214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Greenville, Maine (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.28 miles SW
32.09 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Allagash Wilderness Wate
7.28 miles SW
Maine
Greenville
Most Recently Reviewed
Lily Bay State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-15 10:50:13
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Greenville, Maine
Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
September 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Campground has changed ownership in last several years. The maintenance of the grounds and roads has degraded since the change but the attraction here is the Big Eddy on the West Branch of the Penobscot and the fantastic fishing and wilderness experience. We are 35' long, had some trouble backing into our site due to the placement of stones following a "curved Pattern" -- but got in OK. Next time will try for a different site. We were on the river - electric is available a few hours in the AM and PM and the rest of the time you're on your generator (if you have one). A big negative with this CG is no dump station. You have to carry into town and dump at the municipal water treatment plant or your next destination. The access road(Golden Road) to the CG is VERY rough. Go slow or expect to have repairs needed when you leave. Closer to Millinocket than Greenville. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
These primitive sites are huge along the office side of the Penobscot River. The sites we were in were large with multiple backup sites for trailer tents. The rushing sounds of the rapids were the only background noise heard. Speaking of noise, there is no cell phone reception and radio reception is poor to none. By far the most peaceful campground I've ever visited. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
6
Date of Stay
September 2006
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
If you need hook-ups, do not even think of going to Frost Pond Camps. By the same token, if you want to experience camping at its essence you cannot find a better location. The owner is helpful and friendly. He ensures that Frost Pond Camps remains quiet and peaceful. There are cabins for rent at the campground in addition to the six campsites. The campground is located in a secluded area, approximately 1 1/2 hours north of Greenville, Maine. The road leading to the campground is dirt and can be rough on your vehicle. But the bumps just add to the remote feeling. Literally, you can place your hand in front of your face at night and not see it. It is that dark. The sky is overflowing with stars. The pond is beautiful and many fishermen were catching large brook trout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
The park is in a great location right on Moosehead Lake. The road to the park from Greenville is paved, but a little rough. The sites are wooded and well spaced so you don't have to listen to your neighbors. There are only a couple of pull through sites. The only threaded water supply is at the dump station. There is water throughout the campground and out houses. There is one central bath house with showers and toilets. The staff is friendly and we saw deer in the park each day we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
This state park is pretty. The roads are quite rough getting to the park the last 5 to 6 miles. So rough that cabinets that never opened in three years did fly open. The sites are extremely tight for bigger rigs and more geared for tents and pop ups. This is a nice place to fish and hang out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
Fun, relaxing, scenic, reasonalbly priced. Hope to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lily Bay State Park
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   9   7   8   8   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Clean, well-maintained campground and super-friendly owners (husband and wife), who clearly have made a commitment to keeping up the grounds and facilities. Internet was down when we stayed, but that was a cable company issue, not theirs. The campground is relatively small with no views to speak of, but it was quiet (half full the Monday after Labor Day). The property seems to have been an apple orchard at one time. Lots of fallen fruit and probably, on a warm day, lots of drunken wasps, yellowjackets and other sting-y bugs. Bathrooms are rustic: unheated, vault toilets, and clean but dated shower stalls. We planned to stay two nights but decided to move on after one. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This park is convenient to Greenville and nearby Monson where you can access the Appalachian Trail. The lake is a big draw for boaters, and there are many ATV trails around. We were here for the hiking, and there were a lot of trails, but many of them had long, circuitous routes to get to the trailheads. Moose supposedly outnumber people; however, we only saw one, briefly, that was just wandering down the road (not at any of the "moose spotting" sites.) The grocery store in town, Indian Hill, is well stocked and reasonably priced. There were also several locals selling produce and other food items. The RV park itself is okay. The owners are very nice, informative, and busy working around the place. There are only a handful of sites large enough for big rigs. There is no sewer, and they charge extra for 50 amp. Our biggest complaints are the road noise and sketchy Wi-Fi. We were close to the source, and could only access the hotspot with Wi-Fi extenders. Our price reflects a weekly rate which is somewhat high considering it's water and 30 amp. We would stay here again but doubt that our journeys would return in this direction. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Nice little park. Laid out to fit the terrain. Lots of apple trees (very small, green apples), friendly folks. But, we stayed in site 29 because we reportedly could get satellite reception and on-site Wi-Fi service there. Guess what? Satellite signal non-existent, no antenna reception, and Wi-Fi is spotty at best. There are prettier, back in sites (ours was a pull through). For no TV, no sewer connection, and practically no wi-Fi, $35 is kind of steep. Not sure we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Moosehead Family Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com