218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby St Mary, Montana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.04 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Museum Of The Plains Indi
2.40 miles NE
Montana
St Mary
Most Recently Reviewed
Johnson's Campground and RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 15:13:30
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
St Mary, Montana
Camp Information
Sites
157
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   5   5   8   7   6   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Two very small bathrooms for 157 RV, cabin, and tent sites. AND the bathrooms are very small, outdated, and not very clean. They say they clean them twice daily, but with this heavy usage it never looks like cleaning has been done. The sites are on dirt and not particularly level. We had good Wi-Fi reception using our Jetpack. This place is definitely overpriced for what is offered. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
What it has going for it is an amazing view of the mountains and lakes. After that, it's awful. The roads are so dusty, everything becomes covered in hours. There is no wi-fi other than at the office and that is quite poor at best. The sites are unkempt, not even close to level and in our case, hard to even walk on. Clearly no effort or money goes towards maintaining the place. After seeing the KOA across the street, we'd have been better off spending the extra ten a night to stay at a decent place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$44
Conveniently located to the East Entrance of Glacier National Park. This campground sits on the side of a steep hill making it difficult to level rigs. Bathroom and laundry facilities are located at the bottom of the hill with a steep climb or descent to access bathroom and laundry facilities for full hookup sites. The laundry room was nice and well maintained. Wi-Fi was advertised to be available in laundry and office areas. However, this did not work at all, even after the owner rebooted the system. There is a café on-site. A lot of seasonal workers seemed to reside here. Sites were narrow and short. Grass was overgrown. Staff was friendly and helpful, however, we will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Johnson's Campground and RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   8   9   7   6   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$62
Good Points: Wide Sites with grass - nice! Bar-b-que every night and breakfast every morning which we enjoyed. Good views. Friendly & intermitantly helpful staff. Bad points: Price. No TV - no antenna TV and no cable. Wi-Fi Very slow during 4 day stay. Most sewer hookups are at very back of site. We had a 12-15' mostly uphill run for our sewer hookup. We had a significant drop-off at rear of our pull-through, resulting in our metal framed rockguard getting crushed when we leveled the coach. I called the office to get a more level site, but they basically said that it would be too complicated to move me. I had to pull very far forward in the site making no good place to park the car without it sticking out into the road. In general, it is a very nice campground. However, for the price (highest price since we left Florida), I expect some sort of TV, moderately fast Wi-Fi, better located sewer hookups, sites that are level enough to not crush my rock guard, and not running the sewer uphill for 12-15'. Had it not been for these issues, I would have given them a 9 or 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$60
Nice park, nice hot tub and swimming pool. Very nice store with food and supplies. Wi-Fi was very weak and no cable and was out of ice. AT&T does not work in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$59
After spending several nights at a campground on the west side of the park, we chose to spend several more nights on the east side, and picked this campground because of the view. And view it has - the mountains in Glacier NP are spectacular, and some of the prettiest are easily seen from virtually every part of this campground. We had requested a back-in view site, but got one of the worst back-ins: narrow (our neighbors' sewer hookup was only about 3 feet from our back door), tight, and next to the small road the campground sits on. (These are the low-number B sites.) We did not feel comfortable sitting out on our picnic table due to the proximity of not only our side-to-side neighbors, but also a group of tenting young adults, who were assigned a large grassy area right behind our site. They were quiet enough, but we didn't want to be on top of them, so we stayed inside, and peeked at the view through our windows. Not ideal. Other back-ins are larger, parked on an angle, and would be more desirable, in my opinion. (C-row, for example, fits this description.) The campground is almost entirely an open field on a slope, terraced to some extent (we needed a bit of leveling; others needed more.) A few sites have shade - one pull-through does and a lot of the tent sites are located in a pretty aspen grove. (They can be buggy there, however.) This campground offers a store, ice cream shop, several satellite bathhouses (I heard one camper complain about low water pressure there, and our own site's water pressure was lower than usual, but not bad), all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast with generous servings every day, and is a pickup spot for some of the Red Bus tours - a bonus! Off the main road so the noise level is low at night, and - did I mention the view?! Bathrooms were heavily used but kept very clean; staff were numerous and friendly. Being only a couple miles to the park entrance, this campground is a good base camp for the east side of Glacier. Rate mentioned is without discounts & before taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for St. Mary / East Glacier KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com