223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Grand Marais, Minnesota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.19 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Johnson Heritage Post A
1.19 miles SE
Minnesota
Grand Marais
Most Recently Reviewed
Grand Marais RV Park & Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-14 21:37:13
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Camp Information
Sites
21
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
We really enjoyed our stay at Golden Eagle. At first they didn't want to take our reservation because we had 8 people staying in one camper but because it was off season they made an exception. They even moved us to a bigger camp site when we arrived to better accomodate our group. The bathrooms were amazing! Newly remodeled and generally always clean. The showers were so nice that I didn't even bother with my flip flops. There are trails all around which we spotted bear scat and moose tracks on but didn't see the critters themselves. The lake is beautiful, but we weren't able to get any bites off the dock. Cell service is non-existent but you know that if you're traveling up here. They do offer Wi-Fi and local telephone service in the camp store/lodge. Ice and wood were pretty expensive, however. We did attend an evening campfire inside their teepee and that was really cool. They had a local tell Native American stories and play a flute which the whole family enjoyed. They also provided roasters for us to make our smores on. We would definitely return, just wish they had sewer sites and a more robust Wi-Fi network. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Campground is 27 miles north of Grand Marais on the Gun Flint Trail. Sites are private and close to a lake. The positives are the beautiful surroundings and the remoteness. They have a great staff here as well. The negatives are the lack of useable WiFi and setup for turning around and getting in and out of some of the sites. Don't try to camp here with anything bigger than 36 ft. It's nearly impossible to get in and out of some of the sites. Also don't be fooled by the rate, they charge extra for everything. The bugs are bad also, but that is to be expected for this part of the country. Overall we had a good time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   8   9   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
Have stayed here several times. Lucky enough to get a lakefront site. Those are first come first serve and not reservable. However other sites are very nice and they all have fire rings also. Shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. Expect colder weather than anything you lookup on the weather apps. There is wifi available but it is quite pricey, something in the $10 a day range through a provider in town. (Admin note: free Wi-Fi at office) Great place to go and hosts are great too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Very beautiful area surrounding the park. Seems almost "oceanfront". Can walk or bike to small "artsy" town. Have stayed at "prettier" rv parks , but this one has its own personality and that is good. Wifi is good at park office only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
It is all about location and this campground has that. We were lucky enough to get a lake front site. And it was great. The harbor area is beautiful. The downtown area is a short walk with restaurants and shopping. We stayed a week and the rate reflects that price. During the week, nice and quiet, over the weekend lots of kids and quite crowded. Verizon and Sprint worked well. Lots of room to walk the pups. Variety of sites, from tents to big rigs. Some sites are a little close together and small. This will be one of favorite places to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Grand Marais RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We are newbie RVers and wanted to experience the great outdoors. This spot was perfect. We had a wonderful site with water and electric and, since we were kinda new at all of this, our host helped us quite a bit. The lake was gorgeous and we heard loons and coyotes at night. Shower house and bathrooms were spotless with plenty of hot water to remove the (very necessary) mosquito repellent (it's Minnesota in the summer, so mosquitoes are the norm.) One hour drive into Grand Marais for a day of shopping and great food. Hiking trails were fun, as was the museum at the end of Gunflint Trail. We love this campground and will definitely be back.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Beautiful small campground/resort. Please note although address is Grand Marais it is 43 miles northwest on the Gunflint Trail. So far north that 1/2 of Gunflint Lake is in Ontario Canada. Pros: secluded setting, lake within yards, small camp store/gift shop on site, more upscale resort, restaurant/bistro, and riding stable 1/4 mile down road, walking trails, free canoe use, boat & pontoon rentals, VERY pet friendly. Cons: no phone/cell service, campsites are on the small side, bath house is old and water pressure weak. Will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Hungry Jack is 32 miles up the Gun Flint trail from Grand Marais. You must like remote camping. It has 14 RV sites and 14 cabins with a wonderful lodge sitting by the lake. There are only a few sites for big rigs. We were in site #7 and we loved it. The owners are really nice people and the staff are great people also. Wi-Fi is only available at the lodge. No cell phone service for Verizon. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com