223259 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Currie, Minnesota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.20 miles NW
28.75 miles SE
30.09 miles SW
32.79 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Laura Ingalls Wilder Pag
12.86 miles N
Laura Ingalls Wilder Mus
12.86 miles N
Minnesota
Currie
Most Recently Reviewed
Lake Shetek State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-17 03:01:20
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Currie, Minnesota
Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
Very nice park with a new section of full hookup sites. They have 32 new sites that are all full hookup sites. The new sites, some of them backup to the woods and others are out in the open. No low hanging trees, as it is new, and no shade. The sites all are very spacious in the new section. The old section with the electric sites are a little smaller, but are well shaded and more private. Plenty of wildlife. We were seeing deer every time we went for a walk. A nice park overall and we will return. We stayed in a full hookup site. Only downsides were the sewer pipe was about 8-9 inches above ground and makes it difficult to drain your tanks, and the lack of shade trees in the new area we stayed in but did enjoy the big open sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
A great location for a campground - a beautiful lake, plenty of hiking trails, and some fascinating history to learn about in the area. We took advantage of a geocaching class held while we were there, and went to look for one of the caches hidden in the park. However, significant storm damage in the park from a few weeks back resulted in a huge pile of bulldozed trees being deposited on the cache site, and we were unable to extricate it. Considering this is Minnesota, we were expecting to be eaten alive by mosquitoes while sitting around the campfire, but were pleasantly surprised at the lack of biting bugs. The bathrooms are great - updated and very clean, which was notable because the campground was packed while we were there. In addition to taking advantage of the park itself, our family enjoyed learning about the local history (1862 Sioux Uprising) and traveling to nearby Walnut Grove to visit the site where Laura Ingalls Wilder's family had a dugout on Plum Creek. The downsides to this campground: the sites were really packed closely together, at least where we were camped at site 19. Our site was difficult to back into and had a big, muddy puddle at its entrance that was still holding quite a bit of water after three days. The electrical outlet was positioned oddly at our site, and the fire pit was so close to our camper, we had some ash burn a hole in our canvas. Or maybe that was ash from the fire in the next campsite, which was immediately outside our windows on the other side! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Most sites are not level. Campsite is shady yet not heavily wooded. Restrooms and showers were clean, and with two facilities, in close proximity to all campsites. Nice view of Lake Shetek through trees. Sites are various sizes; some offer more privacy than others. Campground host and rangers were accessible and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lake Shetek State Park
Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
A very nice campground. Many activities are available such as game room, mini golf, Saturday night family movies, and swimming. This campground is well maintained and owners go out of their way to make you welcome. The sites are comfortable and roomy. Ours had a nice view of the lake. Also, there are many areas to take a walk and there's a very nice dock. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This facility is not at all like described on the website. It is accessible by gravel road and is essentially a farmstead (which someone was fortunate enough to have on a lake) that has been converted to a "so-called" RV park. The RVs are so close to each other that there is little privacy and the "lakeside" sites are cramped next to a steep and weedy dropoff to the lake. When it became aware there was a demand for cramped and so-so RV stalls, the owners simply went to an open grass area nearby and added more close together unimproved sites. Too bad, since there was potential for a nice RV park, but the choice to cram them in to get more money seemed to be the priority. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com