206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Swanzey, New Hampshire (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.17 miles SW
12.74 miles SW
14.37 miles SE
16.37 miles SE
17.14 miles NE
17.70 miles S
18.42 miles S
19.01 miles NE
19.15 miles SW
19.76 miles SE
21.69 miles W
21.69 miles W
23.66 miles NE
25.23 miles NW
25.52 miles NE
30.01 miles SE
34.99 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
350 Winchester St
5.00 miles NW
Keene State College
5.13 miles N
176 Main
5.22 miles N
Tully Lake Recreation A
13.29 miles SE
New Hampshire
Swanzey
Most Recently Reviewed
Swanzey Lake Camping Area
Latest Review Submited On
2012-10-09 14:13:49
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Swanzey, New Hampshire
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
There are 7 sites with w/e/s and 12 sites with w/e and the rest are excellent tent sites. There is one cabin and a second being restored. A small game room as well as a playground for small children is available. The campground is well groomed and well kept. There is fishing and canoeing/kayaking on the Ashuelot River. It is a very quiet campground and well managed. There is a lot to see and do nearby, from theater to stock car racing. Nearby is the city of Keene and Keene State College, lots of stores and eateries. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
Very Happy. This campground is very quiet. No activities this time of year but rec hall with some games and jungle gym for kids. Really, better campground for singles and those w/out kids. Nice, big spaces. Full hookup sites are a little smaller. 1 bath house was clean. Very friendly owners who help where needed. Nice and close to local cities w/beautiful site seeing spots. Check out Pumpkin Festival this time of year. pumkinfestival.org Close to fairgrounds which bus you into the festival. Festival was awesome. Food was incredible and very inexpensive. Gotta see this during the day and at night. Loved the campground and the quietness. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
A simple campground, no frills, just your quiet, beautiful campground. If you are looking for activities to fill your children's day this probably isn't the place. They have a small playground and arcade but no organized activities. This is the type of campground we are drawn to, no golf carts flying around, small and very friendly staff. I would not hesitate to go back to this little gem! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Ashuelot River Campground
Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
The camper sites are wooded, but can be navigated with care. We had no trouble bringing in the 25' Outback and we are novices. Owners are friendly and accommodating; lake is beautiful in the fall and photographic opportunities abound. There are boat rentals and fishing, and swimming in the summer. Many sites have full hookups. The bathrooms with showers are at the camp store area, are clean and there is plenty of hot water. Our wooded site had full hookups, so nobody needed to use the outhouses that are sprinkled through the camping areas. They have stone fireplace rings at each site, and the camp permit dictates that fires be no more than knee height and be out before leaving them. It is a forested area, so care is required. We had a wonderful time. Site was rustic, clean and well supplied. Owners have created an excellent wooded camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We were looking for a weekend get away that was not too far to travel for us and a relative. We found Swanzey Lake Camping area thru an internet search. I could not find to many reviews but the web site looked OK and the lake area was inviting. We arrived on Thursday afternoon and the first impression of the campground was poor. The entrance to the campground had boat trailers parked all over the place, a disabled vehicle next to an old shed. The first appearance was a campground that was not kept up. After checking in we were given directions to our site. The roads in the campground were very narrow and rough, other campers had a difficult time navigation the turns. When we found our site we got out of the vehicle too look around. The site was a spot in the woods that had been filled with sandy fill and each time it rained our site (along with others turned to brown mud and the fill started to wash away. Trying to keep the sand out of the RV was a constant chore. The quiet hours were from 10:00 to about 8:00 am but they were not really enforced. This campground was mostly seasonals. As we walked around the campground we could often smell sewage, we could not determine where the smell was coming from. The web site states that they have a rec hall with games and a pool table, all there was is a porch with some games and a pool table that was in a tight area so it was difficult to use it. The only thing that was nice and kept up at this campground was the lake area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com