214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Glacier National Park, Montana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.04 miles SW
8.16 miles SW
9.07 miles NE
13.04 miles SW
17.73 miles SW
24.21 miles SW
28.62 miles S
28.62 miles S
-Other Nearby Points-
Big Sky Waterslide
11.72 miles SW
Waterton-Glacier Interna
11.85 miles NE
Mike'S Conoco (Approx)
Columbia Fl
12.70 miles SW
Montana
Glacier National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Apgar Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-11 22:48:52
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Glacier National Park, Montana
Camp Information
Sites
194
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   7   8   9   9   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
$10 per night (that’s half off using our Golden Age Passport) was for a pull-through primitive site in loop A with a fire ring and picnic table. Some sites are very level while others require substantial leveling. Apgar is the only campground within Glacier NP that can accommodate rigs up to 40’ in the parking area of the site. The remainder of every site is generously sized and has a level pad for tents, if needed. The sites are mostly in the shade with lots of big trees. Glacier National Park is spectacular. A portion of the Going to the Sun road was closed for plowing and repair during the early part of our stay but opened up on July 4th. There are plenty of other roads to travel if the Going to the Sun road is closed. There are over 700 miles of trails within the park, with varying degrees of difficulty. Bicycles are allowed on the roadways and several, but not all, trails. AT&T and Verizon cell service is spotty at best but we received good reception at the Apgar Visitor center area as well as in the towns of West and East Glacier. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Return visit, and things are the same. Same rate (and half price to $10 with proper pass) and same ill-fitting sites. Level does not exist. Big rigs really shouldn't come here. This campground is for the truck campers, tents, smaller trailers and motor homes. Lots of families having fun and all ages on bikes. Verizon cell and air card only work near host sites and in Apgar Village & Transit Center. Water available from spigots and in restrooms. Fee showers but not in the Village. They are only in private CGs outside. We rate this a 7 for the ambiance, great location, and overall camping experience. Will return, but weekdays work best. Hard to get in on the weekends. No reservations and fills up nearly every day. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We checked out this campground when we were in the area without our RV. It is the closest campground to Glacier NP being located IN the park itself, between the West Glacier entrance and the main lodge. It is quite heavily treed but the spaces are roomy on pull arounds off the drive that winds through the campground . Probably not good for large rigs, but do-able. There is a shuttle that comes through Apgar to take guests to the boat and/or bus ride tours or the main lodge. We might stay here for a short visit if there was no availability in Coram or Columbia Falls, but it would not be our first choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Apgar Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
178
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We had issues getting the camper (21ft) into the site. After a bit of work we got it in, but not the way we preferred. The location was great, it's a small walk down a path to the lake. Generator hours are a bit of a pain, they allow 8-10 am 12-2 pm and 4-6 pm, enough to charge batteries during breakfast, but we were always gone past 6 pm so no power to make dinner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
The staff were available and friendly. This is a nice spot on McDonald Lake, we were able to walk down to the lake from our campsite. The rangers do a nightly program in the amphitheater. We stayed in a site near the entrance to loop C (no generator loop). The sites in this area were mostly level but not so much toward the back of the loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Great campground. Trees everywhere. The west side of Glacier NP isn't nearly as scenic as the east side. But the campground was beautiful. We have a 35' fifth wheel and an F350 w/ 8' bed. It was a challenge getting out of our campsite but after moving a few site markers and scrubbing a tree or two, we were rolling. The sights on the inside of the loop have door and awning facing street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Fish Creek Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
$23 is full rate, we paid $11.50 senior rate. Reservations taken and recommended. We could only book 4 nights and could not get any extra nights while here. This place is booked solid in the summer. Great base for seeing the east side of the park. Potable water is at the dump station on the way out. We were able to make the swing around the attendant booth after checking in with no problem. Then a short ride back to the visitor center to turn around. As reviewed, sites can be tight, took some doing to get positioned so our slides could go out. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
$20 seems high for no hookups or showers, BUT it is in the Glacier NP and close to great hiking so maybe worth it! Restrooms were very clean. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
We loved this campground. Lots of good easy hiking out of it, with the opportunity to see wildlife. We saw one black bear and a couple of moose in the lake 10 minutes (hiking) from our campsite. There is a store for supplies with in a few steps and the prices were right. Both days we hiked over to Many Glacier Hotel and the second day we took the boat trip with hike over to Grinnell Lake: really nice. We really hated to leave and would go back again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Many Glacier Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$20


