206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Ontonagon, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.79 miles SW
22.54 miles SE
Michigan
Ontonagon
Most Recently Reviewed
Porcupine Mountain Wilderness State Park / Union Bay Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-11-07 18:45:57
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Ontonagon, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Arrived without reservations soon after a lakeside site became available and we had to use 4WD to pull into site because of the sand. The next site's camper was very close to ours with a large family group. The site was in the sand so required 4WD to get set up. Because we had such a great lake view site we had all the traffic going up and down to the beach. We used this location to visit Porcupine Mountains and Bond and Agate Falls. Think we would look around for another park if we were in the area. Definitely needs to have the older section updated. Showers required 75 cents for 6 minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Camped here in mid-July so it was fairly busy, but thankfully we got there in the middle of the week and were able to secure a lakefront site (#26). There are really 4 different sections here. The ones on the north end were grassy and generally shaded. Some water hookups were more than 25 ft. The middle section (where we camped) had about 7-8 lakefront sites, all very nice. There were pull-throughs, but not made for longer RV's. Also some sites were along the country road that were grassy and shaded. The newest section, and probably the most sought after, has 7 lakeside sites only. The new restroom/showers were in this section and were very nice and kept clean. The 4th section was across the road from the other sites and the lake. It contained several sites that were level, grassy, and mostly shaded. The dump station was in the newer section and was easily accessible. Usually one young man ran the office. He was pleasant and usually around the campground area attending to duties. This is a laid-back operation, but they take good care of things. The beach was excellent!!! Nice and sandy and not very far from our campsite (about 50 yards or less). Town was about 1 mile south and there is a sidewalk most of the way there. We walked into and around town for our morning exercise. Porcupine Mtns. State Park was about 14 miles south, but the park is huge so there is more driving necessary if you want to enjoy the full park. Syl's is a good place to eat. There is a good grocery store on the east side of town along M-38. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
Park is very scenic with view of Lake Superior from about 25% of the sites. Well kept, clean and the management is very helpful. Call ahead and they will reserve a site for you on the day you intend to arrive. No TV reception except satellite and spotty cell phone reception. Beach access is good and while a bit cold Lake Superior is great for a swim on a hot day. Some seasonal campers, but not many. While there are no full hookup sites they will come and pump your tanks for a fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Ontonagon Township Park and Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   6   8   8   8   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Right on Lake Superior at Union Bay. There is lots of hiking, canoeing, kayaking and motor touring to be done in the area. Sites are grass, somewhat level and open. Make sure to take the time to go over to the Black River National Forest Scenic Byway. A bit of a drive; however, well worth the trip. The "Porkies" as they are known would qualify as a National Park. Michigan decided it couldn't wait for that status so created the state wilderness park instead. The park does have the essence and quality level of a National Park. Well worth the trip. Would come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Quiet, remote area. Each site has 30-amp service. There is fresh water at the dump/sani-station (which is easily accessed and easy for big rigs). Campground has potential, but needs works. Huge sinkholes in almost every site, and quite unlevel. If you don't know the area, go past the Visitor's Center to the Union Bay Ski Area (sign does not say "campground") and get set-up there, then go back to the Visitor's Center for area information. If coming from the east, get all supplies (including gas) in Ontonagon - nothing past that point. Surprisingly, with a booster, we get Verizon 3G. Yes, would stay here again, but not if weather calls for big rains - think we'd get stuck with all the mud. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Sites are tight as are most Michigan state campgrounds. Lakeside sites are extremely small and very windy. We moved from a lake front site when the winds approached 40 mph with no storm present. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again but would rather stay at one of the smaller rustic campgrounds if they are available. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Porcupine Mountain Wilderness State Park / Union Bay Campground
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   7   6   7   6   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice quiet place as a base for sightseeing. Not a destination site. Great Wi-Fi and Cable. Close to town and easy drive to Porcupine Mts, Victoria and other interesting places. Staff friendly. OK Sprint service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
A great campground to base your activities in the area from. Level, grassy, spacious sites. Friendly, helpful management. Pick your own site if they're not crowded. Convenient to a marina, shopping, and exploring the area/region. Nicely away from the major roads. Quiet. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is our kind of RV park - very quiet, far from the highway and railroad tracks. Gravel roads, grassy sites which are fairly level. Site 13 is great - it looks out over a nice lawn to the distant trees. Good WiFi, good Verizon data coverage, no T-Mobile. Lots of channels on the TV cable. Fire rings, with fire wood for sale. IGA supermarket is a couple of miles away, a nice store (though our dopey GPS didn't know about it). Roxy's in town is a great little tavern, serving simple and well prepared food. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for River Road RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com