206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Fort Sumner, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Billy The Kid Museum
0.50 miles SE
New Mexico
Fort Sumner
Most Recently Reviewed
Valley View Mobile Home & RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-11 07:41:31
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Fort Sumner, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   7   8   8   7   5   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
This campground is located to the north of Fort Sumner, six miles off of route 84. Driving down the flat grasslands of New Mexico’s eastern plains, all of a sudden you come to a dam and a huge lake. The hillsides of juniper and the blue waters of the lake with a rocky shoreline contrast with the dry, desert like drive to the campground. It costs $14 for electric and they do take reservations for some sites. The main Pecos campground where we stayed, sits up on a hill. There is a visitor center there and at the Mesquite campground which has water only. Primitive sites are available right around the lake. There are also two other areas for camping: the Pecos River campground with no hookups and the Eastside Campground that has electric but it is a first come first serve. The Pecos Campground was nice looking down on the lake with shelters for the picnic tables. The Eastside campsites are closer to the water but no showers. The bath house was clean and there was one shower. There is a trail to look down on the huge dam but the lake is dry because of the drought. The lake has 2,700 acres and there are a couple of boat docks in the park. Fishing is popular for walleye, crappie, bass and catfish. This was a one night stopover for us as we are heading back east. Fort Sumner is where Billy the Kid was killed. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
We enjoyed the quiet. Our site had water, elec, and a nice lake view. Our site and several others had 3 sided adobe shelter always with shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
This is a beautiful state park, very clean & very quiet. We stayed in the Eastside Campground & had it to ourselves for 2 nights. Sites are large & lots of space between sites. Saw lots of deer. Park staff is very friendly & helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Sumner Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   8   8   8   7   8   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Great little park. Stay 2 nights. Great Wi-Fi. Very friendly little town. Museum down the street was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Nice little park to explore the area. Clean, level, gravel and dirt sites. Long pull throughs with convenient utilities. Not a lot of shade but grass between nice wide sites with plenty of room for slide outs. Restaurant across street (Freds) is great with New Mexican and American food. Full service bar has beautiful old bar and backbar. See museum, half block away, also. We look forward to returning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Basic overnight park. Nice long pull through sites. Active elevated Railroad tracks an estimated 100 yards north of the park and a crossing close by. There are the accompanying whistles with each passing train. Price is right so we would definitely stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Valley View Mobile Home & RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com