218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby East Orland, Maine (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.15 miles SW
12.15 miles N
12.30 miles SE
12.30 miles SE
15.17 miles SW
15.61 miles NE
16.69 miles NW
16.69 miles NW
20.54 miles SW
20.88 miles N
22.51 miles NW
23.78 miles SE
26.85 miles SE
28.35 miles SW
32.89 miles SW
35.30 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
L'Ermitage - Bucksport
6.67 miles SW
Fort Knox State Histori
8.90 miles SW
Holden Family Rv/Rec Tec
12.35 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
24 Walton Dr
14.05 miles NW
Coach House Restaurant
14.27 miles NW
Husson College
14.72 miles NW
Whited Truck Center 15 2 0
15.13 miles NW
Freightliner Of Maine 207 945 6451
15.33 miles NW
Seadog Brewing Company
15.44 miles NW
Maine Maritime Academy
15.51 miles SW
The Greenhouse Restaurant
15.52 miles NW
Cummins Northeast
16.14 miles NW
Pilots Grill
16.69 miles NW
Maine
East Orland
Most Recently Reviewed
Balsam Cove Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-11 18:29:31
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
East Orland, Maine
Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   4   6   10   7   10   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Nice campground with large level grass and gravel sites and good utilities. The pull-through sites do not have shade but this made it easy to acquire a satellite signal, they do not have cable. The Wi-Fi worked OK but was slow at times and our Verizon signal would drop out at times. The dirt road into the campground is a little tight but not a big problem. They have a huge bonfire at the pond on Saturday nights and activities sometimes during the weekend. The young lady at the office was very nice and helpful. Tip: site 75 has a large cement pad, the only one in the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Went camping there with our daughter's family. We had a great time. Our trailer was parked across the road from the lake. Very family oriented campground with hayrides and bonfires if you like, plus other activities. We had full hookups so I can't say much about the restrooms. My husband showered there and said the showers were fantastic and restrooms were clean. This is one we'll go back to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
First the good: Really pretty lake, and nice launch area for boats. Busy campground, but very quiet at night. The sites in the wooded area are nice. WI-FI was fast and reliable. AT&T signal good also. Only 10 miles to stores and supplies. Good for families. Really good blue grass band played on Saturday night. The bad: 125 sites, and only one extremely dated bath house that does not even supply hand soap. This campground is heavily used on the weekend by the permanents, weekend tent campers, and day use visitors. Bath house was cleaned on Thursday, and then not again until Monday. It was the worst pig sty I have ever seen by Sunday night. They spent a ton of money on the new section that is big rig friendly with 50 amp and full sewer hookup, but has no appeal with sites being basically in an open gravel parking lot. There is also no bath house in that section. The local weekenders and permanents here, that make up most of the camp sites, are not welcoming to the out of state campers at all. Rules are printed out and given at check in, but they were obviously not followed or enforced. Huge fires going in camp rings that turned into "smudge" pots at many permanent sites that were left smoldering all night and deposited heavy ash and soot all over our rig and tow vehicle. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Balsam Cove Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$25?


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25?
I don't remember how much per night. I do know the sites, although very close together were pleasant, as were the camp owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
This campground is no longer in operation We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
This review is pretty useless at this point, because the owners are retiring after this season, which is almost already over. The campground is quaint and rustic, the grounds very clean and the owners pleasant enough. The campground sits on a lake (Toddy Pond) and the owners have some small canoes and a rowboat that you can use for free (no oars for the rowboat, though, and only one canoe paddle). If you bring your own boat you will need a special sticker from the town of Orland ($20), and the fishing licenses are expensive for out-of-towners. The location is convenient, about 50 minutes from Bangor and Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park, only a few miles to Bucksport, and about 15 minutes from Fort Knox and the Penobscot Bridge Observatory. We rode our motorcycle up Coastal Route 1 from here for a nice day trip including Machias and the lighthouse at Lubec, with many more sites to see along the way. Detracting from the campground is its proximity to Route 1 and the constant drone of traffic, no WiFi or CATV if you care about such things, and worst of all only 20 amp service, meaning no running of air conditioners in RVs. Maybe that's not normally a big deal in Maine, but we happened to visit when the temperatures set records for heat, making for some very uncomfortable nights. Also, the owner commented about me walking around with an open bottle of beer, mumbling something about state laws. I didn't know state laws applied to private property. The owners sell firewood, but no other camping supplies at all. Not even ice, although I was offered a handful for free. We don't have kids going with us, so it's hard for us to judge, but there seems to be absolutely nothing for kids to do, so I would think this is not a family oriented campground. In fact, most of the campers were older couples. They do allow dogs, however, even though we were yelled at for our dogs barking during one of our daily excursions (in noisy campgrounds with closely spaced sites such as this one we normally leave all our windows closed with the AC running so our dogs are isolated, but again, only 20amp service. Our dogs don't bark unless provoked and we returned to find people on our site.) In all of the years camping with our dogs, this is the FIRST time we ever had a problem. Several days there was a pronounced sewer smell in our fresh water, even though we always run our water through 2 filters. And finally, they only accept cash or checks, if that matters to you. So, the location was pretty good, the price was reasonable, even without Internet or cable, BUT not being able to use our AC was a deal breaker for us. We would not return (if they were to still exist after this season) unless they made some MAJOR upgrades. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Whispering Pines Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com