219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Ely, Minnesota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.52 miles SW
17.07 miles SW
28.68 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Tic
Ely
2.19 miles NE
Minnesota
Ely
Most Recently Reviewed
Bear Head Lake State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-02 19:00:11
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Ely, Minnesota
Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   9   9   10   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Very nice State Park. Sites are private with good screening in between. Some sites are a bit tough for larger rigs. Bathroom / shower buildings are clean. Boats / electric motors as well as canoe's and Kayaks can be rented. The lake is clean and the fishing excellent. Dump station is easy to access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Beautiful, family friendly campground. Sites are small, but fairly private with brush and trees separating each site. Roads are gravel and narrow. A large rig may have trouble. Bathrooms with flush toilets and showers were relatively clean and well maintained. Because this is such a beautiful and popular destination area, there were many inexperienced campers who did not always know or follow campground etiquette. (Unsupervised small children wandered into our campsite several times.) The trails and lakes are beautiful. You can rent a canoe or boat, or hike many wonderful trails. We recommend the Norberg Lake hike (3miles) and, outside the park, the Kawishiwi River Falls (1 mile) hike. Both have beautiful scenery and are relatively easy hikes. The swimming beach is wonderful. The small town of Ely (pronounced e-lee) describes itself as the coolest small town in America. With all the unique shops, they may be right. Don't miss the Brandenburg gallery. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We camped here over the 4th of July but have been here before. Sites 51-73 now have electricity (25-50 are were already electric). However, sites 51-73 are pretty small and would probably only accommodate tents or pop-ups. Most sites offer decent privacy (I almost wish ours #47 had less because our view out of the site was almost completely blocked). We were able to pick blueberries and raspberries, fish, hunt for crayfish, and swim at the nice swim beach. Bathrooms are nice and water was warm and abundant. We rented a boat and electric motor easily and had a great time on the lake. There is so much to do here. Ely is still about 15 miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Bear Head Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$22


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   9   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Pretty, wooded sites with lots of amenities for a National Forest Service campground. Very nice bathrooms/showers, helpful folks at office. Many sites pretty tight for bigger rigs. Ok beach. Fall is a 'brown' lake (tinted by tannin in the water) with a very popular boat launch. Large, attractive group areas. Little or no TV service with antennae; Verizon broadband service mediocre at best. You are in the boonies here; stock up in Ely on the way out. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$13
We stayed in site 17, a nice back-in site with satellite reception. Our 36' motorhome fit easily. Restrooms and showers were very clean and well maintained. Access for canoeing or kayaking on Fall Lake and into the Boundary Waters Canoe Wilderness was excellent. The trees and fall colors were very nice. Ely, Minnesota is only 10 minutes away for shopping, gas, and the only dump station in the area. Be sure and fill your water tank and have empty holding tanks if staying very long. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
One of the best National Forest Service campgrounds in the country. We live full time in our 40 foot MH with 4 slides and we stay here twice a year . There are several sites big rigs will fit into , although it might take some work to get into them. There are huge pull thoughs as well as back ins. You are right next to the BWCA Wilderness. Its a nature lover's paradise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fall Lake Campground
Camp Information
Sites
4
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Moose Track Adventures is a Backcountry Outfitter that provides camping, guided trips, and outfitting for the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. The campground has 4 spots: two lakeside and two lakeview. One lakeside site (#2) has 30 amp electric, all others have 20 amp. Park your rig facing the lake and leave your front window shades open. Enjoy the call of the loons as you sit by the fire enjoying an adult beverage. There are 6 cabins with accommodations for 6 people. The showerhouse (1 Male/1 Female) has no privacy once you're inside, so you need to lock the door which keeps others from using it. Hosts are GREAT. They have canoes/boats/everything you need for a wonderful time boating/fishing/backcountry adventuring. Kids activities are mostly waterborne: swimming, etc. This is a real find! We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
