214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bar Harbor, Maine (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.36 miles E
8.99 miles SW
9.29 miles SW
9.49 miles N
15.20 miles NW
15.20 miles NW
15.27 miles NE
19.35 miles SW
24.58 miles NE
33.52 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Acadia National Park
0.12 miles NW
124 Cottage Street
0.26 miles NW
Maggie'S Classic Scales
0.35 miles NE
Miguel'S Mexican
0.38 miles NE
Mama Di Matteo'S
0.39 miles NE
Lompoc Cafe & Brew Pub
0.40 miles NE
Maine Street Restaurant
0.42 miles E
Island Chowder House
0.44 miles NE
Rinehart Dining Pavillion
0.44 miles NW
Freddie'S Route 66
0.47 miles NE
George'S - Bar Harbor
0.51 miles NE
Quarter Deck
0.56 miles NE
Reading Room
0.63 miles NE
College Of The Atlantic
0.63 miles NW
Rose Garden Restaurant
0.76 miles NW
Bar Harbor Lobsterbakes
1.08 miles NW
Bay Ferries Ltd/The Cat
1.32 miles NW
Jackson Laboratory
4.13 miles S
Jordan Pond House - Nort
7.31 miles SW
Docksider
7.36 miles SW
Winter Harbor Rec Area
8.33 miles SE
Hancock County (Bar Harb
8.38 miles NW
Mount Desert Oceanarium
8.73 miles SW
Beal'S Lobster Pier
9.03 miles SW
Seawall Dining Room
11.57 miles SW
Maine-Ly Maine Gift S
12.18 miles NW
China Hill
12.97 miles NW
Cordelia Stanwood Home
12.98 miles NW
Wal-Mart
461 High St
14.03 miles NW
Hilltop House - Ellsworth
14.59 miles NW
The Mex
15.02 miles NW
Maine
Bar Harbor
Most Recently Reviewed
Bar Harbor / Woodlands KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-13 18:59:41
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bar Harbor, Maine
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$100



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   10   4   6   8   10   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  no  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$100
We were lucky to get spot 272 for one night, the best spot in the campground! Right on the water on the eastern side of the park. Then we moved to spot 340, an ocean view site with trees on the western side. A bit of a letdown but still a nice view. Spot 340 was very awkward to get into with a 5th wheel because there is a gigantic hunk of granite on the north side. Probably easier with a motorhome. No sewer at this campground, but 2 convenient dump stations. This campground had campers parked every possible way but somehow it worked. Never could get on wifi -- just too many users I guess. The older bathrooms in the back weren't as nice as the newer ones up front. The laundry was in the back, and was in constant use. For a park this crowded, they could have used more washers and dryers. There is a guy who sells lobster dinners on site every day and the food was good. A van selling homemade berry pies comes in every day, and they ring a bell as they drive through the campground. Very delicious! This campground is conveniently located to Bar Harbor, Acadia, and Ellsworth (which has basic shopping.) Don't expect a whole lot from this campground. It's worth it for the ocean view, but not so great for an interior spot. From what we could tell, most repeat visitors book their spot a year in advance, so book well in advance if you want the ocean view. The Woodlands KOA is just down the road (both corporate KOAs managed by the same person), and you can use their pool if you want to swim. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$95
This was the perfect campground for our family. We backed into a fairly level waterside spot with a breath-taking view. We were situated in a way that made us feel like we were all alone even though the spots are fairly close and not wooded. (I recommend 376 or 364 for feeling isolated and on the water.) They do a great job at angling spots to stagger the view from camper to camper. Check-in was friendly and efficient, a "show-me" cart took us right to our spot. Cheap firewood (and fresh eggs) were available immediately across the street. We utilized the camp's showers to save on having to use the honey wagon; they are small but clean. We did run out of hot water if lots of showers/laundry had been done. Laundry facilities were clean and in good order. My only complaint is the woman's bathroom is in the very back and very dark at night so take a flashlight. (I like that it's dark to see the night sky better; just felt more secure bringing a light.) This is a great location for exploring Acadia as well as Bar Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$100
Beautiful well kept park right on the water. Staff very friendly and helpful. Park WiFi worked pretty good, Verizon air card worked great in part of the park not very well in other parts. It can be a little tight getting around with a big rig but we had little trouble with our 37 foot fifth wheel. It's the most we ever paid for a campsite but we were right on the water with no one to our rear or side. This is our second time staying here and will likely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$72



