206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Grand Marais, Minnesota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.19 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Johnson Heritage Post A
1.19 miles SE
Minnesota
Grand Marais
Most Recently Reviewed
Golden Eagle Lodge
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-29 16:09:31
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Camp Information
Sites
21
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We really enjoyed our stay at Golden Eagle. At first they didn't want to take our reservation because we had 8 people staying in one camper but because it was off season they made an exception. They even moved us to a bigger camp site when we arrived to better accomodate our group. The bathrooms were amazing! Newly remodeled and generally always clean. The showers were so nice that I didn't even bother with my flip flops. There are trails all around which we spotted bear scat and moose tracks on but didn't see the critters themselves. The lake is beautiful, but we weren't able to get any bites off the dock. Cell service is non-existent but you know that if you're traveling up here. They do offer Wi-Fi and local telephone service in the camp store/lodge. Ice and wood were pretty expensive, however. We did attend an evening campfire inside their teepee and that was really cool. They had a local tell Native American stories and play a flute which the whole family enjoyed. They also provided roasters for us to make our smores on. We would definitely return, just wish they had sewer sites and a more robust Wi-Fi network. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Campground is 27 miles north of Grand Marais on the Gun Flint Trail. Sites are private and close to a lake. The positives are the beautiful surroundings and the remoteness. They have a great staff here as well. The negatives are the lack of useable WiFi and setup for turning around and getting in and out of some of the sites. Don't try to camp here with anything bigger than 36 ft. It's nearly impossible to get in and out of some of the sites. Also don't be fooled by the rate, they charge extra for everything. The bugs are bad also, but that is to be expected for this part of the country. Overall we had a good time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   6   9   8   9   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
The park is located close enough to allow you to walk into town to explore and shop. We stayed here two nights with the grandkids and they liked using the indoor pool that is next to the campground (small fee for daily use). We full-time in our RV with two cats. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Spent three nights here in early August and really enjoyed the facilities. The campsites are decent sized and reasonably level gravel which we had no trouble leveling the MH. The park was full and we had to change campsites on the last night but the hookups were easy and leveling was quick. The campground is close to town and we walked there several times a day. The staff was great and did everything they could to make our stay memorable. The views of the lake are terrific from some of the campsites and be sure to check the site map to choose a perimeter site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Reservation process for here was a problem. Due to taking courses at North House School we needed about 2 weeks. They only had space for some of the nights and said to call back to check on cancellations. Nothing came up, but we decided to stay for the first part anyway. The site we reserved did not have sewer hookup. When I checked in, I asked if a FHU site was available. She checked and found a waterfront site that was available and we could stay there two weeks. We did have to pay $4 more per night, but it was worth it. Our site had a gorgeous view of the harbor. Once in place our stay was wonderful. Sites are very large and fairly level. Utilities were good. Free Wi-Fi was hard to connect and very slow. A pay connection is available and we opted to pay for it. Much better speed. Campground is in easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. We were there July 4th and the fireworks were right in front of our site. Biking and walking trail goes right by the campground. Pool is indoors and is a community pool. Costs $4 per day. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Grand Marais RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Beautiful small campground/resort. Please note although address is Grand Marais it is 43 miles northwest on the Gunflint Trail. So far north that 1/2 of Gunflint Lake is in Ontario Canada. Pros: secluded setting, lake within yards, small camp store/gift shop on site, more upscale resort, restaurant/bistro, and riding stable 1/4 mile down road, walking trails, free canoe use, boat & pontoon rentals, VERY pet friendly. Cons: no phone/cell service, campsites are on the small side, bath house is old and water pressure weak. Will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Hungry Jack is 32 miles up the Gun Flint trail from Grand Marais. You must like remote camping. It has 14 RV sites and 14 cabins with a wonderful lodge sitting by the lake. There are only a few sites for big rigs. We were in site #7 and we loved it. The owners are really nice people and the staff are great people also. Wi-Fi is only available at the lodge. No cell phone service for Verizon. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com