This is a nice little resort on a beautiful lake. The sites were large, level, well shaded and right on the lake. The owners are friendly and helpful. The best part about this resort is the lake, it's nice and clean with a sandy bottom and is shallow a for long way out. My only complaint about the weekend would be the screaming kids in the cabin next door, but that's not the campground's fault. I will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This is a resort with 4 campsites and 6 cabins on Farm Lake in the heart of Ely. Sites 1 and 2 are lakefront sites, while sites 3 and 4 are more wooded. Shower house is older, but clean. This resort also offers boat/motor and canoe rental. Nice friendly owners in the second year owning the resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   2   7   1   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We had a great time camping at Silver Rapids campground for a week. We had a site on the lake. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The sites are a little close together, but the view was worth it. We had a wonderful time visiting the Bear and Wolf habitat and the small town of Ely. We definitely would recommend this campground to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed here 3 nights. The first night we stayed at the non sewer sites which are on the lake and have a beautiful view. It is spoiled though by the constant noise from a highway that runs past the campsite. The sites are very narrow though and your awning practically touches the slide of the next camper. The sites are not very deep and with our 26' trailer there was little room to park our truck. Electrical hookup is 20 amp and has no breaker! There are two outhouses that smell terrible and have a couple full fly strips in them. There is a bath house which you have to cross the highway to get to. It has a flush toilet with a non locking stall door and decent showers. The towel dispenser went a day with no towels. There is no dump station. The next day we moved to a full hookup site. To get to it we had to drive up a rutted dirt road. The site was larger than the lakeside site and still had a lake view. The 30 amp hookup again had no breaker! From this site you can still hear the highway but it is not as bad. There is a game room with a pool table, a pinball machine and a couple antique video games. There is also a flush toilet that was plugged. The best thing we found was a huge sauna. We got no TV stations and while a wireless internet search found a signal for Silver Rapids they claimed they had no internet access when we asked for the security key. Not a big deal when you are looking to get away from it all. We decided to leave a day early and on our first day we asked to cancel our last day and they refused to refund our money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
We drove by the entrance to this campground since no signs indicating where to go were provided. Went to the office and they said only the lake front sites were available with water and 20 amp electricity. Our 35' motorhome would not fit between their road and the shoreline without sticking out into the access road. We went back to the office and the owner said 45' motorhomes have parked here. I don't believe it! We drove to the end of the access area with a hard time turning around so that we could park at one of the two sites that would take up less of the road. Since we were the only motorhome there and one other tent trailer I guess space was OK. They have no dump station here so you have to go into Ely to dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Silver Rapids Lodge
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$34


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
question
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
I drove our 36 footer with NO problems. Although the roads appear intimidating and are more narrow and curvy than I was accustomed, the turns are nicely wide and trees are trimmed of any heavy branches or anything that would mar our RV. Because I am not a confident backer, staff helped me back into our lot the first time. After that, I had no need! Even with double slide-outs, we had plenty of room for campfire, table, bikes, tiki-torches and kids. For this trip, I did not pull a car and drove the RV daily. Access to our site (#14) was not a problem. The staff was not just polite and professional, but friendly and personable as well. They were patient and helpful at the boat docks with the kids, not just "suck-uppy" to us adults. This is not a 'country club' resort, nor is that what we wanted. It is a GORGEOUS wooded campground with private lots. Owner and his staff do a wonderful job of making you feel welcome and 'served' without encroaching on your 'space'! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
The web pages made this sound pretty nice, but we didn't find it to our expectation level. First the roads in the campground were in need of maintenance. I worried about taking our Class A on them. There are some tight turns and wash-outs to watch for (esp the corner between #12 & 13 - turn, back, turn, back, and turn was needed to get around it). The campsites were not real pleasing to us: most were small and packed tightly together. Some pull-throughs (like #18) had significant slopes. Owner was quite pleasant. Many pop-ups were doing just fine in the sites. Owner advised us not to take our rig into sites 1..6 as we would have trouble turning around so we didn't see those. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This is an older resort that has designated three places that RVs can be parked. Interior roads are narrow with tight turns and overhanging branches making navigation difficult. Sites are uneven grass areas with electric hook-ups. Water was available at our site but the staff was uncertain if it was potable or if we could hook-up to it. A fee based dump station is available in Ely, but not at the park. AT&T phone and data signals were good in the area but TV was unavailable via cable, satellite or over the air. The grounds are very neatly maintained with a pool, lakefront, playground, sauna and tennis courts. It was a quiet base from which to explore Ely. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com