224251 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Preston, Minnesota (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.41 miles NE
23.79 miles NW
23.90 miles SW
29.15 miles SE
33.68 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Historic Forestville
7.95 miles SW
Maple Springs Cg Hwy
(507)552-2056
8.15 miles SW
Niagara Cave
10.67 miles S
Lidtke County Park 20 E/20 Ne
17.15 miles SW
Minnesota
Preston
Most Recently Reviewed
Forestville/Mystery Cave State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-07-22 11:09:30
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Preston, Minnesota
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
No reservations, first come, first served. Closed 7/19-24 for the Fair. One 50 amp next to building and six 30 amp. Water available. Dump. Two sites under trees. Relatively quiet except for a 5:30 am wake up as the local bus starts and runs for a half hour before leaving with the park and ride folks. Dogs loved the place as there are lots of critters around. An ace in the hole for us since we didn't have any reservations for the 4th weekend and everyplace was full. Nice bike/walking trail goes by CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
We had a great stay here at this campground. The sites were clean, as well as the bathrooms. There were many activities for the kids the park offered. I highly suggest the flashlight tour as well. One thing though...there is nothing around in the area. Bring what you need, because you will have to go without. There is also no cell service in the camp area...drive out and up the hill to get a signal. Fun place!!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
I find it hard to criticize any of the state parks in MN. Given that for busy weekends if you don't make your reservation literally 365 days in advance you may be out of luck is a good recommendation that these parks are great. Forestville has 3 campground loops. Each is unique - one for electric, one non-electric but very woodsy and inviting and one rustic, woodsy area. There is also a large horse camp further in the park and this may be one of the main attractions of the park. I anticipated not so great hiking due to very wet weather and shored hiking/horse trails. To my surprise the trails were pretty good. There are many easy loops for easy hiking. The only drawback if you can call it that is that if you go to bike the state bike trails. It's probably about 8-10 miles from the trailhead. The park and sites are very pleasant. I'd call this a relaxing campground. Fishing, morel mushroom hunting, etc... are popular. We camped in the electric loop and our site was very spacious and private. Worth it if you want to visit the Lanesboro area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Great campground with paved sites, excellent rest rooms, and individual showers. If you go after Labor Day, be aware that the tours of Forestville and Mystery Cave are only available on weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Forestville/Mystery Cave State Park
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   7   10   7   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Love this campground. Beautiful setting and very peaceful. Owners are friendly and helpful. The only drawback was that they do not have a dump station on site. But that's no real big problem because Forestville State Park is literally next door...and you can dump there for $5.00. Visit this campground..you will love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Friendly staff, okay campground. Internet is free, but not very good. Only water and electric - not even a dump on site. You would have to borrow a wheel-dump-tank, drain your tank then drag it over to the toilet to dump. Price reflects Passport America. We stayed only one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
The June 2009 review now makes sense. Some of the prior 10's must be self reviews or friends. Yes, it is a nice quiet protected valley in a scenic area. Sites are large grass backin's. Water is to the front and we needed 50' of hose. We saw no sewer sites or dump station, showers or laundry. The people here are very friendly. TV via batwing was ok, We had no service for our Verizon cell or broadband. Coming in on 118 make sure you slow way down when you see Maple road, park is near base of a fairly steep grade. We would come back, but would not recommend this for 40' rigs or larger. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Maple Springs Campground
Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
July 2008
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Sites "down the hill" were plenty big to have a campfire, park the bikes, and still have room for recreation. Great set ups if you have a trailer, and are camping with friends who only have tents. Several bathrooms make it a short walk. Having a bike here is a must, since the nearby trail is over 50 miles of great pavement, and plenty of geo-caches. We will come here again and make it part of the family campsite rotation! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
We opted for a "shaded" site up on the hill. These sites were absolutely tiny. We could hear every word at the campfires on either side of us. The pool was dirty and totally over run with unsupervised 9-12 year olds. Pay showers only had COLD water and bathrooms were NEVER cleaned the whole weekend. I am shocked that other reviewers liked this CG. It is on a beautiful bike trail in a great part of the state - location, location, location I guess. We will NEVER return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$27
We liked the CG, the barn has a fascinating history and was well worth preserving. As in most private CG's, the sites are too close together. Most sites have trees for shade and except for the rustic sites, they were level. Nice pool, enclosed for 3-season swimming. Golf course on site. Beautiful part of MN...very rural with rolling hills, Amish and lovely small towns. What we didn't like - no quiet hours enforcement. We had a rowdy party near us going on til midnight. PAY showers, hate those! Confusing office area. It's part of the restuarant and just not set up well at all. Tiny camp store outside in a shack with just basic munchies. You'd think in a very rural area with no large stores nearby that they would have a better camp store. Overall a nice place with some annoyances, but nothing that would stop us from going back once a year or so. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for The Old Barn Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com