223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Ogallala, Nebraska (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.65 miles NE
22.27 miles W
-Other Nearby Points-
T/A
I-80 X126
1.09 miles SE
Nebraska
Ogallala
Most Recently Reviewed
Country View Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-02 03:24:32
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Ogallala, Nebraska
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   9   8   6   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$33
Excellent park. Easy access from highway, but about a half mile from I-80 so no noise. Sites are long and plenty wide. Utilities good. Cable TV and wi-fi good. Good satellite TV access. Parking sites are dirt. If concrete, this would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$29
Great choice for an overnight when traveling on I-80. Far enough off interstate to minimize traffic noise. Very helpful and friendly staff. Level sites, convenient utilities. Wi-Fi was fine. Cable TV a plus. Restrooms could use updating. Sites basic and close together, but this wasn't a problem for us because park wasn't at all crowded midweek. Very quiet! We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
This is a good place for a overnight stop. Easy on/off the interstate. You can see it from the campground but cannot hear any road noise. Long pull thrus with well placed utilities. Some sites have shade and for those who use a rooftop satellite, there are wide open sites. Trees are trimmed and cause no issues. Did not use bathhouse or laundry. Verizon cell and mifi worked fine. Staff was very friendly. We would stop here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Country View Campground
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   4   4   10   5   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Rate reflects Passport America. We initially wanted to stay two nights. However, there are two entry roads to the park which are 'unimproved' - actually they are a nightmare and don't dare try to enter or leave if it's been raining or else plan on calling roadside assistance to get out of there! The site we were given was entirely too small for our fifth wheel. In order to open our slides, we were jutting out in the roadway. We were next to the pool so all we could hear was the kids screaming and yelling. The site was littered with cigarette butts; someone had thrown rotting food on the ground, and there was metal trash on the ground at our site. Completely unhappy with this park. If we had known the roads were so bad, we would not have stayed. Leaving the park, we blew a tire - I've no doubt its a result of a piece of metal we didn't find that found our tire instead. We left after one night - couldn't leave fast enough! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We made the mistake of reserving for 2 nights, we called just the night before our arrival. Upon arrival we looked at this very disappointing place and decided to stay only a single night. They said we'd be charged for both nights, although on the phone they'd told us that a No-Show is charged just 1 night. We decided to leave immediately to minimize our "penalty". We were told at sign-in (not on the phone) that there's a 30-day cancellation policy. There were only a few spots filled at the time. We left for several reasons, 1) Because it was a full mile away from the lake and if you drive there you must pay for a special pass, daily. We had been looking forward to relaxing on a lake for a couple of days! If you look at their web page they never show pictures of the actual campground. We should have been more skeptical. 2) The WiFi they advertise is available only on the porch or inside the office. 3) The advertised Cafe was closed. 4) The campsites were small dirt strips with no grass or shade, and all for the princely price of $34. The drive to get there was horrible. The last 2 miles is an extremely washboard-rough dirt road with sharp turns and steep hills. The route is very poorly marked; we had to turn around and backtrack to find their single sign. To get out, on a hot and very dry day, we had to use our 4-wheel drive! We tow a light 30' travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
We spent one night en-route to Wyoming. The park was fairly full for a Tuesday. There's quite a few cabins, which were occupied by families with kids. The sites were a little off-level but not by much. It's in a very picturesque location on a reservoir. They have a volleyball net, small but lovely pool, restaurant, and small store. The rate reflects a CampClub USA discount, which requires a cash payment. I asked for a receipt, but was told that I didn't need one, as they knew I paid. The primary drawback is the 5 miles of horrible hilly dirt road. It rained the night we were there and we had a heck of a time getting out the next morning. We had to accelerate in order to ascend the hills without getting stuck, which threw mud about 4' high all over the front of the trailer. Going down the curvy hills was fun as well; when the brakes were applied, the trailer wanted to go straight while the truck made the turn. We will never go back there again, UNLESS THEY FIX THE ROADS. If they would fix this road, I would have given the place a rating of 7 or 8. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Eagle Canyon Hideaway
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   6   5   9   8   10   10   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Very nice park with level sites, some on the lake. Long walking trail to the dam. Lots of interesting waterfowl. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
Good Nebraska State facility, a bit of a distance from town and the interstate. Nice setting, lots of trees and shade, grassy and weedy!! Lots of sand burrs, which the dogs didn't appreciate! Our site was right on the lake, looking west towards the dam. Good electric, water spigots nearby. Mid-week stay, so campground was almost empty! Paved access roads and pads, with fire ring and picnic table. Look like there is pretty good fishing for panfish from what we saw. There also are undeveloped campsites nearby, below the dam. When the dam is using water for power production, and the wind is right, there is a strong sulphur odor (like an oil refinery) in the air as others have reported. That is due to the spray from the outlet which comes from the bottom of the lake behind the dam, dead water, as some park employees explained. May or may not be there earlier in the year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
I did not care for the campground for two reasons. They have one bathroom for a very big and crowded campground. We had to walk 1/2 mile to the bathroom. Also, for a state park or recreation area the sites were very crowded together, and there were some bad smells coming from lake or area we were at. The area around the campground is very scenic so the campsite is convenient, but if you stay here try and get a campsite close to the restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lake Ogallala State Recreation Area
