217805 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Franconia, New Hampshire (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.59 miles NW
6.07 miles NE
10.72 miles NE
13.37 miles SE
13.85 miles SE
16.18 miles NW
16.93 miles SW
17.54 miles SE
19.38 miles SW
19.41 miles NE
20.10 miles NE
20.15 miles NW
22.26 miles SE
22.78 miles SE
23.13 miles NW
24.59 miles S
24.59 miles S
26.83 miles SW
27.87 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
The Franconia Inn
2.48 miles S
Horse & Hound
2.61 miles S
Lovett'S Inn By Lafayet
3.81 miles SE
Rosa Flamingos
4.15 miles NE
Cannon Mountain Ski Area
4.82 miles SE
Cannon Mountain Aerial T
5.02 miles SE
Eastgate
5.21 miles NW
Italian Oasis
5.55 miles NW
Apple Hill Cg
(800)284-2238
5.69 miles NE
Wal-Marti-93:42 615 Meadow St (Located To Block)
6.01 miles NW
Clam Shell
6.15 miles NW
Mink Brook Family Cg
(603)838-6658
8.51 miles SW
Flume Gorge
9.76 miles SE
Clark'S Trading Post
13.10 miles SE
Loon Mountain Ski Area
13.34 miles SE
Whale'S Tale Water Par
13.60 miles SE
Old Timbermill Pub & Res
13.70 miles SE
Truants Taverne
13.74 miles SE
Gordi'S Fish & Steak H
13.76 miles SE
White Mountains Attractio
13.88 miles SE
New Hampshire
Franconia
Most Recently Reviewed
Fransted Family Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-23 10:15:46
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Franconia, New Hampshire
Camp Information
Sites
7
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$35


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This campground is adjacent to the parking lot for Echo Lake State Park. There is a lot of activity during the day with day visitors and park employees coming and going. It quiets down after the beach closes and folks head home. The sites back up to Cannon Mountain Ski area and you can watch the tram go up and down the mountain. There is hiking across the street and swimming in the lake. There is a beach and snack shop open in season. We've stayed here several times in summer and fall and like it very much for the convenient location and activities in the area. They do not allow dogs until after Labor Day. The bathrooms are locked when the beach is not open so you need to be totally self contained to stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$38
Unlike the other review: the scenery is super to the back, there is a beautiful lake within a minute's walk. True, the front is a parking lot but TV reception is good and you are right on one of the best bike trails ever and it's only .8 miles from Cannon Mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is literally a parking lot. There are 7 spaces at the back of a large parking lot next to Echo lake. Unless you like looking at asphalt this is not the place for you. I had a 3 night reservation booked online. The online map made it look like a normal camping area. I left after one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   9   9   10   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
This is the best park we have been to in 23 years of camping and has the most amazing owners we have ever come across. We just camped here for the first time and spent 9 wonderful nights here. The campground is spotless and the sites are so nice. The sites have rock to park the trailer on and to open the awning over so no need for rugs or anything. There are many tent sites and some real nice ones along the river. Each tent site has an area of raised bark mulch to set the tent on and then plenty of space for the car, fire pit and picnic table. Most sites are very private, we had a full hook up pull through that was real private. There are a few back in sites were you are lined up but they are plenty large enough. The bathrooms were very nice, the store had everything you needed. The front of the campground was an open field with a soccer field, baseball field, volleyball, mini golf, horseshoes and ladder golf among other things. I can go on and on about this campground because we just had the most wonderful week we could have and we cannot wait to get back there. I think this is the first 10 I have given to a campground without a pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
We had high expectations for this campground that just didn't come to fruition. The campground is definitely clean and safe, the creek is nice, and the play area for the kids is up to date. However, the sites are very close to each other, and we didn't have the privacy we were hoping for. In addition, the sewer connection at our site was high and nearly level with the camper's black/grey tank drains making it a challenge to empty the tanks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
This is one of my favorite campgrounds in NH. If you looking for someone who really tells it like it is, it's me. I won't give a campground a good rating unless it deserves it, and this campground is great. Sites are spacious enough, and the campground is active but not noisy. The only issue: our camping neighbor's dog came over to our site to do its business. We scared it away, and our neighbor came over and cleaned it up. Pets are supposed to be leashed, and I'm sure if we had complained the staff would have done something. We felt it was taken care of just fine. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have an RV and camped near the river. For those of you who have tents there are some great options along the river where RVs don't fit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fransted Family Campground
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
A lovely state park. It was quiet when we were here - very few campers. I rate it high for natural beauty and clean rest rooms. The ranger checking us in was quite helpful. Campground roads are a bit tight and backing into some sites is difficult. Campground is easily accessible from I-93, one of very few interstate parkways. Reserve America charges $9.50 reservation fee! Fudged about Wi-Fi and cellular service - this is in the mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$19
This campground is a New Hampshire State Campground located in the beautiful Franconia Notch with 97 wooded sites. It is open year round with no facilities, but not staffed after Oct 9 through about May 20. There are bike trails, hiking, skiing, fishing, swimming etc near by. At the campground the bike trail goes by and there are a number of hiking trails starting from the campground or across the street. This is one of my favorite campgrounds. They do take reservations and in the summer and fall holiday weekends, you need reservations. It is situated at the bottom of two mountains in a notch, a creek runs by and when you have a fire and the full moon is out, the leaves are turning like it was this past Oct – it is beautiful. They do have what they call premium sites so they charge more for them – which is almost all of those at this campground during the summer until Labor Day. We had no problems getting a site during the week in October. You need to check out the sites though because some are not level and hard to get into. There are no hookups but they do have nice showers and also a check in hut with a fireplace and store. The rangers are always friendly here. The bike trail goes from above Cannon Mountain all the way down to the Flume. Riding South to North can be tough but the other direction is great. The ride from the campground to the Basin is not bad though. Great for hiking, waterfalls, swimming in some of the waterfalls and lakes and just a great camping experience. We camped here in a 25 foot motor home and it costs 19 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$19
This is a New Hampshire State Park situated in the beautiful Franconia Notch. The mountains are above and the creek runs through it. Some of the sites are small but there are others in the meadow that big rigs can camp in. There are coin operated showers that are very hot and clean. The house at the entrance has a fireplace with a fire going, where anyone can gather, sit, read, talk and enjoy. When it rains and it is cold, it gets quite crowded The bike trails go through this park down to the flume and up passed Cannon Mt. They are great. One can visit the Old Man in the Mt (which is not there anymore), the basin, flume etc. Lots of hiking even from the campground. There is also swimming available down the road at Echo Lake. There are some sites right on the creek. One should check out their site - some areas are hard for a big camper to get around and when it is muddy it can be difficult. The loop to the right would be better for large campers. The only problem with this campground now is that they started taking reservations the last three years and now 88 of the sites are by reservation only. They have also decided in the New Hampshire State Parks to select some premium sites that cost $5 more from June 17 to Labor Day. So now you pay to make the reservation and then pay more for the premium site and it seems that most of them are premium. I think I liked it better when it was first come first serve, except to drive that distance and not get a site was a problem too. We had a beautiful site right on the creek and we rode the bike trails all over. The small town near by also has bike trails that head out to the White Mt National Forest. This campground looks out and up at the mountains all around it - it is beautiful especially in the fall. Great place. For those who can not live without utilities the State Park at Cannon Mt, just about a mile away has a few sites with electricity, swimming and views of the mountain - even during the winter months for those who snowmobile and ski. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com