223417 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Townsend, Montana (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
Montana
Townsend
Most Recently Reviewed
Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-13 17:37:08
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Townsend, Montana
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
The previous entry was correct except our site did not have 50 amp. There was no one to check you in, there was only a box with envelopes to fill out and put your check/cash in. Site was tight with our 35ft FW but no problem with the 3 slides. It was exceptionally tight when we left the next morning making a turn around the tree next to our site. Was OK for a one night stop over and the restroom/shower facilities were clean. There appeared to be only 2 sites available as all the others looked to be long term (electric heat tape on water lines). We never did see anyone the entire time we were here. It served the purpose and we would stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Small place next to a storage facility. Located within city limits on US-287 (also US-12) near north end of town. A bit tight for our 36' wide body with two slides, but ok for a short stay. Once slide was out, two of three compartments could not be openned due to water / electric hookup location. Laundry and bath area was very clean, rest of park was so so. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Not the greatest place but quite popular with the fishing folks. Burger drive-thru on the site. Right on Hwy 12, 0.6 miles north of Junction with Hwy 287. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Campground is on Silo Road at MM70 about 7 miles north of Townsend (just before the double silos). Go east past the KOA and turn right before getting to the boat launch. There are two or three loops of sites in what is essentially a large grassy area on the edge of the Canyon Ferry Reservoir. There is a little shade from willow trees on some sites. The nightly rate for camping is $10 or $20 for a "double site" marked on the posts. Senior pass discount is 50% off those prices. All sites are dry camping. Vault toilets were clean. No showers. There were few people at the campground on a Monday in late August. There is a little road noise from the highway, but it's not objectionable. There did not appear to be any campground host, but we didn't drive all the loops. We'd stay again when traveling through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Silo's is definitely an alternative to the KOA on the same road. Heading either east or west on US-12 the two big red silos on the westbound side of the road are visible for miles. It is MM 70 where the road turns toward the lake. Also noticeable is Silo's Bar and Silo's Gift Shop on opposite sides of US-12. The first mile of the access road is paved but becomes large rock gravel and dirt at the entrance to the campground. Bear to the right at the entrance, otherwise you end up on the boat launch ramp. You are on large rock-gravel and dirt for the whole trip beyond the entrance gate, with a small amount of washboard in the road. There appears to be 6 separate loops not including the boat ramp. Because of how far apart the sites are in the 4th loop, you can definitely come into them as a pull through or they can be backed into as a preference. These are not level sites because the whole valley slopes from the highway to the lake, but we jockeyed around and were able to get our 40 footer leveled with minimal help from the front levelers. There is a center single vault toilet in our loop, I saw additional vault toilets in the other loops. Each site has a concrete table, and a fire ring/grill. Pay station is between 2nd and 3rd Loop, Cash or Personal Check only. There are camp hosts around checking tags in the windshield. This is first come first served but as with the previous years, it was nearly empty during our two day stay. We came late midweek and had no problem finding a spot. The Lake is beautiful, jumping with fish, we watched several fisherman working the banks. The wind does come up fiercely in the afternoon, so watch your awnings. There is no road noise, no industrial noise, only my own generator when we needed to cook. This is definitely a quiet, peaceful, boon docking site, so come prepared to dry camp. I rated it high based on the scale of all boon docking sites I have been to, not a comparison with FHU RV Parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
BLM Reclamation campground on east shore of Canon Ferry Lake/Missouri River. Scenery is incredible. Not a bad site all on water or close by. All sites asphalt and level, fire pits, tables with great views. First come first serve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Silos Campground - Canyon Ferry
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   6   5   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
While checking my summer trip notes against my listed reviews on this site, I noticed that this park was missing. We stayed here one weeknight in mid-July. We had a level, gravel, FHU site. Although there is no cable TV, most sites are satellite friendly since there are few trees. We had no problems connecting to or using their Wi-Fi network. There are 23 FHU 30 amp sites, 14 FHU 30/50 amp sites, and 15 W&E (30 amp only) sites. There are also about a dozen tent sites, 5 cabins, and a group tenting area. For a park with this many non-sewer sites the bathroom facilities are inadequate. This park has lots of seasonal customers who use this park as a fish camp to boat/fisd on Ferry Lake. The sites are unusually large so as to accommodate boasts and trailers. There is no pool and I am not certain if you can swim in the nearby lake. The slime that I saw accumulated along the shore would make going into that water questionable. There is some playground equipment. The laundry is in the office/store building. The Flamingo Grill is next door and serves breakfast (weekends only) along with sandwiches and Mexican dishes for lunch and dinner in season. The lake and marina is only a 5-10 minute walk away. The public park with a campground and marina is a little farther. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Campground staff helpful and friendly. Sites are all gravel. Many seasonal residents. Mostly it's a fishing camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
The owners of this park were extremely helpful and made us feel welcome. The park is very clean and the women's shower house as just been renovated. They offer putt golf, a used bookstore, a diner, and a beautiful playground. the roads are gravel throughout the park and the sites are fairly level. Though parts of the park have been renovated, some areas, like golf area and some of the sites are a little run down. Additionally, it does have some full time residence. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com