215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Jefferson, New Hampshire (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.29 miles NW
10.07 miles SW
10.63 miles E
11.87 miles E
13.44 miles SW
16.27 miles NE
17.74 miles SW
19.41 miles SW
20.92 miles NW
22.15 miles SE
23.25 miles SE
26.56 miles SW
27.95 miles SW
28.60 miles SE
29.20 miles NE
29.20 miles NE
31.35 miles SW
31.76 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Six Gun City
0.76 miles SE
Mount Washington Cog Rai
9.52 miles SE
Mount Washington State
9.56 miles SE
Kwik Stop (Loc Unk)
Lancaster
9.66 miles NW
Bretton Woods Ski Area
10.42 miles S
Wildcat Mountain Ski Are
12.29 miles SE
Mount Washington Auto R
12.60 miles SE
New Hampshire
Jefferson
Most Recently Reviewed
Fort Jefferson Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-21 13:33:15
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Jefferson, New Hampshire
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
This is our first time staying at Fort Jefferson Campground. We chose this CG because it is in northern NH, and had hoped for a northern NH camping experience. Unfortunately it is another CG that caters primarily to its seasonal residents. Our site (98) was at the end of a row of sites, completely open with no shade whatsoever. With my rig set up the kids had barely enough room to play on our own site. The constant onslaught of kids on electric cars & bikes got old. I understand that there isn't much room to roam, but these cars going by every 5 minutes (starting at 7:00-7:30 AM) makes it impossible to enjoy a quiet coffee in the AM. Even the owner (I assume it is the owner, he is the only one driving around on a "Gator" vehicle, no other gas powered vehicles on the property) drives around the whole place giving his kids rides....all afternoon...EVERY DAY. It is enough to drive you crazy. If you don't believe me, try it out for a weekend...you will see. The bathroom (one for the whole place) was consistently dirty and ran out of TP almost every day. The showers (albeit free) had very inconsistent hot water. The park next door (Formerly Six Gun City, now called Fort Jefferson Fun Park) and the CG are owned by the same family. I understand the need to stabilize income, and open to seasonals (its happening everywhere now), but this is getting out of hand. The "clique" atmosphere takes over at these places, and makes us traditional campers feel as if we shouldn't be there. I'm not saying the folks weren't nice, but when you go to do the one thing there is to do (the pool) and it is overrun with one family (we learned that one family has 7 seasonal sites here, all with 3+ children each....you can imagine the size of this group!) it definitely puts a damper on your plans. The people were nice, the facilities & sites were subpar, the CG was mostly occupied by local seasonals (most lived mear minutes away). Fort Jefferson Fun Park was entertaining for the kids, but it is not even a shadow of what it used to be. It kills me to see a great little park die slowly like it appears to be doing. I wish they would partner with other local parks & businesses to help improve their situation. If you ever wanted to see Six Gun City, or if you remember it from your childhood, you better check it out before it is gone forever. Sants Village is just a 10 minute drive away too... Bottom line, we will not be returning to the CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
The draw of this campground is Six Gun City, same owners and they offer length of stay passes. Many seasonals that seemed mostly neat, no build structures. Sites are tight and you can only do so much with Six Gun City which is geared to the very young. New owners are expanding and improving so in a few years could be better. New bathhouse would be a great direction to go as the one they have is very dated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   10   8   6   8   7   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
This campground is located across the street from Santa's Village amusement park so it attracts a lot of families with small children. For those families, this would probably be a 10 as it is neat with clean restrooms and nice looking swimming pools. Unfortunately we didn't realize this when we pulled in for a one night stopover. While we do like children, there were just a lot of them, many tired from a long day and some without adequate parental supervision, so a lot of crying, shouting, and other commotion well into the evening. So if you have small children and want a great place to visit the amusement park, this campground is for you. If you want a peaceful evening, then suggest looking elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
Great campground, it is a little open for our liking but made it great for the small group we were with. Two pools well sized for the campground and very clean. Owners do regular trash pick-up and staff was pleasant. Centrally located to a lot of white mountain attractions. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We have stayed at The Lantern many times with friends (camping) and parents (motel). Each time continues to impress, but this last stay exceeded our expectations. The facilities and grounds are spotless, and the service from the office staff and everyone is excellent. Couldn't ask for a better campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lantern Resort Motel & Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com