223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Houghton Lake, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.15 miles NE
19.92 miles SW
23.16 miles N
24.32 miles SE
33.16 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
3451 W Houghton Lake Dr
2.14 miles SE
Burnside Rv Center
2.87 miles SE
West Houghton Lake Cg
(989)422-5130
2.98 miles NW
Coyles
3.03 miles NW
Holiday On The Lake
3.37 miles NW
Cut River Cg
(989)422-3635
3.92 miles NE
Civilian Conservation Cor
13.21 miles N
Michigan
Houghton Lake
Most Recently Reviewed
West Houghton Lake Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-29 02:15:41
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Houghton Lake, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
This is a comfortable, clean and friendly RV park in the Houghton Lake Area, and easy access on/off the freeway. We only spent a couple nights but enjoyed the pool, the well-kept dog run, the fun children's playground and more. Our site was shady and level....a big plus. There are several folks here who stay all summer, apparently, and the staff offers extra services for them and for us, like emptying their tanks, delivering fire wood to the RV site. Great place! The price reflects the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Price reflects Good Sam discount. Interior roads were dirt but well maintained. This campground is an old KOA, but the new owners have done a very good job of updating the facilities. The bathrooms were spotless. The owners were very friendly and helpful, they really seem to enjoy the campground. All of the sites were pull thru, but the sites were a little close together. If we are in the area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Very friendly and helpful owners. Family orientated with train rides, campfires, programs. Good Wi-Fi. Lots of shade. We were there on our way to Mackinaw City. Houghton Lake beautiful and a Camping World close by. Hope that we are in Michigan to stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Houghton Lake Travel Park
Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   4   5   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$13
We stayed here one night while passing through. Rate reflects Passport America with no power. Our site was clean and level, with easy pull-through access. Wi-Fi signal was very strong but I forgot to get the code. The entry road had some potholes, but nothing that caused problems for our 39' motorhome. For my purpose this was a 10. I would have no concerns about spending a more extended stay here. Some sites were tight, but not ours. Very quiet on a Thursday night. Staff was friendly. Sites are grass, no pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Our visit did not start well as owner was argumentative about Passport America rules. He still gave us the PA rate but was not happy about doing so. Roads are dirt and in poor repair so drive slowly when entering and around the park. Sites are very close - too close for our liking. Wi-Fi was good. It was a quiet, family park. Some seasonal units are in bad condition which makes the park look tired. Bathroom was okay but needs to be cleaner and really needs to be replaced. Overall we were not pleased but might consider staying here again for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
(Rate based on a couple nights with the Passport Discount). The good: Fast & reliable Wi-Fi - best we've seen in a long time. Close access to Houghton Lake, especially if you have a boat. Family friendly - the weekend we stayed the park was doing a summer Halloween party with trick or treating, Karaoke, hayrides, costume contests, etc. There was no "kid-tax" for groups bigger than 2 adults per site. The owners also discouraged local "Bud-bashers" from camping here in order to keep the atmosphere quiet and reasonable which we appreciated. We met several of the many seasonal residents and they were friendly and conversational. Our spot was shady all day & we enjoyed nice breezes. The not-so-good: We came in after a recent heavy rain & park entrance/roads are muddy gravel so lots of puddles. The utilities on the site were on the passenger side - doable, but oddly placed. A previous review mentions upgrading of utilities but we didn't see evidence of that - only a couple spots with full hookups are available. Bathroom and showers aren't being kept clean - floors are muddy and littered. The shower water has an odor. The park also charges a $3/day fee to use A/C. Lots of standing water around the park means lots of bugs. Overall (from a park maintenance & upkeep perspective) it just feels like a place where the minimum amount of work to keep it going is being done, without much pride in the outcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for West Houghton Lake Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com