206704 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
2.36 miles NW
12.93 miles NW
17.12 miles NE
17.82 miles NE
19.25 miles SE
23.24 miles S
30.61 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Chippewa County Internati
6.65 miles SW
Wal-Mart
4516 I-75 Business Spur
13.18 miles N
Michigan
Sault Sainte Marie
Most Recently Reviewed
Aune-Osborn Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-16 18:17:22
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   4   9   10   9   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
We arrived the weekend after Labour Day and the park was full, only 4 spots left. It's a nice park, lots of places to walk the dogs. We had a shaded spot along the road, but the rest of the grounds were quite open. There are park benches along the water to sit and watch the huge ships passing by. It was easy access to the locks and other points of interest. The park was clean. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
We stayed 4 nights and really loved this open park. It really IS on the river and can see the 800 ft freighters go by. The only drawback is no sewer but we would stay here again in a heartbeat. The washer and dryers were newer and the room was immaculate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This is a great park, well located to allow us to watch ships traveling up and down the river on the way to the Sault Ste. Marie locks. The park staff were extremely helpful and prompt when dealing with issues. We had problems with the power to our site when we arrived, and they had an electrician out and the repair completed within 30 minutes! The only reason I didn't rate this park a 10 is because there's no sewer hookup at the sites. There are, however, two dump stations on the grounds that are easily accessed. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Aune-Osborn Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2007
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$1
This park has closed. The land is reportedly being developed as the new site of a WalMart SuperCenter. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
A nice campground for a home base to see the area. Owners are very nice. They also provide a pet walking service, too. Had a nice time there. Should note that they are in the process of trying to sell the campground, and if they do, the above statements, might not apply. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Nice campground, but not much to do for the kids. The owners were very nice and helpful with great coupons for events and activitys around the locks! Owners are working to upgrade the campgrounds! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Chippewa Campground
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   1   3   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
If you're looking for a Resort or lots of amenities, then this is not the place for you. We enjoyed it as we don't require much and it is quite close to the Soo Locks and day trips to Eastern U.P. of Michigan. If you like Casino's this is the place to stop. They gave each of us, my husband and I, 3 free nights of camping which would have been $10.00 for each night and they have promotions that are pretty good too. The Manager is a very nice person and quite accommodating. Their showers and bathrooms are nice and very clean. They do have a single washer and dryer in the Ladies Room. We came in for 2 nights and stayed 4 due to taking the day trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Well let's just say it was adequate for a few days. It is right next to the casino and that is handy. There is no water and no sewer. There is a dump station and a hose in the campground to fill your water tank. Lots of grass and it was in need of mowing. It is very close to the Soo Locks so that was good. There is no pool in the campground but you do have access to the pool at the hotel. We would stay here again for a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
This has to be the worst park I have been in, hardly any sites are level and most have deep mud holes, stay clear if rain is in the forecast! There is NO maintenance being done. The host says park anywhere and he has no idea who or where is there. They have Wi-Fi but it hasn’t worked for awhile. They have no rules or regulations and we parked a crossed from a trailer that had five people in it with three large dogs they left tied outside the trailer, if not lose, that barked all the time. It was only $10 a night which was too much. Pass this one up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Kewadin Casino Hotel and Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   8   10   2   8   1   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
A very pleasant place right on the river. Family owned for decades. Rate varies with distance from the river. Very convenient to the locks and museums. Kind of long for a walk, but easy by bike to everything that matters. We were there two nights (long for us) in a small motorhome. The morning coffee is a real nice thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Our stay was at the beginning of the season, so sites were readily available. Wi-Fi was good; fun watching the tankers going up and down the river. Very clean and well maintained campground. Would recommend it for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Its hard to review this campground because the people running it are all very nice people, and knowledgeable, but the park is what it is.. SOO Lakes Campground is an older one with infra-structure that needs updating, so those nice people must be very frustrated, as were we. This Labor Day weekend the park was nearly full so its apparent that it will survive, but not without problems. The electricity is inadequate throughout much of the park with only 30 amp connections, but worse than that, when a few air-conditioners begin to run on warm days the voltage gets pulled down drastically, potentially causing situations which could cause electronic damage to newer rigs. One camper had an electrical management system which was designed to cut off power to his motorhome at 104 volts, and that system terminated power to his rig four times in about twenty minutes. He used a voltmeter at the pedestal and verified that his system was giving accurate voltage readings, confirming the cut-off point. The owner of the park used his voltmeter and the two readings were almost identical. Voltage below 104 volts could adversely affect the air conditioning units that most RV's have, for example. I wouldn't want my HD TV sets running on voltages that low. There is also very high water pressure in this park, and pressure regulators are a must, but there was no indication from the owners of this high pressure which we think is somewhat negligent on their part. We actually saw two hoses explode while visiting the park. At a minimum, a notice posted by the campground when checking in the campground concerning this water pressure could be posted to help prevent this situation. The Wi-Fi in the park seems to be non-functional most of the time, and we were forced to use a Verizon card which had nearly reached our monthly data limit. The campground's system would have been very helpful if it had worked, but alas it did not, for us anyway. Other RV owners that we talked to confirmed this situation. On the positive side, there are about fifteen sites facing the St. Mary's River which are beautiful sites. and are available provided reservations are made in advance. We suggest several weeks ahead, and some folks stay there for the summer and actually book those sites months in advance. We might stay here again, but would want to know that the site that we selected had an upgraded electrical system. Otherwise, we cannot recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Soo Locks Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com