214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hawthorne, Nevada (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Shell
Hawthorne
1.50 miles SE
El Capitan Casino
Hawthorne
2.23 miles SE
Walker Lake State Recrea
7.70 miles N
Nevada
Hawthorne
Most Recently Reviewed
Whiskey Flats RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-07 00:23:07
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hawthorne, Nevada
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2011
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
When passing thru Hawthorne, this is a nice spot for one night. There are no hookups but they have a free dump station with potable water. The lot is paved with a very slight slope with no designated sites or painted marking. Just pull in and park. It is very quiet here. Our GPS directed us here with no problems. Verizon cell and 3G worked well. The casino has a good restaurant, which is reasonable priced and I won at the penny slots! RV parking is free and I felt safe parking here. We have stayed here before and will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
15?
Date of Stay
September 2007
Latest Rate
$17


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
(775) 945-2324, talked to camp host. $16.50+tax day rate, $75/week, $300/month (same as Whisky Flats RV Park, which is much nicer). This one is not in the 2007 Woodall's nor in the 2007 Trailer Life Directories, nor Wheeler's online guide. We also choose it over Scotty's RV Park (see review on that one). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   8   5   8   4   9   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
Easy in, easy out, check-in was painless. This little park has cleaned up since the last time I stayed. Easy walk to El Capitan for a little food and gaming. Cable worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
Park is behind Scotty's and the NAPA store & isn't much to look at but it works fine for an overnight stop. Check in was easy & friendly. We did have to move sites as the cable was bad in the 1st one but worked fine in the 2nd. Close together but easy in-easy out pull through sites. We stayed hooked up over night and were pretty level. There is a little Chinese restaurant within easy walking distance. Diesel fuel available at Scotty's mini-mart. Price is before the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$21
We stay here every year traveling north through NV. This is a very small, easily accessible park, whether you are a big rig or small. Excellent showers, inexpensive laundry. Level sites. Mini mart on premises. Great cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Scotty's RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$4
This is a pretty, dispersed camping location. Several sites of various sizes around either the paved road or dirt roads. Be very careful of soft sand down by the shoreline. Although this is listed almost everywhere on the Internet as a free campground there is actually an official fee of $4/night ($22/week) to stay here (50% off with senior pass). No indication (at all) of this at 20-Mile, but if you drive back to Sportsman's Beach you'll see the pay station & fee info listed there. Good Verizon signal & very pretty lake views. On site trash & pit toilet. Some highway noise from 95 depending on where you park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$0
Peaceful with great views of Walker Lake. Great place to dry camp. 20 Mile is on the east end of the lake. If you are in a big rig, after turning into 20 Mile, be sure and turn left at the cross road. You'll come to a nice pull out spot on the lake side or you can continue to the end of the road for another nice spot. There is room to turn around a big rig at either spot. The only drawback when we were there was lots of flies. There's laundromat in Hawthorne (Rock by the River Motel) and a NAPA. We were in a 40' RV with toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
Only one other RVer here. Noise from truck traffic on highway 95. Driving south on 95, there is no left turn lane. I kept track of the miles from Schurz, 15 miles, and made sure no traffic was in back of me. Several good areas for passing driving south, to let big rigs by so that when slowing down for left turn, there shouldn't be any traffic behind your RV. Vault toilet and dumpster. Lots of ducks on Walker lake. Nice views. At turn-around, there is a rock fire pit there, though a big rig can drive around the fire pit. Not a good place for a bunch of boulders, when there are numerous other areas for fires. Would be easier big-rig turn-around without boulders there. Free We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Twenty Mile Beach Campground
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$3
This is a BLM campground along the shores of Walker Lake just north of the town of Hawthorne. Not much to offer here. No potable water and no hook-ups of any sort. No flush toilets and no showers. The women's outhouse was disgustingly dirty. The pads are broken asphalt and gravel. Nice views of the lake and easy access off the highway, other than that and the very inexpensive fees, there's not much to write home about. Looks like the sort of place that would be popular with the local crowd in the summer for fishing, boating, jet-skiing, etc. Our cost reflects the fact that this is a Federal campground and we have the Senior Access pass. Regular fee would be $6. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$4
Tamarack is the crumbled remains of an old campground. It has ~20 semi-paved sites of various sizes (and levelness) both back-in and pull-throughs. Most would be suitable for 30', but a a few can fit big rigs (we camped in 40'). There is a clean on-site pit toilet and trash, but no dump or water. Most sites list this campground as free, but it is in fact a pay site. There is no pay info or pay station at the Tamarack proper, but if you drive to Sportsman's Beach you will see a self-pay and fee info that clearly indicates Tamarack (and 20-mile) cost $4/night or $22/week. The area does accept Senior Pass for 50% off. There is honestly no way to know this without driving to Sportsman's and reading the sign there. Great views of the lake, but you are close to Hwy 95 so you will have road noise. You can also camp closer to the shoreline, but be aware the ground gets VERY soft very fast. Excellent Verizon signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$0
This is a BLM area lake front campground, Beautiful view, price is GREAT, Listed as 31' max, I drove my 40' into a spot on a loop with out unhooking. had many feet both front and back. It is free. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   8   9   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
This is obviously one of the newer parks in Hawthorne. It has cement parking pads and good cable TV. The Wi-Fi worked well until evening when it must have became busy. There is a picnic table at every site, a tree (small since park is new, but it will be nice and shady in a couple of years), good water pressure, and 50 amp hookups. The rate is based on a Good Sam discount. The only reason I wouldn't give it a 10 is because there is no pet walk designated and they aren't allowed on the grass. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Second stay here on our way north (see June 2013 review) Very clean, free wifi, TV. Concrete pad was about $2 more than regular gravel site - we went for the extras. Just as nice as it was the first time last year. Will stay here again, especially since there is nothing else. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
Nice overnight spot. Not a destination RV park. Most spots had level concrete pads. It was terribly windy when we were there, but that wasn't the park's fault. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Whiskey Flats RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com