219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Munising, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.78 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Pictured Rocks National
2.12 miles NE
Kewadian N 7761 Candy Cane Ln. Munising Mi 49862 906-387-5475 (Located To Street)
3.55 miles NW
Michigan
Munising
Most Recently Reviewed
Wandering Wheels Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-28 19:47:59
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Munising, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   6   7   9   7   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
You can't beat the view of Lake Superior at this park! Some sites actually on the lake, and access to the beach. It was wonderful. The park should consider treating the road, as it was very dusty every time someone drove through, and the Wi-Fi signal wasn't too dependable. It's just west of the downtown area, not too far from all the touristy stuff. Explore the local waterfalls, tour the rocks from the water, and grab dessert at the Falling Rock Cafe (the Munising Marvel sundae is exceptional). The park is nice, no trouble getting in and out with a big rig, and the owners were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning to the area and staying here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
We stayed two nights in this campground, paying $28 for one campsite, and $32 for the second. The second campsite was a pull-through and was in closer proximity to the lake and thus more costly. This is a nice municipally owned campground, right on a bay in Lake Superior. Grand Island is in front of the bay, so the waters are very protected. Many campsites are right on the water, and people had their kayaks and canoes pulled up on the shore. Campers gather at the shore (or on the water in their boats) to watch the lovely sunset each night. The campground itself is plain and simple, the sites are level and the utilities easy to reach. Some of the sites are shaded. This campground is very popular and many campers reserve their spots in advance. Call at the last minute (as we did) and be prepared to move from night to night. Munising is the town on the western edge of the spectacular Pictured Lakes National Lakeshore. The boat and kayak tours of the beautiful Pictured Rocks cliffs leave from Munising. There is also the lovely Grand Island to visit as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Beautiful little park!! A true gem by Lake Superior! Lots of people and lots of kids, kind of on the noisy side but everyone was having a great time. This was our 3rd park staying in Michigan and we think it was a nice stay and a fairly good location. Had it not been at Lake Superior though there wouldn't have been much reason to stay here. We would return, but would try to go when it isn't the height of tourism season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Munising Tourist Park Campground
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
We stayed here for a week and loved it! The location is perfect, as it is convenient to the area attractions, such as Sandy Point Beach and Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore and numerous boat tours. We were never bored for a minute, and neither were our young children. There is a nice beach(not for swimming), cheap boat rentals, fishing, sand volley ball, giant sandbox, basketball, swingset, et cetera. The bathrooms were the nicest/cleanest I've seen at a campground. Hosts were great and very friendly. Wifi was available. This is a remote campground for nature-lovers. We found it truly refreshing. It did seem like a tight squeeze for some of the bigger rv's, and the lodges didn't look too impressive from the outside. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Our first trip in our RV. Beautiful location and close to town. We did not travel with children but playground needs updating. Bathrooms clean. Shower water pressure was good but not much ventilation. Needed a longer hose for water so office gave us one to use during our stay. Large sites with plenty of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Beware of this place, if in a larger RV or with slides, while 1 or 2 sites may work, it is not big rig (or medium rig) friendly at all. The website says: "A magnificent setting with full modern facilities." Well maybe 30 or 40 years ago, not now. Most sites are electric only (or no electric) and not very level. We were hitting branches on the driveway in, with our 35' MH. There is a water station for filling, no water hookups at site. Verizon had no service here. It was a real short stay for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Otter Lake Campground and Lodges
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   6   7   1   4   6   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$46
We had a full hookup, which was level with lots of shade. The sites are dirt, which get very muddy in the rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$46
We were parked on the "lawn" out front of the campground, which did have electric, water, and sewer available. Cable, while advertised, had been cut off by the cable company without notice (which apparently has happened to other UP campgrounds). The biggest drawback we had was the incredible smoke from many campfires, making it impossible to sit outside during the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
Spacious dirt sites with lots of mature trees enclosing them. No cable TV while we were there. One country radio station. Close to Munising and Pictured Rocks. Plenty things to do in the area. Pricey at $46 for full hookups. Wi-Fi is weak and unstable in back sites. Road is narrow and winding getting to sites but had no problem with my 37' rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Wandering Wheels Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com