206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Munising, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.78 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Pictured Rocks National
2.12 miles NE
Kewadian N 7761 Candy Cane Ln. Munising Mi 49862 906-387-5475 (Located To Street)
3.55 miles NW
Michigan
Munising
Most Recently Reviewed
Munising Tourist Park Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-11-07 17:25:09
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Munising, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   5   7   7   7   6   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
We stayed here to take the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore boat tour. The layout for the lesser priced sites is odd as others have stated. That said, they are level. Most sites have a view of the lake. The sunsets were fantastic. One can overlook a lot for the views and the water. We stayed here coming and going in our travels of the U.P. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This campground is right on the shore of Lake Superior, so what more could you want? We had a good 50amp electric hookup and water, a very large site which was grass and flat. We weren't on the water, but had a great view. The dump station was easy to get it and out and worked just fine. There is some highway noise, but it's not bad. This is a very handy location for taking the "Pictured Rocks" cruises and the "Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tours". There's also a ferry to Grand Island and an easy drive to views along the Pictured Rocks shoreline. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
This is a pretty nice basic park on the lake. Level sites. Only complaint we had was the showers on the one end were real old and need to be cleaned with a bucket of soapy bleach water, a brush and water hose (and possibly a shovel). They smell bad. Not sure if because they are old or need cleaning. Otherwise, it is a nice place reasonably priced. Watch out for the mosquitoes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Munising Tourist Park Campground
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Our first trip in our RV. Beautiful location and close to town. We did not travel with children but playground needs updating. Bathrooms clean. Shower water pressure was good but not much ventilation. Needed a longer hose for water so office gave us one to use during our stay. Large sites with plenty of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Beware of this place, if in a larger RV or with slides, while 1 or 2 sites may work, it is not big rig (or medium rig) friendly at all. The website says: "A magnificent setting with full modern facilities." Well maybe 30 or 40 years ago, not now. Most sites are electric only (or no electric) and not very level. We were hitting branches on the driveway in, with our 35' MH. There is a water station for filling, no water hookups at site. Verizon had no service here. It was a real short stay for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Very nice campground. Beautiful lake. Clean laundry room. New bath house and showers. Warm and clean shower and bathroom. Great place for our dogs. Beautiful trail to hike on. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   7   4   1   2   6   2   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  no  question  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  no  question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
I think I'm being generous by giving this place a "4". We were on the grass in the front across from the office. These sites are very long but also very narrow. Grass is weedy with lots of bare muddy spots. Scruffy and in need of raking and cleaning. The interior of the park is very wooded. The sites are a mixture of tents, pop-ups and RVs. Although we had W/S/50 Amp/Cable and WiFi, that was not the case if you wanted to stay within the wooded area. The roads are all dirt/mud with lots of pot holes. The whole place is in need of an up-date and a really good cleaning. There is no security of any kind. People and cars coming and going at all hours. The laundry had 3 dirty washers and only one working dryer. We had come to Munising to take the Pictured Rocks Cruise which we did. There is only one other C.G. nearby and that was full. It's too bad there aren't more options because it really is a nice area to visit. We stayed, but sadly, we would never come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
The sites for a big rig are very spacious and private. The roads to get there are dirt, narrow, tree lined and not real well marked. They have cable but no satellite is available. This was our second choice for the area and it worked out fine. Electric and water available at the site, but no sewer. Dump is available. Seemed a little high price, but not many options available. Would stay here again as a second option. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Nice park, but it really does not offer anything special. First, the good stuff. The sites are large, mostly level and well shaded. The pool is immaculate and well cared for. As for the downside, there is nothing that is a deal breaker but there are several items that should be mentioned. The playground is outdated, the store does not offer much but the real problem was the bathrooms. They were clean, but the showers and stalls were extremely small. If you are a large person, don't even bother. That being said, we would still come back because the campground was nice enough and the things to do in the area warrant more than 4 days here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Wandering Wheels Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com