214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Mackinaw City, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.11 miles N
18.66 miles SE
19.89 miles NE
23.03 miles S
25.62 miles SE
30.31 miles SW
30.31 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Colonial Michilimackinac
0.32 miles SW
Old Mackinac Point
0.64 miles SW
Pancake Chef
0.84 miles NE
Star Line Mackinac Isla
1.31 miles E
Embers - Mackinaw City
1.36 miles SE
Historic Mill Creek
4.69 miles SE
Father Marquette National
4.85 miles NW
Fort Mackinac
7.64 miles NE
Mackinac Island State P
8.16 miles NE
Carriage House - Mackina
8.39 miles NE
Kewadian 3039 Mackinac Trail St. Ignace Mi 49781 906-643-7071 (Located To Block)
9.66 miles N
Kewadin Shores Casino
10.47 miles N
Michigan
Mackinaw City
Most Recently Reviewed
Mackinaw Mill Creek Camping
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-16 19:49:53
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   9   7   8   7   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
First, I don’t like to be forced to pay a reservation fee. At least 2 campgrounds in this area do this. The one-time non-returnable reservation fee is $3.00. Minus 1 point. The receipt that was given to me is very difficult to understand. It took several minutes to see exactly what I paid, but there are no dates on the receipt other than arrival & departure dates. Minus 1 point. Free Wi-Fi? Not really. You get one coupon with a Tengo Internet code per 24 hr. period, but the catch is that you can only use that code on one device. My wife and I each have a PC and each have a phone. So I was given the option to purchase more coupons at $2.00 per device per 24 hr. period. So for the 4 nights we stayed, I paid $8.00 for “free” internet access. But I must admit, on a Friday evening, the internet was running smoothly, but I still must subtract one more point! There is only one place to dump trash in this very large campground. I suppose the reason is to keep down any wildlife issues. However, with that said, the campground itself was run well. It has hundreds of sites, some big, some small. It’s location is on Lake Huron. There’s a pool, free mini-golf and a nice large camp store with arcade/game room. Our site was large with a very nice fire ring. The utilities were spread far apart. I had to use a second hose to get to the water outlet; the electric and sewer lines barely reached their respective outlets after I moved trailer to accommodate my 25 ft. electric cord. Sadly minus another point. If you go in June, beware of the billions of flying insects that apparently arrive for about 2 weeks. At first I thought they were mosquitos, but were they’re not. They don’t bite, but they are VERY annoying and get all over everything! We may or may not stay here again, only because of the limited choices in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
Nice, relatively level sites in trees which are not in the way of getting in and out. Camp workers police sites as people check out. Workers in store are friendly and helpful. Wifi worked very well the whole week we were there. Easy access to all tourist attractions. Enjoyed stay and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Nice park with large, treed sites and a kid friendly environment. This is a good camp to use when visiting Mackinac Island. The nature trail hooks up with the city bike path which is a very nice paved path, which goes for many miles. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mackinaw City / Mackinac Island KOA
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$15


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
If you are looking to spend a night and not a fortune in a touristy area, this campground is an excellent choice. Good 30 amp solid electric with water and convenient dump station. There are both shade and open sites available. Self contained units would be best as there is no bath house. We stayed 6 nights while touring the area. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
This is an older CG with decent hookups, 30 amp electric and water. Both good for our stay. Nothing fancy here, but a solid value for $15 a night. Sites are hard packed grass pull thrus and fairly level. TV via batwing was strong, but with a limited channel list. Verizon cell and broadband both very good. Be careful pulling in, it is a long narrow drive so you want to avoid meeting on coming traffic. But traffic volume is low here. As long as you don't expect much, you will have a nice spot to visit the Mackinaw from. Which is a lot bigger than we expected given its population of under 1,000, so we ended up spending 6 nights. Plenty of food and drink choices in town, but on the high side. For a good alternative, try Clydes Place which has outstanding pizza and much better prices. Take a left out of the CG to US-31 and then 3 miles south to Carp Lake. It is just south of the blinking light on the left. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
This 'no frills' campground is perfect for those not needing amenities (pool, playground, showers, etc.) It is big rig friendly and offers the basics - 30 amp electric, water, dump station, good AT&T and Verizon access, and good satellite reception. You can't beat the $15 price. Those of us who are self-contained need more reasonably priced parks like this. It's just a short distance to town and all the activities of Mackinaw City. I'm rating it a 9 because despite the lack of amenities it was adequate for our needs at a fair price. We stayed a week and would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mackinaw City Campground
Camp Information
Sites
600
