214753 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Medway, Maine (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.19 miles NW
10.38 miles SE
29.31 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
D & M Sales & Service
1.65 miles SW
Dump
Millinocket
10.62 miles NW
Wal-Mart
1000 Outer W Broadway
13.61 miles S
Maine
Medway
Most Recently Reviewed
Pine Grove Campground and Cottages
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-27 18:53:12
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Medway, Maine
Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   8   9   8   8   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
When you enter this park the parking area to register is on the side of a steep hill. Big rigs should pull up to the left side of the flag poles and park there to avoid the steep tight turns in front of the office. The road around the campground is gravel, well maintained, but can be tight in areas if you’re a 40ft class A with toad. A lot of the park is filled with long term and seasonal quests, many with permanent porches, sheds and satellite dishes nailed to trees. This makes the place look more like a travel trailer park than a campground. There are only 6 shaded 30/50amp shared pedestal full-hookup pull thru sites for large rigs, everything else is back-in. If you want some shade and are willing to maneuver into a site, you might fit into one on the hill but it is very treed so getting a satellite view will be a problem. Some of the power pedestals may be out of reach for your power cord up there, if so, ask the office for an extension if you don’t have one. The staff is very helpful and will loan you a 30 amp cord to use. If you don’t need sewer and want an easy back-in with open skies stay in Violette’s field, a water and electric only level grass yard. You will have plenty of room to maneuver a big rig into place without any obstacles. The bathroom, showers and laundry are all clean and well maintained. Sprint has no service in the area. The free park WI-FI worked fine near the office, but got slower the further away you were. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Good location, nice and clean facilities, family friendly, many activities, very nice office staff. However…..very, very compact and we struggled with our 38’ fifth wheel – would not recommend any towable rigs over 34’ in season when the park is crowded, as it’s rather tight to maneuver. Pull-thru sites share a pedestal, so you may not get the one 50-amp service if you’re not the first one there. No TV reception and no cable, but Verizon 4G works surprisingly well. Some may find the numerous rabbit adorable, but they are everywhere, as is their waste. Maybe it’s the weekend we’re here, but the loudest campground ever – no, not the road noise, but very loud, screaming children and their parents. If you come on a weekend, and this is an issue for you, it’s worth asking for a quiet (if there is one) area. Oh, quiet hours do not start until 11pm, a bit late in our opinion. It is strictly enforced and it’s quiet at 11:01pm, but quite loud until that moment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
If it's a hopping, jumping campground that would fill your hearts' desire, Mt. Katahdin is the place to build your late night fire. Very family friendly, always things to do. Managed very nicely, seasonals, and yes, they're nice too. You have a pool and Wi-Fi. If you want a/c you'll pay. There is a playground for the kiddies, and they're buzzing about all day. Those who stay the season can add their own decor. Although it's always busy, a well stocked camping store. If you are into "peace & quiet"this is not for you, There is a primitive tenting area, but it's pretty "happening", too. It's very family friendly and if your focus is just that, I believe it rates an "8". So go check out "Mt. Kat". We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Katahdin Shadows Campground
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing night this is the place to come to. We stayed 2 nights in October at this really lovely, wooded campground right on the East Branch of the Penobscot River. Being at the end of the season there were very few people here but even in season the sites looked private enough to make this a nice place. Jeff the owner is very friendly and happy to accommodate and suggest places to see. We had "visits" from racoons, wild turkeys, and owls and because there aren't street lights everywhere like some campgrounds the stars are worth the trip alone. We would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Very enjoyable setting, friendly/ helpful owner, and river access with free canoes and kayaks. Decent Wi-Fi and very quiet. If you are looking for a relaxing soothing place to kick back and swim, fish, boat, or take in the local scenery you have found it. Don’t get me wrong this place is rustic and if you’re looking for fancy don’t come. We happened on this site by accident. A campground down the road was full. So we gave this a bit out of the way spot a chance and are glad we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
We stayed here for a month while our son was finishing the AT at Baxter State Park. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, making our stay very pleasant. It was very quiet and relaxing. We were backed right up to the river. Some sites on the river don't have sewer but the staff will pump you for a small fee. We hope to visit again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com