218120 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Van Buren, Missouri (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.83 miles NE
21.94 miles SW
23.78 miles SE
25.87 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Ozark National Scenic R
5.81 miles NE
Missouri
Van Buren
Most Recently Reviewed
Big Springs RV Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 21:58:51
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Van Buren, Missouri
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   8   9   9   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Comfortable, laid-back campground. No pads or patios. River access limited due to high bluff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Our GPS routed us off of Hwy 60 onto Hwy 103 and then through a rundown residential section. (Note: Go all the way down to Chicopee before making a turn.) So we had to make some strong turns where the roads were very narrow. The campground itself is in okay shape but has several travel trailers that appear to be there permanently. The sites are long pull thrus and are fairly narrow, but there is good spacing between them. Many of the sites on the river are already taken. The operator at check-in was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Very clean bathrooms and showers. Wi-Fi very good. Owners friendly and helpful. I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Big Springs RV Camp
Camp Information
Sites
119
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Do not go to this place ever. Don’t waste your money. Awful place, awful people, rude owners, incompetent staff, unsafe environment. Never ever take children here! If I could give a negative rating on this campground I would. We stayed at this campground over July 4th weekend 2014. Our experience is best described at absurdly horrific. The campsite next to us had an outdoor orgy. Drunkenness and lewdness all over. Loud obscenities shouted from other sites all night long. There were people having sex and vomiting in the bathroom/shower area. We were lied to about the condition of our campsite as it was underwater when they confirmed reservations. Our credit card number was stolen via the use of smartphone text. No security driving the property as promised. No cell service to call authorities. Portable toilets pushed over by drunk patrons. Rude unapologetic owners that wouldn't give us a less than $100 refund. This was the worst experience we ever had camping and we won't be back to the state of Missouri. As we were leaving a lady in an RV said they had a similar experience. Do not take your RV or go tent camping at this place. It is unsafe, unclean, and poorly managed. This is a hedonistic establishment and not family friendly! We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
Very poor management, drinking and partying is encouraged. Management was rude to campers and it is the most expensive campground in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
June 2008
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Great park. The new owners are working to make this a very clean family-oriented park. The location is just beautiful, on the Current River. The sites all have nice level concrete pads with full hook-ups to include cable and free wireless internet. The camp store was pretty well stocked and the employees were all very helpful. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This really is a great campground. We stayed here a week and loved every minute. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and centrally located. The pool was cery clean and well kept. The owners are friendly and are working very hard to improve the grounds and facilities. This is a very family friendly campground. It sits directly on the Current River and is about a 10 minute drive from Van Buren. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$20
The camp was clean and the Current River beautiful. The campground seems to be a hangout for all night partiers. The noise level was quite high most of the night. The site was level and the staff very friendly. There were a lot of tent campers and relatively few camping trailers. It is definitely not a campground for quiet relaxation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
123
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Big Springs National Park is built around Big Springs, one of the largest springs in the US. It merges with the Current River in SE Missouri. Pros: Shady sites. -A tree limb fell during the night in a storm and park rangers were there to clean it up within 1/2 an hour. Big Springs. Viewing the spring itself was very nice. Heritage Days. On a Fri. and Sat. in June, relieve the past and see candle making, soap making, blacksmiths, bluegrass, etc. Quiet. The park is about 4 miles from the nearest busy highway, so you get lots of peace and quiet. Cons: Only one loop (about 28 sites) is electric and none of the sites have water hookups. You must fill your tanks before coming into the park or before getting to your site. Water spigots (2) are available in each loop. Tent/walk-in camping loops are in the open with a LOT of sun, very hot in the summer. Shower houses are very inconveniently located and spaced very far apart. No matter what loop you camp in, you are in for a hike to the bathhouse..either that or take your car. Showers were terrible. Went from freezing cold to scalding hot in seconds and then back again. Water pressure was extremely high and shower heads were immovable so that water went wherever it wanted. Bathrooms were never clean. If you need a park ranger for information/maps/etc, don't look at the Ranger Station. Instead, check out the Camp Host in site 201 in loop 2. At any given time there were 4-5 of them sitting in chairs there all day long. NO swimming beach. Seriously? The park is