206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Duluth, Minnesota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.79 miles SE
10.90 miles SE
29.11 miles SW
31.77 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
3M/Dwan Museum
10.15 miles SE
Grampa Woo
10.23 miles SE
Depot Museum
10.28 miles SE
Split Rock Lighthouse
10.36 miles SE
Two Harbors Lighthouse &
10.37 miles SE
Edna G Tugboat
10.50 miles SE
Minnesota
Duluth
Most Recently Reviewed
Indian Point Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-29 16:15:53
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Duluth, Minnesota
Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We found the park had nice big well leveled spaces. Nice shade. The trains were a problem, loud and often. Only portable toilets in our area. Showers were new and clean but in a different area of the camp, however, you had to pay for each shower .50 - .75 each. Bar and restaurant was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Un-remarkable. Mostly permanent residents. Just fine for an overnighter and not a vacation stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
I guess there are no previous remarks because this place is so unremarkable. Sites are gravel on mud (with leaky taps) in a field behind a CW bar. Don't pay for the sewer connection unless your pipe is at the extreme aft end of your rig: with my mid-mounted pipe I had to use the dump station, which is slanted the wrong way. The new restrooms are huge, modern and spotless. Overall an OK place for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   6   8   8   7   10   7   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
The campground itself was very pretty and had trails that hooked up to local hiking trails where we geocached a couple times. It was poorly run, however. The office was closed when we arrived so the only assistance we had checking in was from the wife of the camp host that really had no idea what was going on. The site we were given was basically a giant mud puddle so we asked to move to one of the many empty sites available, which she begrudgingly allowed us to do. Because the campground was mostly empty Canada geese had overrun the place and therefore so did their droppings so we really didn't hang out outside much. My husband used the restrooms once and then forbid me from even entering the building because they were so gross - and coming from my unsqueamish hubby - that's saying a lot. Thankfully we were just passing through so we only stayed here one night. Probably wouldn't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Stayed here for two nights in early August. Large park-like setting with dense woods around the perimeter. The pull thrus and 50 Amp power books early so we ended up with a back in 30 Amp with water which was on the perimeter closest to the St. Louis River. The sites are adequate but can be a challenge to level your larger rigs as many of the perimeter spaces are not very flat. The 30 Amp power was good and we had no problems with our appliances but didn't run any of the AC units as it was cool outside at night. The staff is very friendly and will do whatever they can to make your visit enjoyable. Just don't be alarmed when your GPS starts routing you through a residential neighborhood - the park is at the end of the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
The park located near I35 is located on the ST Louis River. It has large mature trees with reasonable shade. Only a few sites have sewage, but most have water and electric. We use 30 amps, but I saw 50 amp rigs in the park. The park and grounds are maintained and clean. The sites are not large but reasonable; the pads are gravel and reasonably level. It’s a dog friendly park, with abundant area to walk your dogs, especially on the river. We connected to DTV from our site (34). Connection looks possible from most sites. Version cell signal was 3 bar (4G). The restrooms and showers are okay. They are reasonably clean, but could be better. One of the two sinks was stopped up. The laundry area is neglected and untidy; the equipment is old and rundown. The park is not exceptional, but not-ordinary either. I would certainly come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Indian Point Campground
Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
2002
Latest Rate
$25


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Pretty good setting if you want to do some fishing. Good piers and boat ramp. Very bad road into camp. Not close to any areas such as shopping or restaurants. Gravel areas to park in and some grassy dirt areas with small swimming area at lake. Park was sort of old style and good sites had fulltimers or seasonals in them. It was clean and the lake was pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We like this campground because of the big sites and privacy. The campground is new, so they don't have showers/bathrooms yet. They do have a dump site, but no water hooked up there yet. Not sure about the pump service. We spoke with one seasonal guest who said he pumps himself out, as it never seems to get done when he asks. There isn't a playground, but lots of kids biking and playing with the big sites. The lake is across the highway from the campground, which is a little inconvenient, but there's a beautiful public beach there. Location is nice with Island Lake and Boulder Lake right nearby, as well as many other lakes within minutes. A short drive/bike from the campground, you'll find a couple of bars/restaurants, an ice cream shop, and a convenience store with gas and groceries. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   4   7   7   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  no  no  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  no  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We liked this park and wished we had more time to spend there. The campground is nothing more than a parking lot for RVs, but the sites have plenty of room for our RV and Jeep and we were able to put out our awnings with plenty of room to spare. The sites are paved and the utilities worked well. Water pressure is very high so put your regulator on your hose inlet. The Wi-Fi was fast most of the time. You have to drive through a tourist area and the streets were tight and busy but we didn't have any problems getting to the campground. It was great to watch the ships and the Aerial Bridge. We road our bikes to the shops and the tourist areas. The host was friendly and very helpful. We would stay her again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
