214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hancock, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
1.76 miles SE
9.39 miles NE
14.43 miles NE
17.10 miles NE
18.24 miles SW
25.20 miles SE
26.74 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Mont Ripley Ski Area
0.54 miles SE
Wal-Mart
995 Razorback Dr
1.82 miles S
Michigan Technological U
2.30 miles SE
Houghton County Memorial
3.30 miles E
Keweenaw National Histor
10.09 miles NE
Michigan
Hancock
Most Recently Reviewed
Hancock City Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-12 01:20:09
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hancock, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   7   8   9   10   8   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Great state park on Lake Superior. Sunsets were amazing. Sites are level and spacious. Bring an extension cord as the power was 75 feet away from the site. They are improving the bathrooms, but the existing ones are clean with plenty of hot water. Staff and campground hosts were friendly. We stayed in site 82, two nights so that we could take a day trip to Copper Harbor. We cannot wait to return to this beautiful park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We were disappointed to learn that we could only stay one night, as all sites were reserved for a music festival weekend.  Only the camp sites on the lake have great views, and we would try to return for one of those sites.  We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Many maps list this as McLain State Park, rather than FJ McLain, and this can cause confusion finding out about the park including RV Park Reviews. It is a long tarmac drive surfaced park along the low sand cliffs bordering Lake Superior about 8-9 miles north of Hancock. Beautiful lake shore view including sunsets. Cleanly kept. Lots of wooden benches. Long drives for bikers and loads of kids having a wonderful time biking. Now for the negatives. Three showers and 3 flush toilets plus several pit toilets for 104 sites. Most of the sites are very irregularly unlevel and most of the electrical power outlet post are between widely spaced sites and way back from the drives, many in undergrowth. Most sites will have to have long extension cords to get electricity, and bring lots of leveler blocks. For the poor site surfacing and poor electrical post locations, and inadequate bath facilities I rate it down to a 7. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for FJ McLain State Park
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   8   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$23
Nice alternative to the state park system. Only a few sites have water and just a handful of 50 amp sites. We were at the back of the large boat ramp parking lot with a nice view of the river. WiFi at our site was limited. had to sit at the picnic table to get any reception at all. Short walk to the beach area on the lake. Lots to do in the area. The Quincy Mine is a must do and get your pastries at Toni's in Laurium. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
I had to clean the plastic bottles out of the fire pit and there were lots of cigarette butts on the ground too. No sewer sites so okay for a few days. Didn't use shower facilities but they looked fairly clean. No shade at our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
A few sites have waterway views, most don't. 50 amp service is available; however, you get 30 amps & water, or 50 amps and no water. Dump station is handy and easy to access. The city swimming beach is nearby, in walking distance. All roads are paved, and RV sites are level. Big rigs fit OK. Restroom/shower does have a washer/dryer and uses quarters. Boat launch is included as is free Wi-Fi. Cable TV at all sites, excellent channel offering. We shared water hookup (separate spigots) with another rig, but needed all of our hoses to hook up. Lots to see and do in the area -- good spot to make your headquarters! I would have rated it a 10 if there were sewer hook ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hancock City Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com