214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Houghton Lake, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.15 miles NE
19.92 miles SW
23.16 miles N
24.32 miles SE
33.16 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
3451 W Houghton Lake Dr
2.14 miles SE
Burnside Rv Center
2.87 miles SE
West Houghton Lake Cg
(989)422-5130
2.98 miles NW
Coyles
3.03 miles NW
Holiday On The Lake
3.37 miles NW
Cut River Cg
(989)422-3635
3.92 miles NE
Civilian Conservation Cor
13.21 miles N
Michigan
Houghton Lake
Most Recently Reviewed
Houghton Lake Travel Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-28 22:00:33
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Houghton Lake, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Very friendly and helpful owners. Family orientated with train rides, campfires, programs. Good Wi-Fi. Lots of shade. We were there on our way to Mackinaw City. Houghton Lake beautiful and a Camping World close by. Hope that we are in Michigan to stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$41
This park is typical of small parks taking advantage of the tourist season. There was a nice looking pool and large campground for the kids. If you have kids and were there in a small RV or pop-up it would be great - except for the price. The grass pull-throughs on the first row are quite roomy, but getting there is not much fun. The trees along the interior roads have not been trimmed back in quite some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Nice campground near the interstate. Some road noise. Some seasonal sites. We stayed 1 night. Showers & restrooms old, but clean. Sites were level. We were there towards the end of the season, but looked like they had a nice pool, playground and gave train rides through the summer. We would go back again for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
(Rate based on a couple nights with the Passport Discount). The good: Fast & reliable Wi-Fi - best we've seen in a long time. Close access to Houghton Lake, especially if you have a boat. Family friendly - the weekend we stayed the park was doing a summer Halloween party with trick or treating, Karaoke, hayrides, costume contests, etc. There was no "kid-tax" for groups bigger than 2 adults per site. The owners also discouraged local "Bud-bashers" from camping here in order to keep the atmosphere quiet and reasonable which we appreciated. We met several of the many seasonal residents and they were friendly and conversational. Our spot was shady all day & we enjoyed nice breezes. The not-so-good: We came in after a recent heavy rain & park entrance/roads are muddy gravel so lots of puddles. The utilities on the site were on the passenger side - doable, but oddly placed. A previous review mentions upgrading of utilities but we didn't see evidence of that - only a couple spots with full hookups are available. Bathroom and showers aren't being kept clean - floors are muddy and littered. The shower water has an odor. The park also charges a $3/day fee to use A/C. Lots of standing water around the park means lots of bugs. Overall (from a park maintenance & upkeep perspective) it just feels like a place where the minimum amount of work to keep it going is being done, without much pride in the outcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Sites were likely laid out several decades ago, so the width is tight now with slideouts. Only 1 section of full hookups. OK for a couple of nights. Access to Houghton Lake across the road for boating, but no beach here. Just your basic northern campground, with majority seasonals, and a couple of large grassy areas for playground/sports. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
This is an older campground with grass sites, dirt roads, and fairly close sites and a lot of full timers. The showers are individual rooms that looked rather old, so we didn't use them. The bathrooms were clean and freshly painted. The rate is the Passport rate with an additional $3/day for A/C. We stayed here 3 days. An okay place for a short stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for West Houghton Lake Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com