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$51



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   6   8   5   10   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$51
We were located at the end loop between loops 7 & 8 on site 178. When you book here you cannot choose what site you get, rather you tell them what kind of site you want. We booked this site (and another for our camping buddies) and had to book on Labor Day of 2013 in order to get this for July of 2014. The view from our sites were excellent! You can see the Mackinac Bridge, Mackinac Island, and Bois Blanc island from the sites. There is a 'common' grassy area that really gives the place a park like atmosphere. Although we enjoyed our stay and loved our sites, I would not want to stay in one of the interior sites behind us as I felt they were packed in. There are other sites throughout the campground that I would consider. They have a fire engine they run through the park and give rides as well as during the weekend (when we were there) a hay ride. There is a nice beach and a pool for swimming. The store is really nice with some grocery items and, of course, camping supplies, souvenirs, etc. There is a game room that is in the same building as the store and looks nice as well. There is a free shuttle from/to the campground to the Star Line Ferry for Mackinac Island. The bathrooms and showers were clean and well cared for. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We selected this site for a view of Mighty Mack, and it delivered. On the good side they have three playgrounds for the kids, a nice camp store and game room. The grassy area along Lake Huron is very nicely groomed and picturesque. On the bad side the sites along the Lake Huron stretch are horribly narrow. Checking in required standing outside and speaking with employees protected behind screened windows while I dealt with a dense swarm of mosquitoes (not fun but the wife was laughing). Benches, wooden fences, and every wooden post in the place is in need of replacement. Roads were terribly dusty, and we were notified 5 days prior to our arrival that the pool would be closed for maintenance with no offer for a discount of any kind. We would have rated Mill Creek an 8 if not for the pool issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This is a BIG RV Park. Lots of amenities. We paid extra for a Lake view site, but from any site it's easy to walk to the lake and sit in the grass to relax while you look out at the Mackinaw Bridge and Mackinac Island. Sites are close together. Showers are outstanding, though they are a driving distance away. Very clean, very hot. Wi-Fi was based on a "coupon" usage. We got good Verizon MiFi during our stay. We stayed here for 6 nights. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mackinaw Mill Creek Camping
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   7   6   9   7   7   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Park has a very nice view of the Mackinaw Bridge and Lake Huron. I prefer the 50 amp sites in the back of the park as they have a nice view of the water and bridge and are far enough from the road that there is no road noise. These sites are large enough for a 40 ft fifth wheel and are wider than the sites at the front of the park. The park does not have any sewer sites, which is a negative for me, but we stay here every time we come to Mackinaw City because of the view and the friendly owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Pictures on their website are not realistic as the campsites are close! For example, beach was small and weedy, more weeds than sand. Water pressure was so low that we could not shower. We were there on Labor Day weekend and every possible space for a campsite was used. If the park is not crowded it would probably be much better. On the plus side: close to Mackinac City and the hosts were pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We stayed here for two nights and although its certainly not a great park, it was pleasant and friendly. There were 30 amp hookups with water and a dump station which we didn't see. The location is excellent, as its very close in to the Mackinaw City area and the staff was very friendly. We would stay here again if visiting this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for TeePee Camprground
Camp Information
Sites
290
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   8   8   8   9   7   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Our favorite park in Michigan. Staff are friendly and helpful. Have stayed in both lakeside sites and up in the pines (a lot nicer up there during cold weather). Absolutely love the access to the donuts down the road! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Very appropriate name for the park. We followed the directions in the CG Book that said to follow the signs. There was 1 sign in Mackinaw City and no more. The road was so rough on the way that we could not go over 20 mph. The 10 miles was more like 15 miles. You will get a true idea of dark when you go out at night. There is nothing to do there unless you are a reader. I finished 2 books while sitting there a day. The park is nice but not worth the trip on those roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Nice size sites in the Pines Campground area, little smaller and closer together in the lake front campground. Historic Civilian Conservation Corp site. Lots of shade. Great, extensive hiking trails. Two stores, one located at each end of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Wilderness State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com