223416 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Lanesboro, Minnesota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.41 miles SW
20.05 miles SE
20.26 miles E
23.13 miles NW
27.50 miles NE
29.12 miles N
29.12 miles N
30.36 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Niagara Cave
14.77 miles SW
Minnesota
Lanesboro
Most Recently Reviewed
Eagle Cliff Campground & Lodging
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-10 16:39:45
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   7   8   8   9   8   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
This was not big rig friendly with very few full hookups, narrow gravel roads and grass sites. It seemed best for families and groups wanting to tube the river or bike the trails. Otherwise there's no pool, no restaurant, and a sparse store. Porta-potties here and there was one shower area far away (pay) which we didn't use. No 3G or even LTE connectivity. Internet: there is a service you pay for per day from a wifi company that only allows one device to be hooked up. Trying to change to another device is difficult and we are tech savvy. It's good for roughing it but we wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This campground was OK. There are a lot of seasonals near the full hookup sites. The staff wasn't very friendly but served their purpose for the most part. We had chosen this campground because we wanted to bike the root river bike trail, which is beautiful, but I wish the campground was a bit closer to it. In order to get to the paved bike trail we had to ride on the gravel shoulder of the highway about a mile or so to get there which wasn't ideal. The campsite itself was fairly small but nice and grassy but it appears the seasonals allowed their pets to use it as a bathroom because there was poop everywhere - which meant on our shoes and in our camper as well. Not cool. Our day trip by bike to Lanesboro was very beautiful however and we managed to pop into the local farmers market for some fresh desserts and amish goods. Good luck finding any type of grocery or drug store, we needed some cough syrup for my daughter and the closest we could get was some cold and flu liquid from the gas station. There was a wedding the Saturday night of our stay that celebrated the end of their night with fireworks, which was kind of cool - but I'm thankful they didn't set them off any later because it was pretty close to the kids' bedtime. We shut off the lights in the camper and watched the show though which was cool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
We stayed at this park with a 40' motorhome. We got a 50 amp site but the trees were too low to get in the spot, so we went to a 30 amp away from the trees. Voltage got down to 112 volts with only 1 AC; could not use the water heater (all electric coach) and 1 AC, at the same time. Water pressure was low. We would stay there again, because it was very large and open spaces where we were at. Nice river there too, hiking trails, but we did not use them. Used Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Eagle Cliff Campground & Lodging
Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This long and narrow park follows the banks of the Root River. The campsites are laid out along the river and in the center between the driveways. Signage is nearly non-existant consisting of a little sign on the mailbox opposite the entrance of the park. Google navigation takes you to the center of town: right highway but wrong location. Just head north and follow Highway 250 over a narrow bridge and take the first driveway to the right. They have one good size office/bathroom building with bathrooms that are clean. Showers are $.50 for 5 minutes. The grassy campsites are laid out along the river and in the center between the park's gravel roads with the permanent sites beginning after the park office. I did not see sites with sewer for short term guests. Many sites (particularly along the river) offer shade but you may need quite a bit of hose and electric wire to make use of it. There is more than adequate room between units for slide outs and awnings. Units can be placed anywhere on the grass lots. The lots are generally near level but uneven so RV's need to be placed carefully to be level. Firewood is available. Tubes, kayaks and canoes can apparently be rented (though I am not sure how.) The proprietor lives on the second level of the restroom building. There is no sign for the office so I had to ask to find out where to check in. The proprietor didn't remember my calling, but told me to pick a site. He wrote nothing down so probably doesn't remember who I am. We have been here for two nights so I still don't know how I check out, etc. He was nice enough but I am baffled by how laid back this all is. The proprietor is the only employee I have seen, but everything seems to work and the place is in decent repair so I guess it is working. Verizon 3G cell coverage was good. Sites along the river are back in but it looks like the sites in the center could be pull through. The Highway 250 campground is located in a rural setting at a distance from highways (rural with minimal traffic), etc., so it is generally quiet. Seasonally, if you are near the river you will hear tubers going by on the river. I understand that the campground can be crowded on weekends so noise from other campers might be an issue but during our July midweek stay it has been wonderfully peaceful. This campground is located between the gorgeous paved Root River Bike Trail which provides easy access to the delightful town of Lanesboro and the Root River. In addition to the great restaurants, shops and biking and river outfitters, Lanesboro is home to the wonderful Commonweal Theatre which offers professional theatre for much of the year. