220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Freeport, Maine (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.82 miles NW
6.31 miles NW
7.74 miles NE
9.09 miles SE
15.59 miles SE
17.18 miles SW
17.20 miles SE
17.52 miles NW
20.10 miles NW
21.97 miles NE
22.35 miles NE
22.61 miles SW
27.10 miles SW
28.76 miles SW
28.91 miles N
31.11 miles NW
31.51 miles SW
31.90 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Lobster Cooker
0.21 miles NW
Gritty Mcduff'S
0.27 miles W
Corsican
0.27 miles N
Jameson Tavern
0.34 miles N
The Maine Dining Room
0.45 miles N
Fiddlehead Farm
1.06 miles E
Blueberry Pond Cg
(877)290-1381
4.21 miles NW
Musical Wonder House
5.52 miles SW
Wal-Mart
15 Tibbetts Dr
7.05 miles NE
Peary-Macmillan Arctic
7.24 miles NE
Bowdoin College
7.38 miles NE
Great Impasta
8.04 miles NE
Narcissa Stone Restauran
8.19 miles NE
Naval Air Station - Brun
8.88 miles NE
Cook'S Lobster House
9.35 miles SE
Wal-Mart
206 Us Hwy 1
11.37 miles SW
Snow Squall Restaurant
13.87 miles SW
Freightliner Of Maine 207 7721975
15.17 miles SW
Village Cafe - Portland
15.23 miles SW
Ribolita
15.30 miles SW
Cafe Always
15.31 miles SW
Hugo'S Portland Bistro
15.39 miles SW
Sams Club 440 Payne Rd (Located To Zip)
15.40 miles SW
Fore Street
15.46 miles SW
Shaker Museum
15.49 miles SW
Boone's
15.52 miles SW
David'S Restaurant
15.54 miles SW
F Parker Reidy'S
15.55 miles SW
Walter'S Cafe
15.60 miles SW
Street & Co
15.68 miles SW
Maine Historical Society
15.75 miles SW
Wadsworth-Longfellow Hous
15.76 miles SW
Back Bay Grill
15.79 miles SW
Maine College Of Art
16.00 miles SW
The Roma
16.23 miles SW
Margarita'S Mexican Res
16.56 miles SW
Portland International J
17.38 miles SW
Maine
Freeport
Most Recently Reviewed
Desert of Maine
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-21 14:18:35
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Freeport, Maine
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   9   8   5   7   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Dirt/gravel site surrounded by dirt/gravel. We needed one board to level. Gravel roads are a bit tight with trees. We were able to pick which pull through site we wanted. Bathrooms were clean. Convenient to interstate and to downtown Freeport. Friendly owners. Good for a night or two if your unit isn't too large. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Great host, very accommodating. Very charming campground with MANY TREES. Unfortunately, it is EXTREMELY hard for a big rig! Was promised a pull through for our 38' motorhome with tow when made the reservation in mid May. When we arrived the host explained that there are only SMALL pull-throughs. So, we squeezed into a site were we could barely open the slides. Exit with tow unhooked was very difficult. Wi-Fi worked fine. Over the air TV reception was very good. Location is only 3 miles from Freeport Village & L.L. Bean. Wonderful location for southern and central Maine. Again, hosts were great and park is very nice, but if you are driving a big rig, beware! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Very nice campground. Lots of tents and closed in feel with lots of trees. Clean sites and helpful, friendly staff. Close to LLBean and shopping are in Freeport. Easy drive around to site. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cedar Haven Campground
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   7   9   7   8   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$31
Clean, quiet, well-kept little campground. They let us pick our own site. Many permanent/seasonal campers. Discount for AAA. Electric on "wrong" side at some sites. Maine "desert" (free admission for campers) surprisingly interesting sight. Very close to Freeport shopping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We were delighted to find this park open in mid-October when nothing else in this part of Maine was. We were the only campers the night we were there. It is a small, simple campground under large trees. Our site did not have a sewer hook up. I think the sites would be close together if it were full. The "desert" itself is an interesting place and fun to walk around. Not sure if I would like it during the high season when they are giving guided tours and lots of people coming and going. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
When we made our reservation we were told that we would have a full hookup site along with WI-FI. This turned out not to be the case - to get full hookup service you are assigned a site amongst the treed area of the campground. You have to go to the office area to get WI-FI which will not even work at the campsites in that area. Furthermore, there are no full hookup sites near where the WI-FI will/might work. This is pretty much an overnight campground if that. The roads are narrow and dusty. A big rig/fiver would find it very difficult the maneuver around in the full hookup area. There is no cable. We didn’t determine what was available for entertainment, but did see an above ground swimming pool on our way to our site. As we felt that we had been misinformed when we made our reservation, we decided to relocate after staying one night. We cannot in all good conscience recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Desert of Maine
Camp Information
Sites
1
Date of Stay
July 2008
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$1
Campground has been sold and is no longer a campground We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Great place. Very quiet. You'd never guess that you were only 5 minutes away from one of the premier outlet shopping areas in Maine. Ocean on three sides. All sites are either ocean front or a good view. Large sites and large grassy areas between sites and ocean. Very few seasonals. Lots of elbow room. The only thing I missed was a sewer hook up but they do have a dump station and pumping service. Nice, friendly owners. They escort you to your site and help guide you while backing in. Very thoughtful. No playground equipment so kids will get bored rather quickly. Close to L.L. Beans. We camped here in a camper.