Tough to rate. It's right on the harbor and fun to watch ships and boats of all types coming and going. Easy walk to the Canal Park area with shops, restaurants, maritime museum, lakeside boardwalk, beaches,etc. And the lift bridge is quite fascinating to watch. The area takes on a whole new look a night so walk in after dark too. The park however is just a parking lot with hookups. Showers/restroom is a portable thing and not very clean. Cramped quarters and tricky access and parking. Your picnic table looks right at your neighbors sewer. Some TV on the antenna. Owner friendly with tips on what to see and how to get there. I would probably stay again only because of the location, but it's not the nicest park we've used. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Back for our yearly July 4th stay. Never gets old staying here. Contruction has finally started on the Hotel, can't wait to get real bathrooms/showers and laundry back. WiFi still needs to be upgraded. 3G MiFi works fine if you have it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lakehead Boat Basin
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
What this c/g lacks in amenities, it makes up for in hospitality. We were the only transients there and were made to feel like family. The site was large, but only had 30amps. There is a boat launch and a small laundry - one machine each. Coffee and baked goods every morning. Good fishing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This campground has a lot of seasonal/permanent rigs. Probably about 50%. At first glance we weren't sure about it, but it turned out to be an okay place. It was very quiet, and the people were friendly. The river ambiance was nice, and our site was level. The rate for full hook-ups can't be beat. Cash or check as they do not take credit cards. Some kids were here, so kids are welcome, but no playground or pool. Most of the people were older. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   1   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
While we thoroghly enjoyed the park itself we were horrified to discover ticks on us and our dog. From merely walking through the campground, on the road, we all found ticks when we returned to our trailer. The park is beautiful and serene but I can never stay there again because of the ticks. It was unbelievable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
The best thing this place has going for it is its location and natural setting in the woods. Beyond that, it needs some work. We enjoyed having a quick drive to Duluth and other area attractions. We also enjoyed sitting at our site among the trees and usually only hearing wildlife, although occasionally you could hear the distant hum of I-35. The facilities themselves are in need of upgrades and care. First, the utilities for most sites are on the wrong side of the camper, forcing you to run your electric and water across the site and underneath the camper. Several sites are unlevel and in some cases too close to their neighbors (while others enjoyed a lot of separation.) Be sure to know the layout of your site before booking as some are so close together that they are really only meant for group camping with one camper backed in, one pulled in. Even more sites were so small that only a tent would fit, let alone your car- and I'm not referring to the walk-in sites either! It's almost as though the sites were put anywhere space could be found and without the needs of campers in mind. There are bright streetlights that are left on 24-7 (so much for being "green") and are annoying at night when you're trying to watch the stars. Some of the lights are burned out (lack of maintenance) which was fortunate for us since one was right at the front of our site. The front office was hardly ever open so if you need firewood or other basic supplies, expect to go in town. The dump station was difficult to use because the road was lower than the drain; I had to constantly raise my sewer hose up and down in order to empty the tanks. Our biggest disappointment was with the bathrooms. They were clearly NOT cleaned on a regular basis as we observed the same trash (whiskers, toothpaste, hair) in the sinks and showers for several days before they were cleaned. The shower curtains themselves were stained with black mold. There was no hand soap or any way to dry your hands. We watched the cleaning lady one day sweep out the restrooms (not mop) while her car was running, so that shows you how much attention was paid to maintaining the bathrooms. Overall we were disappointed. This place could be so much more if it was maintained better and some of the sites were reworked. It's really a shame because if they did make the improvements, it would be one of the nicest places around in a beautiful part of our country. Too bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$18
Beautiful scenery with wildlife. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Spirit Mountain Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com