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   5   9   3   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$72
Very nice park with friendly people. The park had good Internet and TV, full hookup with 30 amp service. Our site was dirt/gravel and woods. The facilities/amenities were very nice. The only negative for us was that is over-priced. The park was close to Acadia and Bar Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$65
Nice campground. Convenient to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Trolley stops inside campground. Very clean heated pool. Friendly staff. The newer bathrooms were very clean. The older ones show their age. Lots of wooded tent camping sites. Store could use some variety. Price reflects Koa Kamper Kabin rate. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$71
Nice wooded camping with large sites. Found it a little expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Bar Harbor / Woodlands KOA
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   9   8   10   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
This is a nice campground and the closest to Acadia National Park, and it is reasonably priced. They do not take reservations or credit cards. You drive in, pick your spot, set up and then register. Lots of types of sites are in the park. The best choices are right about check-out time, at noon. We had a water, sewer, and 30 amp site, which all were good. The restrooms were clean and the laundry was too (only $1 to wash, $1 to dry/load). Some sites are in the open and some in the forest. Leveling can be challenging. We had a site near the laundry and the free Wi-Fi worked well, as did our Verizon data device. No cable, but we got some local stations with antenna. The campground is on a mountain top and you can see local water from spots in the park, but it is not waterfront. Local free bus service takes you to the National Park and to Bar Harbor throughout the day. We liked our spot and the campground. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Location, Location, Location says it all. Sites are mostly gravel, but none are level, front to back, and side to side. The side-way slope is away from the sewer hook-up, thus you can't completely empty. Bring boards. We stayed here before with a fifth wheel, so level was not as much of an issue. All roads are paved and smooth. Sites open or wooded, your choice. I really like the no reservation policy. Wi-Fi worked very good at our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
This is a very large, well run heavily wooded park with many amenities. There are limited 50 amp sites so reserve if you need one. Everything you need is here. Staff is great, park is very secure, and the entrance to Acadia is only a couple miles down the road. If you like to walk, all roads are nicely paved and it's about a 1 mile walk around the perimeter inside the park. Water view sites available, but bring your binoculars, it's far. Like to swim? Beautiful large pool heated to about 80. Laundry has 8 washers and 8 dryers, and is $1 wash and $1 dry, very reasonable. Need propane? It's here and reasonable. No cable, but we picked up many stations with the digital antenna. Only one negative comment. All sites have been graded and graveled, but not leveled, so you need to level your rig. No big deal. All in all, a great place to stay. We would surely return here! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bar Harbor Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100+
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   4   9   1   8   9   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
This was a very nice campground and the people that worked here were all very friendly. There were a variety of sites and only a few offered sewer but they had a honey wagon that you could sign up for to come by if you needed it. We were in a field and sometimes it was hard to differentiate where exactly your site began and ended. The showers were clean and the water was metered. It said 50 cents for 7 minutes but it felt like a lot longer than 7 minutes and never had to use more than 50 cents for a shower. There was a body of water within walking distance of the campground with spectacular sunsets. My son loved the pool at the campground which featured 12 feet with a diving board. The Island Explorer bus comes through the campground every 30 minutes which made it wonderful for getting around Bar Harbor and Acadia. If ever back in this area we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Basically grass and mud fields with hookups. Mostly very narrow paved access roads, but a few that are just mud when wet. Access roads need trimming top and sides to avoid scraping with large rig. Turn onto main entrance road is pretty much a blind 90 degree corner with no room for two rigs to pass. Pull thrus are tight for a 37' - not quite enough room to park toad sideways. Minimal inter-site spacing. Full hookups are 30 amp only; 50 amp are water and electric. Electric was sometimes so poor as to not be able to run a microwave. There is a honey wagon for $10. Water pressure a bit low (35 psi), Wi-Fi so-so (decent signal, but can be very slow), decent Verizon cell signal. We will look else where when next in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Great park staff and owner great people. Honey wagon will come by as much as you need. Local bus pick up in campground to go down town. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hadley's Point Campground