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   1   7   6   6   6   6   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Very nice campground. Grounds are very well kept, managers around quite a bit and helpful. They came around when there was any weather issue. Very strict with the quiet time. Beautiful area. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Old Barn Resort as a campground is a lot of fun. The sites are tighter than we have seen at other campgrounds with your neighbors picnic table less than 5 feet from our motorhome. We had a devil of a time leveling the motorhome on the grass site, which we did not have that issue at other grass site campgrounds we have been to. A lot of big dips and mounds in the site. The only real complaint is the gravel roads have washed out at the top of the hills leaving ravines and have basketball sized pot holes in spots which does keep the speed down. There were no bugs at all which is a huge plus especially at night. We did not use or go into the bathrooms but were next to them, and there was a constant stream of people in and out all day long. It would be hard to keep them fully stocked and spotless without a full time attendant. We ate at the bar/restaurant, and the food was good, and service was good considering how busy they were and only two servers. This weekend was the most fun we have had all summer! The access to the bike path is wonderful to bike for a short time or make a day of it! The path has spots to stop and rest, enjoy the view of the river, or have a picnic. The people we ran into were all very friendly and seemed to be having a great time. The tubing on the river appears to be a huge hit, and although we did not do that, plenty of others were! The golf course was very fun to play, with a nice mixture of long and short holes. Beautiful scenery. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Wow: was told quiet hours start at 10pm. The campground felt like downtown Minneapolis at 1AM. The party did not wind down until 4AM. We left at 6:30am. Off to Whitewater for some much needed sleep. I did receive a refund for the next booked night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Old Barn Resort
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We found this to be a very nice campground. Only about 1 block from the heart of the downtown district, so we walked or biked to our activities. The campground is part of a city park. The main campground road was paved, the sites are gravel and most seemed to be level. It was quiet and friendly. No reservations taken, first come first serve. Restrooms were not as modern or clean as we would have liked, although the 2nd set of restrooms/showers at the community center were much cleaner and more modern; they are located at the park entrance. Farmers market at the park on Saturday, and several Amish vendors all day Fri/Sat, so we had lots of fresh veggies and bakery items. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We camped here 3 nights. No reservations taken, it is just first-come-first-served. We got in Thursday morning and 3/4 of the sites were available. Thursday evening 1/2. Friday afternoon 1/4 and Friday evening it was full. Some sites are sloped: ok for a trailer but hard to get a motorhome level. Very poor cell phone coverage on Sprint and Verizon but none on AT&T or T-Mobile. Bath houses were adequate but small and needed updating. Showers cost 75-cents for 5 minutes of lukewarm water. Very easy walk to town for theater and dining (but we didn't find any of the restaurants exceptional). In addition to Sylvan Park, there is another local park. It also has sites with water & electricity but no "facilities," only a port-a-potty. If the sites were more level, had just a little more space, and better "facilities," this would be a 10! Tents are $15/night and MH & trailers are $25/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We camped here for 3 nights. The sites are grass with dirt and gravel where you park. There is a picnic table with each site and a fire pit near. Though the sites are smaller and you are somewhat close to your neighbors, it was not a noisy campground. There is a small fishing pond and a playground in the park which is next to the campground. We thoroughly enjoyed the campground but found the nearby showers not what we expected. There are two sets of showers, one in the campground and one near the Library / Community Center at the other end of the park. Firstly, they cost money and secondly they need some updating. We used the showers near the Community Center and, while there was a bench nearby for your clothes, etc., it was outside the shower in the main bathroom. Thus everyone must dress out in the open where there were people coming in to use the bathrooms. As I was going into the shower, a small boy was leaving with his mother. Imagine our surprise had he come in while I was changing. This campground is very convenient to the bike trail which is why we chose it. It is also in town and, should you need to do some last minute grocery shopping, there is a small grocery store in the town. There are also many shops and restaurants should you wish to shop. There is also a winery in town. Had the bathrooms and showers been nicer, this campground would have gotten a higher rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com