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   10   9   7   6   8   5   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
This was a "do-able" campground. Small campground with mainly seasonal residents. Only 3-4 sites were accessible for motorhomes. Lots of standing water in sites and roads when it rains. Close to downtown Freeport and easy on-off from interstate. Owners very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Nice, quiet campground. Mostly seasonal residents with mostly nicely maintained sites. This campground had a friendly, open feel to it - not sure exactly why. We were quite comfortable here. Easy access for our 39' fifth wheel, but watch for possibly low branches on the main road getting to the campground (we were close to several, but we are 13'6" tall). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Nice and quiet. Long pull through with lots of space between sites. Very friendly people. The owner provided lots of area information and we were invited to the evening social hour. Pool available. This is an adult community. Most are long term and seasonal. Only a couple transient sites available. Dirt/gravel roads. Looks like the owner is working to add a few more sites. 2 miles to Freeport for good food and shopping. Cable and internet no longer available so that makes this place a little too expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Freeport Village Campground
Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   7   9   8   9   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
We were camping in a meadow setup. The site was level, but the smell for the entire area from the pit toilet was terrible. We could not leave our windows open or grill outside; therefore, had to stay away as much as possible. All the campsites had the same trouble. The only WiFi is by the camp store. We would definitely not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
In many ways, this campground was a gem: lots of wooded and relatively private sites, a diverse array of well-planned activities, friendly and helpful staff members, a nicely equipped camp store, nighttime quiet hours that appear to be nearly-universally respected, scenic hiking trails, and a magnificent and beautiful setting enhanced by the presence of a well maintained working farm. On the other hand, though, there was only one modern bathroom/shower facility, located near the entrance (at quite a distance from many of the sites), with the alternative to that facility being a number of rather primitive outhouses located throughout the camping area; there was a charge for use of the shower; security was nonexistent at night (no gates or attendants at all); and the aroma of cows/manure at times permeated much of the campground and surrounding facility. The positives, in our view, outweigh the negatives, and we hope to return in the future to this campground, which is quite close to the wonderful town of Freeport with its terrific shopping, eclectic culinary delights, and cosmopolitan ambiance. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Pros: Beautiful serene, idyllic views of Casco Bay. Clean water and friendly staff. Cons: Pricey. Was charged $31 for non-ocean-front campsite. $46 for ocean-front sites! They overcharged us. Said it was $26 on the phone but charged us $31. One customer called the police because of a charge card issue. Stinky latrines, and no flush toilets. Farm attractions (hayride) was not available. The showers were antiquated. Pot holes aplenty. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Recompence Shore Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We absolutely enjoyed everything about this park. Sure, it would be better with electric but, if you like base camping, this is a great place. The view of Casco Bay is wonderful. You can pull straight in so your windshield offers a great view. Sites are spacious and two sites share a trash can. The bath house is small but clean and well maintained. The camping area if separated from the day-use area and is family oriented. Several walking trails are available. The two cap host we encountered were quite friendly and helpful. They do have struck rules about generator use but they are fair and should be quite suitable. We would come back and spend a week here easily. It is a great spot to cruise the local area. If shopping is your thing, you are just 15, or so, minutes from Freeport with LL Bean, dozens of outlets and good food choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com