Camp Information
Sites
239
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$90



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   3   3   9   9   9   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$90
I highly recommend reserving the Best Ocean Front sites if you like to wake up and have coffee overlooking the ocean. However, these sights are not full hookups - water and elec only. I had a full round of complaints by my kids and huband when they found out they had NO Cable. There is a honey wagon that comes very promptly around 9/10am for $25. Our water hookup leaked terribly so that I had to put a big bowl underneath and empty it constantly. We told 2 maintenance guys that they just needed to change the water connector; but they just said "yep, we'll look into it". However, we didn't have big expectations they would fix it. The water hookup in the site next to us had the same problem. This campground needs some simple maintenance to all the water hookups. We did use the swimming pool and it was Too Hot! They have the heat turned up too high. I love warm water, but this was excessive. I think it also lead to the pool looking a little green. They don't have the chemicals regulated for such a hot pool. The showers were not that great, but just make sure you wear your flipflops. The pressure was terrible and the hot water not consistent in the larger bath house in fact there was No hot water one morning. I switched to the smaller bath house and got good pressure and better hot water. The arcade needs a full refresh of the games and pool tables. However, most arcades we see at all campgrounds need refreshes. While all of this reviews sounds like the place is terrible, I still would go back! You are not in Bar Harbor to stay at your campground. You are there to explore, so the campground does empty out by 9am each morning with everyone leaving to go explore the area. As mentioned in opening, we had an ocean front site where they put the campfire pit right near the ocean instead of right on the roadway so you have your campfire overlooking the ocean. We had wonderful neighbors and the last 2 nights had NO neighbors, so no complaints there. I also made sure to walk the entire campground and will tell those reading this that if you do the Full Hookup sites, you are right On Top of each other. I'm sure that all Bar Harbor campgrounds are the same where you are very close together. At the end of the day, I do recommend Mt. Desert Narrows for the location and about 80% of the Ocean front spots are pretty good. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
We reserved our August 2013 4-night stay through our RPI membership which provided us a discount but this price only included elec/water. Full-hookup would have cost us $74/night! If you want to use the honey wagon, it would cost you $25 for each dump. Since we didn't have full-hookup and didn't want to pay for a honey wagon visit, we had to use the public shower. The shower and the laundry facilities are rustic and dirty. Mosquitoes were absolutely terrible! There was no scheduled campground activity. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$77
Oceanfront sites on all campsites in Bar Harbor are not allowed to have sewer, local by-law. The oceanfront sites have no Cable or sewer. Premium oceanfront is $85 per night, minimal oceanfront $77 in season. This is ridiculous for a sub par, run down campground which should be $20 per night. Honey truck is $25, making this come out at $100+++ per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mt. Desert Narrows Camping Resort
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
2002
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Nice CG on the "Quiet Side" of the island. People were very nice. Didn't like first site. No problem, was shown bigger site with full hookups. Very wooded, many tents, nice big pool. Kids loved it, although the playground and game room were small and limited. Close to Acadia and other places of interest. While we were there we went to look at all the other CGs on the island, i.e., Hadleys Point, Barcadia, Narrows Too etc. and we are going back to Spruce Valley. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Very friendly owners, Free shuttle bus to many points on Mount Desert Island, private sites, group sites, Free cable TV hookup w/water & elec. site, This is more like a campground than a trailer park. We will return! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com