219820 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Roscommon, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.15 miles SW
13.64 miles NW
22.89 miles N
27.30 miles NW
27.79 miles N
30.03 miles SW
30.86 miles NE
35.15 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Civilian Conservation Cor
5.18 miles NW
Cut River Cg
(989)422-3635
6.89 miles S
Skyline Ski Area
7.00 miles NW
Country Corner
I-75 X251
9.17 miles NW
Holiday On The Lake
9.74 miles SW
Coyles
10.30 miles SW
West Houghton Lake Cg
(989)422-5130
10.39 miles SW
Burnside Rv Center
11.61 miles S
Wal-Mart
3451 W Houghton Lake Dr
11.75 miles S
Camp Grayling Cg
12.64 miles NW
Hanson Hills Ski Area
13.28 miles NW
Au Sable River
13.70 miles NW
Marathon
I-75 X256
14.14 miles N
Michigan
Roscommon
Most Recently Reviewed
South Higgins Lake State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-01-17 03:14:56
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Roscommon, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Overall, a nice place. You get what you expect from a KOA campground. Well maintained and clean. My complaints: The campground is on a hill. Some sites are leaning sideways a lot. Biking on the grounds is limited, especially for small kids due to the sloped terrain. The water saving in showers is excessive, all you get is a needle-sharp mist. Shower stalls are tiny. Wi-Fi is free only for one hour, regardless of how long you stay, pay afterwards. Inadequate laundry facilities. The staff tie up the machines to wash the cabin linens. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Good Sam Park. Some sites have sewers higher than rig. Some side to side hookups. Open year round with lots of summer and winter activities in area with Higgins Lake nearby. Family operated and well maintained with friendly staff. Lots of trees We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
Overall this was a very nice campground. They have many (if not most) pull-through sites but only a few are 50amp. The staff was friendly and courteous. The sites seemed spacious. Our full-service, 50amp pull-through was a VERY nice site (#52). Even though this worked well for our stay, I couldn't give higher for the following reasons: 1.) all sites are sandy. I realize the soil in this area is sand, but gravel could be added; 2.) There was only one dumpster, not a far walk, but also not convenient; 3.) If you are looking for kids activities you might be disappointed. Restrooms and showers seemed very clean. We would go back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Can't believe previous reviewers stayed at the same place. Campground is on a hill which usually means trouble. Site we were assigned was not level and we didn't see many/any that were. Stepped out of coach into dirt-sand, very messy. We were lucky it didn't rain. One night was plenty. Never again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
Nice clean KOA. Lots of families and kids but very well behaved. Great site with nice wooden patio. Staff was out standing. Did not like the fact that you got one hour a day free for WiFi and had to pay $9.95 a week for unlimited time for that week. For what they charge it should have been included. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Higgins Lake/Roscommon KOA
Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   6   7   8   5   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Lovely state park conveniently located a short drive off US127 freeway. We stayed one night. The sites are grass, dirt, and level. Short walk to the lake. The bathrooms and showers were clean. Verizon cell/Mi-Fi strong. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
I love this campground. It gets 8 out of 10 simply because it's not a full hook-up campground, but on the lines of a state park this place is great! Since my family has a cottage down the street we were able to scout the campground for the best sites before booking our trip. As others have stated, it's best to pick a site furthest from the entrance and main road. The section of East campground where we camp have trees and bushes on the sites easily made even more private depending where you position your camper. There are grassy sites, read the site descriptions thoroughly. The clusters of sites in certain sections of the campground make good opportunities for group camping too. The grounds are clean, bathrooms satisfactory, and staff is friendly. A great family campground indeed. Higgins Lake is rated one of the 10 clearest lakes and is great for swimming and boating. We plan on returning to this campground for many years to come! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Overall, this is a nice place to stay. When we first arrived, our reservation was for a site that had a fire pit full of trash. The employee at the ranger station apologized and said that was unusual, then moved us to a different site. The new site was much nicer. We recommend reserving a site farther into the park, not right near the entrance. There is only one sewer drain at the sanitation station, so at check-out time you have to wait in line. We like this State Park, though, and it's just a short walk down a foot path to the lake. The lake is great for swimming because it's shallow so far out. The campground hosts were very friendly. We have camped here 3 years in a row and will probably camp here many times in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for North Higgins Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
Quiet campground with lots of trees. One row for big rigs has no trees, but you park on concrete pads with sewer and of course it costs more. The other sites are totally surrounded by trees and caution is required to get in and out. These other sites are not level and it can be a challenge to level your rig. The owners are friendly and will guide you to your site. We paid $29 for 30 amp and water at an un-level site. I also needed an extension cord to get to the electrical box which was a long distance away on the curb side. There are no discounts given. I feel the park is overpriced We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
approx 30
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Our kayaking group stayed here while we paddled the area, and the friendly and knowledgeable owner did a wonderful job of placing us all together, tenters and RVers alike. The sites are very wooded and feel nicely "private." I'm not sure this place accommodates big rigs since my Class C scraped a few overhead tree branches as I drove in; but my site was roomy enough and level. The park was at capacity, with the happy sounds of people and kids having fun; but at Quiet Time, the owner makes the rounds and the campground gets peacefully quiet. Paddle Brave offers canoes/kayaks/tubes for rent; and the crystal-clear river is a paddler's dream. We will absolutely be back next year!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
The owners were wonderful. There is a canoe livery on site and the owner was very knowledgeable and helpful. The sites are rustic and very "woodsy". We had a great weekend and canoe trip. There is a nice camp store too. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   5   3   5   10   7   1   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  no  yes  no  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  no  yes  no  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
This is a beautiful park with an excellent beach and boat launch. The campsites are small but most of the state campgrounds are the same. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Crowded, noisy, and rumors of a big fight the night before. Hey, it's a party place with plenty of drinking, barking dogs, and noise. Fairly level, shady, and asphalt roads breaking up. Big rigs could be challenged. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
We haven't been here for many years, and were apparently remembering it differently than it actually is. The sites were VERY small, tight, poor roads, with people running all over everyone else's site. In any event, this campground is more suited to tents, popups, and other small campers, and to younger folks with kids. If you're looking for fun with the kids, this would probably be the place for you, but if you're looking for peace and quiet, it isn't. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for South Higgins Lake State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com