223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Copper Harbor, Michigan (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
Michigan
Copper Harbor
Most Recently Reviewed
Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-05 22:25:27
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Copper Harbor, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
159
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   9   9   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Enjoyed this park as the Cooper Harbor area is stunning. Sites are level and paved. Most sites are on the smallish size. The campground is lightly wooded. There was no Verizon cell/MIFI service in Cooper Harbor. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
We stayed in the newer west campground, which is easy to find after checking into the ranger station.  The campground is located on Lake Fanny Hooe, with the common area on the lakefront providing nice views to many campsites.  The campground hosts set up morning coffee with their display of area brochures.  And on Saturday night, the campground hosts helped each of us to make yummy bread on a stick.  Within a short walk is Fort Wilkins, a no-cost historical site which allowed dogs.  We took our dog, and took turns visiting each of the buildings.  The nightly ranger talk was enjoyable.  And just across the road is access to Lake Superior at the rocky beach. There is little in town to interest me, and the restaurants were uninspired at best.  We drove to the northernmost point of Highway 41 which is the road all the way to Miami.  About 2 miles beyond the start of Highway 41, on a seasonal rut-filled dirt road is a very beautiful secluded Horseshoe Bay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Wow! This place is terrific. We were not on the water but our campsite was very private and clean as a whistle. Beautiful facilities everywhere in the Park. Loved the walking/biking path to nearby Copper Harbor and to the Fort. We went to the presentations at the Fort every night and to an Arts & Crafts show in Copper Harbor. This is a super base for exploring the Keweenaw Peninsula. We were in site 101 in the West Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fort Wilkins Historic State Park
Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   5   8   8   10   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
Site 56 not level. Wi-Fi not so good. Cable TV good. Toilets and showers plentiful and clean. Nice lake . Nice setting. Sites close together and some shared areas depending if you back in or go forward. With no cell service, it would have been good to have totally consistent and reliable Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$47
Terrific campground. Best of our entire 8 day trip to the Western Upper Peninsula. Great accommodations, very clean and well maintained complex. Really close to town. Won't consider staying anywhere else in the area on our next visit. The kids enjoyed the game room and the playground and we all liked the convenience to Copper Harbor. Much more space than the State Parks we stayed in. Worth the extra money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
This was an odd little campground in that the connections were placed way at the front of the sites. We had to park nose-in instead of backing in and then bring out electrical cords under the coach in order to reach the unit. That put us side-by-side the other coach, making us quite close to them - leaving lots of space on the other side. That, plus the site itself was really lumpy so we had to be very careful how we walked or we would trip as the grass covered the dips. The plus side was that it forced us to meet our neighbors which were very friendly and we had great evening fires with them! The lake is lovely to look at and Copper Harbor is enjoyable itself. There was a bike race in town, so the state park was full, and we were lucky to get this place! All in all, it was a fine stay. We were told to expect no cell service, so no surprises there. We didn't expect to get our WiFi, so that was a nice surprise when we got that! It helped to have low expectations ;-) Very nice people tho and a beautiful drive there! Well worth the trip in! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Display older reviews for Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com