220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hattiesburg, Mississippi (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
19.26 miles SE
23.91 miles SW
25.52 miles NW
27.61 miles NE
27.69 miles NW
30.72 miles SE
35.28 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wild Magnolia Restaurant
0.55 miles SW
William Carey College
1.48 miles SE
Chesterfield'S
1.55 miles W
Pat Harrison Waterway D
1.65 miles SW
Truck Service And Equipm
1.95 miles SW
Truck Service & Equipment 15 2 0
1.96 miles SW
Robby'S Seafood And Etc
2.02 miles SW
Cuco'S Mexican Restauran
2.04 miles S
Raul'S Mexican Restauran
2.48 miles W
Conestoga Steak House
3.81 miles S
Villies
5.84 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
5901 Hwy 49 S
7.22 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
6072 Us Hwy 98
7.22 miles W
Sams Club 6080 Us Hwy 98 (Located To Block)
7.24 miles W
Country Creek Rv Center
8.38 miles NW
Lake Walker Cg
10.19 miles SE
Recusa (Out?)
11.44 miles NW
Okatoma River Rv
(601)268-6600
11.48 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
805 Hwy 42
11.53 miles NE
Mississippi
Hattiesburg
Most Recently Reviewed
Okatoma Resort & RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-13 19:04:52
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
June 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
No sign anywhere for campground. We had rung days earlier to confirm if cable TV had ESPN as we avidly follow World Cup Soccer. They rang back to say they had ESPN. When we arrived, the ESPN was very grainy with no audio. Most other channels were grainy also. Very disappointing. Wi-fi worked fine. No extra charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
I've been here for several months working in the area. The store has hot meals and fast food. It has been real convenient because when I get home from working 10-12 hour days I don't feel like going anywhere. I call on my way home and pick the food up when I get in. People here are very nice. Don't know how much longer this job will last but I have made this place my home away from home. I've referred some buddies that stay here too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2014
$23
What's right: The sites are bigger than most private parks and are grassy. The grounds are professionally cared for. The roads are gravel. Some sites have concrete pads, others are dirt. Many have shaded yards for at least part of the day. The only amenity is a laundry room with 2 washers and 2 dryers. It is very clean. It is close to a state park where fishing and camping is allowed. It allows pets on leash and they are sticklers for this. Some tenants have sheds. Whats wrong: There were many old ratty RVs and trailers, and their sites looked as if they had been there quite a while gathering junk and trash. Several looked like hoarders. There was one really nice RV but next door was a dump with a three foot tall pile of trash. Tarps hung on roofs and fences from front to back. We spoke to a camper before we moved in who told us it was mostly military and disabled. But while I was there I had a lady who cooked drugs at night in her RV next to mine. An ex-HS teacher and his student girlfriend and their child. Asked to watch another elderly man's 23 year-old wife and report her activity to the office. And a couple on disability that looked like they were opening a junk store next to my RV. Prior to this there was the man who was allowed to rebuild a car in his lot including the priming and painting! Right next to another RV and across the street from one that looked expensive! All with the knowledge and/or consent of the park owners. Hence the cheap monthly rent of $295. I needed a place longer than I stayed but just could not keep feeling unsafe and like I was living in the twilight zone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Heading into the area we heard rain was scheduled to be heavy for 2 days. We looked for a place with paved roads and paved sites to stay for 2 nights until the rain passed. This was the perfect place for that, it even had a storm shelter on site. We have stayed at Fair Ground type of facilities before and do not have a problem with them. You know what you get. All hookups worked well, Sprint hot spot and clear satellite view. Plenty of room to walk the dogs. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
Learned of this campground on flyer at Mississippi Welcome Center. It is located at the county event center which appeared to have mainly livestock type events. It is quiet and well located to Hattiesburg. Sites are paved, but many are very sloped. The area is grassed but there are no trees. The hookups are at the far back of the site and require a long sewer hose. Restroom and showers are a long walk from campsites. You must make arrangements to stay during business hours and only cash is accepted. We would stay again only because of price and closeness to Hattiesburg. This is no frills. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   8   6   8   7   5   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$15
Very nice owners and staff who will accommodate your needs if at all possible. Nice long term sites with shade, some waterfront, several fishing ponds, swimming pool, and hot tub. Nice clubhouse with game room and billiard table, book exchange, camp store well stocked with basics and reasonably priced. Fresh local eggs and produce available on site or nearby. Cabins available and what we saw were very cute and comfortably furnished. There are gravel roads which are well kept and leveled after every rain, but can be bumpy during a rainstorm. This park is very well cared for as are its residents. This parks does not tolerate drugs, guns, rude or violent campers, or loose pets. This park is more of a resort type which does not cater to the bad elements. But it is a great place for well behaved campers and families to vacation, camp and party. And it is a welcoming home base for the long term camper or fulltimer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Friendly, helpful operators. Lots of shade. A little hard to get to, but worth the trouble. Quiet, away from the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
This is a nice place to spend a few days but a bit hard to access for an overnight stay. One-way gravel entrance and exit roads that could be a little dicey if you encounter heavy rains (which we did). The paved road (Lux exit) is narrow enough that you hope you won't meet another large RV before arriving at the park entrance. The park facilities are well maintained. There is a nice size fishing lake in the heart of the campground and a couple of others that are close but harder to access. Pleasant office staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Okatoma Resort & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   9   9   8   9   6   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Nice well maintained state park. Bathhouse facilities have seen better days. Some recently rebuilt and other are just atrocious. Paved roads and concrete pads. We have stayed here many times, but the newest staff just is not as friendly as the old. Getting anything done in the office is very difficult. But when we needed help on our site they were Johnny on the spot. The lake is stocked each year and fishing off the piers is good. We will return to this park for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
This has always been a wonderful park, but not this time. We stayed in the new campgrounds. Power problems. 50 amp had one leg almost unusable . If we put a minor load on power would from 120 to 109 volts. We cut our stay short for fear of burning up electric motors. if they get the power right it would be a great place. most campers don't have meters to give them electric information . We were in a motor home . We had a similar problem when we stayed there 7 weeks earlier, made 5 phone calls with hope they would repair --- but no luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Nice park with beautiful lake and shade. Would have given it a higher rating, but somewhat dirty campsites where campers burn garbage in fire spots and too many golf carts with loud music running around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Paul B Johnson State Park
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   3   4   5   5   7   3   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
This is an old run down campground with lots of full timers. Most units are not well maintained. It works for a quick overnight but I think we will look elsewhere when we travel through again. Didn't check the restrooms / showers. Utilities worked as they should. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Good access. Quiet and shady. A little soggy in some areas due to recent then overnight rain. Pet friendly. Nice people. Wifi worked. I would stay here again. My only real complaint is that they are too close to the Watermelon patch shoe store right up the road. Yes, we had to go by there the next morning so the wife could buy 3 pairs of sandals. We would still be there if I hadn't stopped her at 3. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$33
Old run down facilities. No one was in the office even though we were checking in during the posted office hours. The sites were okay, and it was like camping in an open field with hookups. There was something wrong with the electrical connection as it fried our 30 to 50 amp adapter. We were just stopping for the night or we would have found someplace else. We would not have felt comfortable leaving the motorhome unattended at this campground. We would not recommend this campground to anyone and would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Shady Cove RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com