206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Albert Lea, Minnesota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.84 miles NE
16.20 miles SE
18.91 miles NW
19.62 miles E
21.83 miles NE
30.01 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
City Hall
Albert Lea
0.32 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
I-35 Exit 11
1550 Blake Ave
2.28 miles NE
T/A (Shell)
I-35 X11
2.73 miles NE
Ochee Yahola County Park 4 E
12.66 miles SE
Dahle County Park
16.37 miles SW
Minnesota
Albert Lea
Most Recently Reviewed
Myre-Big Island State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-02-10 22:53:14
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   4   8   8   7   8   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This was an older average KOA which would suffice for a couple of days layover. The exterior of the office needs some repair and paint which would help somewhat. The dump station is on the wrong side, if your rigs hose is on the drivers side. Water pressure is so-so. Might stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Borders the I-90 freeway and a corn field. The drive in was a dirt road. Arrival into park was a dirt road. They were clearly making an effort to smooth and raise the driveway into park. At check-in, we were greeted by friendly staff, encouraging us to use our points. They are the first individuals to actually ask if we wanted to use our points. Not paying attention to the reward amount, I was excited to find that we had in excess of $50! They provided us with the value kard reward booklet. We checked out the store and laundry. Adequate supplies you may need. In addition, lots of beading items. They actually made the necklaces and other jewelry themselves. Our site was #61 and it overlooked what was once a corn field. It was a pull-through, full hook up 50 amp. The roads were dirt in the entire park. Grass and a few trees separated each site. The pet run was directly across from 30 amp full hookup and 30/50 amp full hookup sites which consisted of 14 sites. Further investigation showed a play area for the kids with a mixture of new and outdated equipment. The pool area was fenced in and overlooked private property and the freeway. The restrooms/showers and laundry were well kept and clean. It appeared that they were cleaned more frequently than the posted time. The roads and grass were wet and accumulated water made areas either squishy or muddy. This is not the campground's fault. It had rained for 6 days. We flushed out our hose before hooking to the motorhome and could not get clean water to come out. It rained that much apparently. Sites were level and adequate in size. We overnighted here and would stay again if necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
This is a primitive park with dirt/grass sites and mostly 30-amp service with no sewer. And for all this luxury, they charge about $40 per night. We were assigned a spot that did not have a 30-amp circuit breaker. There was a hole where the breaker had been. It was covered with black electrical tape. Management explained that instead of replacing the breaker, their electrician used a fuse. We moved to another spot. Then the next day, while my wife was washing the breakfast dishes, air started coming out of the hot water faucet: more air than water! We found that the water faucet for our site (and several others) was the culprit. Management was very responsive, and called their plumber. Without asking, management gave us a full refund. While the refund was a nice gesture, we would rather have flawless (and full) utilities for $40 per night. We will never stay here again. If you do, make reservations: the park fills up quickly due to its proximity to I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Albert Lea / Austin KOA
Camp Information
Sites
325
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
We stayed here for only one night on our way to Sioux Falls. The site we used was level and had 50 amp service and good water pressure. It was a concrete slab that we could stay hooked up on. Other sites are on grass in a nice shady area. The roads are good, the park is quiet and we felt safe as we were the only people on the fairgrounds at night. We would use this park again if we needed a night or two in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
For $15 as it used to be I would rate it 9, for $20, as we paid, 8. Nice little park on the fairgrounds. Park on grass, most sites with shade. Make sure to have a long electric cord as electrical hook up is far away (30 amp only). No sites are level, some worse than others. Albert Lea, while a little run down, is a fun town to explore. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
This was a terrific find for those of us who don't want playgrounds and swimming pools and don't want to pay for them! Lovely shaded sites. As is typical at a fairgrounds lots of room to roam and walk and always something going on! The fairgrounds is about 1 1/2 miles from a grocery store and a Wal-mart is a few miles away. We would most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Had a nice pull thru site with plenty of room between sites. Owners were very friendly. Campground is close to Austin, MN home of the SPAM museum which is a must see. Roads were gravel, but it had rained so not too dusty. Older park but seemed to be kept up. There were some very large KOA cabins there that looked very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Was bummed out about the mile long dirt road leading to the campground. But once we pulled in it was well worth it. Mostly seasonal sites but they do have like 28 for "travelers." Owners couldn't have been nicer and the pool is probably the biggest we have seen, great office with very good pizza. Seasonal campers are very friendly. Overall just a very relaxing place to spend a couple days. Best campground we have been to in south central MN. Forgot to mention the big and VERY grassy sites. We will go back for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Note: our rate reflects a holiday rate. Nice, clean campground in remote rural location. Owners were very friendly. Were surprised at how quiet the campground was, given there are so many seasonals and it was a holiday weekend. The dirt road leading in to the campground had many ruts and soft spots due to recent heavy rains. Nice pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Hickory Hills Campground
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   10   8   9   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Twenty six per night was for a 30 amp electric site. In addition, there is daily parking permit of $5 or you can purchase an annual MN state parking pass for $25, which is good for 12 consecutive months from the date of purchase. Many recreational opportunities are available in the surrounding areas including biking/hiking trails. Campground is within manageable driving distances for shopping and other activities. Spacing between sites is generous and most sites are level or need only modest leveling. Sites range from full shade to full sun. We received three bars of 4G on our AT&T phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
Very nice state park. Nice hiking trails and bike trail that goes into Albert Lea. Staff friendly and helpful. Shower house on the island campground is in need of updating. White Fox campground bath/shower house is great. Would have given a higher rating but the roads in both campgrounds are in awful shape with potholes. Trees hanging low and need to be trimmed back. They need to realize that rigs are higher these days and people don't appreciate tearing things off the roof and scratching sidewalls. Non-campers should not be allowed to drive through the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Not all spots are perfectly level, but with a few blocks we got our RV leveled fine. Wonderful wide sites, gravel pads, and good electric. There is no water at each site, but many places where jugs can be filled. Restrooms were modern and quite clean. Great hiking on maintained trails. Two campgrounds: White Fox is good for larger RVs, more open, and easier to navigate. Big Island is tighter, very wooded, sites seem smaller/cramped, but great for a popup or tent. Good firewood $5 at ranger station. Good Verizon 4G signal in White Fox (likely from Albert Lea) and AT&T cell phone had some service too. A very nice place to come! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Myre-Big Island State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com