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
When we were there, they were only allowing hard sided rigs, vans, etc., because of a bear problem. We never saw any bears or other interesting wildlife; just chipmunks and birds. The sites cannot accommodate large rigs. We have a 30’ motorhome, and it was a tight squeeze. There was a nice dump station and good quality potable water, but no hookups. We drove our small dinghy car across Logan Pass; vehicles over about 24 feet are not allowed there, and for good reasons. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
148
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   8   8   9   9   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
The surrounding mountains make a beautiful setting for a campground that has relatively short, narrow, pull-through sites. There are no hookups, no WiFi, and no laundry. The bathroom were nice and clean and modern with spacious showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Tight, small spaces, really could use a little more room. And for some reason, they have wood posts about 18 to 24 inches high everywhere, and hidden in tall grass and bushes. Damaged my RV backing up to level. Bath and pay showers are nice, but showers weren't cleaned as often as needed. Great location, but be aware that AT&T does not have any cell service on east side of park (does on west). Verizon works on both sides. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$11
Nice large campground. There are better in the park, but this one took reservations and has a very good location. The sites are close and the scenery is minimal. Would attempt to get into another campground next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for St. Mary Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   10   10   10   10   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
What a gem this park is!! One of the most beautiful National Park CG settings we have experienced! Staff was very friendly and restrooms were very clean. If you have a sizeable rig, get there early!! There are people cruising the park in the morning to get one of the larger sites that are in the front near the meadow and lake. Drove the loops twice before we found a great site. A lot of sites in the inner loops will not accommodate an RV or trailer, especially anything over 25'. Kind of a bummer that the big sites that can accommodate a big rig can be taken up by a tent. But, it is "first come first served" and the sites are as much their right as anybody else. The store and boat dock area are great and an easy walk or bike ride away. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
We found Two Medicine to be like a park within a park. It is separate from the main part of Glacier and therefore quieter and calmer. There are some amazing sites facing the water, but all the sites are nice for primitive camping. No hookups at all. There is a dump station at the park's entrance and they have several times a day when running generators is allowed. The campfire circles at the park were the best I've ever been too: from a Blackfoot singer, Jack Gladstone, to a conversation with an Old Goat. Amazing stuff. Near the campground there is a small store with gifts and snacks as well as a marina where you can take a tour boat or rent kayaks or canoes. Don't miss the Going to the Sun Road. We also drove up to Waterton Park in Canada one day which was absolutely lovely! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This was our first time camping in a National Parks camp ground and we were very pleased with what we got.  Above all, peace and tranquility.  No cell phone ringing, no Wi-Fi computer distractions and no TV. Just nature to watch and breath taking scenery to absorb.  Get there early in the day because the sites soon fill up and we noticed numerous people trawling around looking for a change of location early each day. Once you have located a suitable site it is then self registration but this is routinely checked by the park staff. Fees can be paid in US or Canadian funds and while we were there the dollar and the looney were taken on par.   There are numerous washrooms dotted around and some specifically for the disabled.  All are flush toilets and have running cold water to the sinks.  Electric plugs are also available inside the washroom blocks so connecting hair dryers or shavers isn't a problem.   These washrooms are cleaned daily.   Around the camp ground there are also numerous fresh water taps available but these do not accept a hose connection so filling your portable water tanks is more of a challenge (unless there is an adapter out there somewhere).  You can use the hoses at the dump station to fill your freshwater tank but this is on the way out. Just outside of the camp ground is a well stocked and very reasonably priced general store, selling just about everything you could need for a few days camping in the woods. The lake is adjacent to the camp ground and provides excellent leisure resources for fishing, kayaking and swimming, etc.  The area has plenty of good walks but this is bear country so bring your spray and bear bangers.  Its also a good idea to pack lots of bug spray because the mosquitos are more problematic than the bears!   Every evening the park staff present a different interpretive talk that lasts about an hour.  If I have any criticism it is that a tiny two man tent is allowed to occupy a space that would be more suited to a 45' motor home while a more suitable sized site is left empty. A little more regulation might maximize the potential of this camp ground.  Loop C is more in tune with small units while A and B are capable of handling the larger rigs. I will definitely return to this location in the future.  We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Two Medicine (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com