built around the Current River and they have no access for swimming to the river itself? Yes, I am serious. Unless you plan on hiking a country mile through the forest, bugs, and weeds, find somewhere else to swim. All camping sites had some kind of standing water in them. I'm sure when it has been dry for awhile, this won't be a problem (when we where there, it rained). Unless you bring your own boat/tube, there is not much to do at this park. There is no river service available to rent a canoe/tube, no swimming beach access, no educational center to visit, not much of a playground. Certainly, this is not the worst campground we have ever stayed in. But it doesn't rank up in the top either. If you are looking to get away from it all, do nothing but relax and nap, and don't mind primitive camping, than this park will fill the bill. It was just myself and my toddler camping here because we wanted to attend Heritage Days. That and viewing the river were the only highlights of our stay. Roads had been washed out from a recent flood, and though navigable, were in poor condition. No help in the form of information from rangers either. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
This is an older campground. We picked if from the map as an overnight stop over on our way to Branson. It's advertised as Big rig friendly. We're 35' towing, and I thought it was a tight fit getting here through the narrow city streets, and tight turns. It's early in the season, and they're still getting cleaned up after the winter. I probably wouldn't stay here a 2nd time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
First of all let me say, this is a GREAT RV park if you are camping with children. If you are not planning on staying here with kids, there is not much for you to do. They have kid-friendly activities planned at all hours of the day: arts/crafts, tye-dye T-shirts, bubbles, storytime, biscuit throws, toy car races, etc. Yogi Bear comes out every morning to raise the flag and every evening for the Hey Rides. Other camping activities include a pool (pretty good sized), tiny water park (sprinklers, splashing buckets, water guns), playground, miniature golf course (6 holes), panning for "gold" (iron pyrite $). It includes a well stocked store, very clean restrooms and laundry room, and a Cartoon Cafe. Complimentary breakfast (M-F) left a little to be desired (boxed donuts, granola bars, and coffee) but the thought was nice. There is just so much for kids to do here! Upon entering the park, check in can be a little confusing as the store and the entrance to the park are not one and the same. If your site is not a full-hookup (concrete pads up by pool) be prepared for gravel!! All sites down by the river are gravel. Roads are not clearly marked. In fact they virtually blend in with the campsites! However, all of the gravel sites are very spacious. We have a 30 ft. motorhome with no slides, but those with big slides would have lots of room side-to-side to stretch out. Sites are nice and shaded down here and if you choose a riverfront site you are LITERALLY right on the river. Very nice little sand swimming beach to the Current River and a boat launch as well. Canoe/tube rental company operates on the premise so that you can float the river. Currently the river is beautiful. Staff was incredibly nice. For the price of $42 (not a full hookup site) you are really paying for all the activities for the kids. Hence it is not worth the price if you don't need/want all those activities. This is one of the best RV parks we have camped in. My toddler had a blast. Was very full for the weekend with lots of people, so peace and quiet was not the order of the day! But by Monday, they had all cleared out and order was restored. There is a golf course next door to the campground (not associated with the campground), so if you are looking for something else to do beside spend the weekend on the river, it was available. We did not use Wi-Fi so I cannot say as to how good it was, although it is available. Bottom line: this was one of our favorite RV parks and we will definitely be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
All grass or gravel sites with lots of shade. The Current River was very close, clean and clear. The grass was being cut while we were here for 3 days, it had been allowed to get too long and when cut, left quite a mess. Lots of bugs at night. We stayed during the week and they delivered a free pancake breakfast to all campers that wanted it: a neat perk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
$33.67 was the off season rate as opposed to $42 plus tax in season. For overnight stays in the winter there is a $25 rate. Lots of trees. Located on the current river 3.5 miles north of Highway 60 on Highway "M". There is a full hookup area at the top of the hill by the Store, pool and playground. Down the hill to the river bank are the campsite areas with 30 amps and water, no sewer. These are gravel sites under large oak trees with several literally on the river bank. We were almost the only ones in the campground. It was very quiet. We stayed in the Full Hookup sites with a concrete pad, 50 amps, cable, water and sewer. Water pressure was over 100 pounds so we were using a regulator. Internet access is free and response was excellent. We didn't use the pool, but it looked crystal clear and well maintained. It may have been the time of year, but there were no mosquitoes with the temperature and humidity in the 80's. They are pet friendly and our Maltese enjoyed the stay. Sites seemed well maintained, mowed and trees were trimmed. The full hookup sites had newer electrical boxes and there was expansion work on one of the concrete pads in progress. Hosts were very friendly and gave us a lot of information on the local area. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com