223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Pentwater, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.09 miles SE
7.32 miles SW
12.77 miles NE
12.80 miles N
15.49 miles SE
19.33 miles SE
19.81 miles NE
21.39 miles NE
25.05 miles S
-Other Nearby Points-
Rpi- Mi Timberlake Resort & Rv 4370 N Ridge Rd Mears
5.43 miles SW
Aor Rpi C2C Mears Mi - Timberlake 5/15-10/15
6.86 miles SW
AOR1971
6.86 miles SW
Timberlake Resort & Rv Club-4370 N. Ridge Rd
6.88 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
4854 W Us Hwy 10
12.03 miles N
Scotty's
12.06 miles N
Meijer 193
12.20 miles N
Gibbs Country House
12.21 miles N
Historic Nickerson Inn
12.87 miles N
White Pine Village
14.59 miles N
Michigan
Pentwater
Most Recently Reviewed
River Farm Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-08 20:00:56
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Pentwater, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   7   7   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Location, location, location! Yes, the sites are small(ish), yes there is not a lot of shade, but there are shady sites when the trees are in leaf! Yes, there is a LOT of sand - BUT - you are within feet of a gorgeous beach that has its own concession stand. You can walk to the beautiful village of Pentwater and enjoy bars, restaurants, shopping and art galleries! Tell me one other campground that has all this going for it at $24/night! It would be great if they had water and sewer hookups, but most Michigan State Parks do not, so it is not unusual. However, the location, the friendly folk, and the fun you can have there more than make up for ANY shortcomings. I am also not sure how you can rate a campground when you haven't stayed there! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
We didn't camp here but drove through the park to check it out while in the area. When we first entered, I thought it was a parking lot, as all I saw was asphalt with patches of sand in between and the odd tree. Couldn't believe my eyes when I saw that this was actually the campground (the electrical posts gave it away!) If you like zero privacy and like to eat sand, then this is the place for you. Only benefit is the scenic location right beside the lake and sand dunes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
We like the beach so this campground was a great spot for us to camp. It is very tight quarters and most sites are not shaded, but all of them had paved pads for parking your RV. Lots of sand so be sure to have a broom to keep it out of the camper. The restroom/shower facility is very new. Our campsite (#139) was excellent. The lake was just over a dune from our site and we had a nice maple tree to help shade our site, although we kept the awning out because of the warm weather. The beach was great and the lake water was clear and sandy. Lots of lake shore activity with boats, jet skis, and swimming. The Pentwater River empties into Lake Michigan here and there is a nice walkway along the river where you can also fish from if you're so inclined. Downtown Pentwater is very close (about 3 blocks). Nice little shops and eateries in town, but there is not much in the way of grocery stores in Pentwater. Ludington isn't far away if you need supplies of any kind. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Charles Mears State Park
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   9   9   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
We just stayed at this campground and were happy with it. Close to town which is a plus for us because have friends who live there. We stayed on the west side campground which had plenty of shade. The campsite was a little on the small side but we squeezed in there. I would have gave a better rating but the water has tremendous amount of iron in it which they told us it was safe. Bring a lot of bottled water with you if you stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
We drove up here from TN. We went from 98 degrees to 62 and we live it! The campground's heated pool was nice and warm for the 4 kids to swim in. All of the roads were safe and biker friendly. The kids loved the free games like horse shoes, and tether ball. While this does not have paved roads and cable TV, it has actual mature trees & woods. We love it here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
The campground is divided into 2 sections, 1 on each side of Highway 31. You could hear & see traffic on the sites bordering the highway. All sites were spacious, well-kept, and offered privacy with the mature trees and hills in between. We stayed prior to the Memorial Day weekend and no reservations were needed as barely any campers present. No extras at this time either (pools, restaurant, activities were closed) but price reflected this. Saw several deer in the campground. Would definitely return if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Hill and Hollow Campground
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Clean, nice, caring. THese folks know how to run a park. THe management is super helpful and keep the park and bathrooms immaculate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Wonderfully located and very quiet, River Farm is an ideal location for relaxing, fishing, boating or just strolling through the nearby towns of Pentwater, Hart, Silver Lake and state parks. It is near I-31 but far enough away to not be bothered by traffic noise or trains. Roads and sites are gravel and ample for big rigs with slideouts and awnings. Electric and water are excellent. Only a few sites are good for satellite TV reception but local TV has only 2 stations which breakup frequently. Owner lives on premises and is very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
I was looking for a place where I could enjoy a quiet weekend near some water with my wife and dog which their website bragged about. Unfortunately this couldn't be further from the truth. The place is nasty dirty and full of dripping pines. There was no room on the lots. A lot of dilapidated seasonals every where. The campground was noisy and no one had control of their animal's barking. If you're looking for a place to relax, this is not it. I never left my RV except to walk the dog so I can't say whether the facilities were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Old park with dirty, run down seasonal trailers. We had a reservation made months in advance and were given a site that we could not even extend our awning at. The bathrooms were a mess and the seasonal unit next door had trash and old food containers laying around every where! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Small friendly old fashion semi-rustic campground. Half seasonal, wonderful small Bass Lake private beach with dock,paddle boat and canoe rentals. Short walk to small public access on Lake Michigan. Wonderful sand dunes, friendly helpful staff. Short drive to shopping, harbors, activities. Great place to spend time while exploring North West Michigan We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com