our Senior Pass so not sure if the price I quoted is correct. With close proximity to Bar Harbor there is enough to do and we toured the island with the toad. Looking forward to returning again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Blackwoods Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
218
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   5   7   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  no  no  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Nice campground. No hookups or TV reception. Verizon phone iffy, no hot spot. The campground is in the National Park but is really 35 minutes drive from about anywhere. I would recommend staying in one of the private campgrounds near Bar Harbor which is much closer to the park, it's scenic drive and hiking. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
$10 w/Senior Golden Passport. Super clean rest rooms; unfortunately no soap or towels/hand driers. No showers in park. Water access for MH conveniently located throughout our Area C. Able to fill water tank without hassle as spigots were threaded for hose; unlike so may other parks. Although "dry" camping, this was most enjoyable. Two bathroom houses for our area; large spacious sites (albeit ours was very sloped so we never could get level. Nicely wooded, shaded, yet open and comfortable. Definitely come back next year, We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
A very good location for the park. Can be a little hard to find. The sites are easy to enter. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Seawall Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com