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
May 2009
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Sites 1 through 8 are full hookups with 50 amp. The rest of the sites are 30 or 50 amp boxes spread out around the campground. Half of the sites are on the reservation system the other half is first come. Had a problem finding a site where the power was working. Sites are pretty level, paved sites and interior road. Water spigots are spread out among the sites here and there. Verizon Aircard and cellphone had a signal and we had no problems getting our satellite in since the trees are small. There's a Safeway in Ogallala where you can load up otherwise you'll have to drive back into town. Electric sites are $17.00 a night and and they charge another $4.00 per vehicle per day so if you plan on staying 4 or more days buy their annual passes at the Visitor Center or at Martin's kiosk. (Annual pass for first vehicle is $20.00 and the 2nd vehicle is $10.00). For a daily pass it's $4.00 per vehicle per day. Campground Host can sell you the Daily Pass. We would probably stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$25


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
The lake was low so it was a longer walk to the beach, but during the week we had the place to ourselves. On Friday night it filled up with weekenders and they kept us up all night. No park rangers around, and the camp host certainly wasn't going to do anything about it. Nice campground with large sites, nice view overlooking the lake. Clean bathrooms and showers. We loved the place, and will come back again, just not on a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This was a lovely setting and very well maintained campground. Site were spacious: 50-60 feet on each side. We had a lake view site (#25) with large trees behind us. All sites are back-in, but there is plenty of room to maneuver into the site. In addition to the nightly rate, there is a $4.00/day park permit. We were here for 3 days and unfortunately it rained most of the time, but we still enjoyed our stay. There are many sandy beaches along the lake and you can drive right down to them. We didn't get the opportunity to fish, but were told that the fishing is good on this lake. During the busy season, I would definitely make reservations, especially if you'd like a site with full hook-ups. We will absolutely return to this campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We have stayed at Long Eagle Campground on the Lake twice. This time we booked full hookups and right on the lake so it was better than last year. It is a good place to walk (and boat, swim or fish) if you want to or like to. The campground Host, Lou and Sherry were terrific. We will return. The full hookups are limited so you do need to make your reservation early (maybe close to 1 year) if you enjoy full hookups. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   10   8   10   8   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
Did an overnight and very pleased. On doing this review, I read and fully agree with the August reviewer detailed observations. The owners were very pleasant and have put lots of work upgrading the CG since they bought it 2 years ago, and live on site. There is a nice new playground with soft rubber mulch protecting falling kids, and the CG is levelly and thickly surfaced with recycled tarmac aggregates. The pull through sites are adequately spaced with E/W/S. The buildings are all attractive and nicely painted with yellow and greens. The only negative is the nearby interstate is noisy but not too intrusive and the owners can not help that. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$16
Rate noted is Passport America. Made a reservation at Sleepy Sunflower RV via email for a spot on our cross country trip. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. First of all, the owner is wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. They just purchased the park two years ago and have been working on updating/upgrading. The park looks great. Forty four spots, 12 of them are 30 amp with water. The rest are 50 amp full hook ups. They also have a tent area and small playground. There is a small store on sight. As well as clean bathrooms and very affordable laundry. A small lounge is also available with a book exchange. Only negative is that it is close to the highway, so you do hear the trucks rumbling by. Great white noise! When in the area we will definitely stay here again. Easy access off the highway, stores and restaurants within walking distance and a couple of easy in/out gas stations that have diesel. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$16
Extremely clean and well kept. Hosts were great and the sites couldn't be better. Great WiFi and water pressure. Easy access from hwy, but no noise at sites in front of park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Sleepy Sunflower RV Park (formerly Open Corral Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   5   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
We were expecting a nice place from looking at the website photos of Van's. We were very, very disappointed. The photos were taken a number of years ago, and does not show what the campground is really like. Essentially, Van's is a big rv parking lot. Yuck. No vegetation or grass as shown in the old photos. Very little space between sites and the campground seems in very poor shape. There is ample space to park your boat with your camper, but that's about it. Due to the low water conditions for the past several years, their private boat ramp was closed and appeared to have been for some time. Their "restrooms" are simply porta-pottys here and there. The rate reflects non-holiday. If you plan to stay there during a summer holiday, 4th of July for example, the price is 4x to $120/night for 30A full hookups! Yikes! (No refunds!) Better off to stay elsewhere. Additionally, the long road from the highway is now loose rock. Watch your windshield. Will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Nice campground by the lake. Showers require purchased tokens. Bathrooms were clean but somehow a lot of flying bugs got in. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We were here on Labor Day weekend, and they obviously oversold the facility: very chaotic as they had campers and boats everywhere. Sites were very close together: most sites you have to share your picnic area with your neighbor, which is fine if you know your neighbor. There's little grass and lots of trees. We had trouble getting satellite reception. There's a nice convenience store with gas. We would stay here again in a pinch, but would probably stay down the road: seems quieter and more enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Van's Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com