206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Red River, New Mexico (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
1.00 miles SW
6.51 miles E
14.58 miles NE
15.27 miles W
22.33 miles S
22.33 miles S
28.33 miles SE
28.33 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Red River Ski Area
9.29 miles E
Austing Haus B&B
11.41 miles SE
Taos Ski Valley
11.96 miles S
No Name 106
15.59 miles SW
New Mexico
Red River
Most Recently Reviewed
Red River RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-19 20:47:42
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Red River, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$8.5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$8.5
This is a little piece of Heaven!!!! By far the nicest forest service campground we've ever encountered. Wide access roads - all blacktop as well as blacktop parking aprons. The campsites in the lower section, around the circle to the left as you enter, have beautiful concrete patios on which are a picnic table, grill, and fire pit. It was peaceful and the noise of the gurgling stream was louder than that of the road. The vaulted toilets were spotlessly clean and the camp host set out fabric softener sheets in the vents to keep it smelling nice and cut down on the flies. We stayed here four nights and although there were no hookups, potable water is available to fill up your containers of any sort including the motor home water tank. Also, you are able to drain your gray water into the treed area alongside the site. The campsites were large and private. Our AT&T 3G service worked great. Fire wood is available at $6 a bunch; kindling is free. We did not experience the problems with flies as one other reviewer detailed. We would love to stay here again and may make it a destination some time in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
This campground is located approx. 7 miles west of Red River and 5 miles east of Questa. It’s located in the Carson National Forest and sits at 7,900 ft. There’s a creek that flows through the campground with campsites on either side. Some sites are closer to the creek then others. There are 4 threaded water spigots located along the campground loop. All of the bathrooms are vault toilets, they were always clean!! No showers here…At the top of the loop is the trail head parking with a restroom and a threaded water spigot. There’s plenty of room to fill your water tanks without blocking the road. This is a very pretty campground with nice campsites. Our site (#20) was big enough for our 35’ MH and our tow car. Behind the MH was a little meadow where we were able to get tv satellite reception. We also had cell phone reception here too but no computer reception. The apron’s are asphalt and so is the interior road. The sites were level and very clean. Trash dumpsters are located near the beginning of the campground. The camp host is a real character, if you need information on the area she’s been there for 13 years. The only thing that was a drag was the fly population. There were 3 sizes to pick from and they never left you alone. Bug spray was their drink of choice. After battling them for 6 days we put up our screened room, we were there a total of 14 days which is the stay limit. The town of Red River has a nice market, Der Market. There’s lots to see and do. We would see the llamas being trucked into our campground around 9:00 am and the guide would load provisions on them for day hikes up the trail. Red River also has a visitor center where you can get lots of info on the area. The Carson National Forest Ranger’s Station is located just before entering Questa from the east. There are a few places where you can dump your black water. One being Red River Sewage which is between Red River and Columbine CG. (505) 754-6671, the charge is $8.00. It’s the closest one to the campground. You're allowed to run your gray water next to the trees. We used this campground as home base to explore the “enchanted circle” and would love to return again some day. We were here a little after the middle of June to early July. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
August 2009
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
This is a very nice Campground in the Kit Carson National Forest. Located on New Mexico State Highway 38 about 3 miles west of Red River NM at an elevation of nearly 8,600 on the GPS. With paved interior roads, it has four sites with level concrete pads. The remaining 16 sites have paved asphalt parking areas for RV's with their tables and fire rings adjacent in the dirt. About 3/4's of the sites can accommodate big rigs and long fifth wheels. Each site has a campfire grill and a picnic table. Water is available at several locations. Most of the camp sites are 50 to 80 feet from the other sites and masked by trees. Sites are nestled amidst large Ponderosa pines and Aspens. With our Golden Age Pass we paid $7.50 per night. Definitely a campground to come back to. Full on weekends with space usually available during the weekdays: at least that's what the camp host said. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$8
This is a great national forest campground with level concrete pads at each site. It has campfire grill and a picnic table on a paved patio at each site. Water is available at several locations. Each site is 70-80 feet from the other and masked by trees. The campground was spotless and the air was clean and fresh. Sites are nestled amidst large Ponderosa pines and Aspens. Why anyone would camp in a side by side RV park in Red River when this is available is beyond reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Tuesday, June 4 – Fawn Lakes – Carson National Forest, Red River, New Mexico. This is one of five National Forest campgrounds near Red River, New Mexico, on the Scenic Byway, the Enchanted Circle. Most of the campsites are along the river, and there are sites big enough for 30ft RV’s. The best sites are for tenters or those with vans right on the river, but all sites are close to the river. No hookups, but water is available, and the pit toilets were very clean. It is a beautiful campground located under the Ponderosa Pines with some fir and spruce trees. Everyone can hear the river running southwest, and there are some paths along the river for walking to the lake. Fawn Lake (3 acres- four little lakes) is here for fishing which is also opened up to day trippers. Beautiful lake stocked with fish. The night we were there two young women were fishing at the lake and a bear came down the other side looking for food. It is bear country so beware. They now take reservations here since last fall, and the rest are first come. The cost was $17 and half with a pass. Beautiful and peaceful stop for a night or more. The four season town of Red River is less than two miles east on Route 38 which is also on the Enchanted Circle Scenic Byway. This is the most popular byway and the one that is heavily promoted in the state of New Mexico. My husband wanted to stay a week here, it was so enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This RV park is a gravel parking lot with hookups on the edges. There is a nice stream the runs by it. The internet never worked and when the camp hosts were told they did not seem to care. The trash bins are not within the RV park. You have to walk out of the park to throw away trash. Red River the town is really nice. It is in a beautiful valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Office/management staff is very friendly and helpful. The park is very small and camp sights are fairly narrow with very little shading. The park is next to the main road through town, and is very noisy during the daytime, however, it does quite down overnight. Our cable box didn't work during our stay and the WiFi was adequate. We did not use the restrooms or showers. There is a $2 per person charge for showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Rate is for the Motorcycle Rally weekend. As stated in other posts, it is a gravel parking lot with spaces marked for RVs. The owners bought the park in Oct 11. Nice Folks, helped with parking, which was a bonus. The park doesn't have a lot of room to turn a 40' 5er. We were backed up to the river, and enjoyed hearing it gurgle. Humming birds all over the place, a big baseball field across the river to let the dog run. Not much in amenities, but a great place to stay. We will be back next year for the rally. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Red River RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   3   8   9   9   5   8   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Called on a Thursday for a 3 day weekend during the local Oktoberfest. Owner was very friendly on the phone and was able to accommodate. Previous reviews are spot on. Campground is a large gravel lot with 30 RV spots. All spots are back in. We were put into #30. Spot was fairly level side-to-side but it was up hill backing in resulting in the nose being lower than the tail of the rig even after disconnecting from the truck. Price was for a 50 amp connection, only needed 30 amps but the 30 amp plug had burned up and not been repaired so "had" to use and pay for the 50 amps at $4 more per night. We traveled with 3 four legged kids, but there was little to no area for them to go do their business. Water hookups are shared. Apparently, even numbers spots have to use a spigot on either the other side of your rig or one on the other side of the rig to the left of you. Fortunately, I had extra hoses. When temps drop below freezing they shut off and padlock the spigots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
This park has nice hosts and nice pond and the Red River running thru it. However, the park is very run down and needs updating. The owner put several new sites on the hwy side of the pond and the roads to them were pot holed and muddy. The site we stayed in was rocky and very unlevel. All that said, we will probably come back because we love Red River. This park has everything going for it but maintenance and updating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Very nice location. We had a site by the river with a great view. The site was the most unlevel site we have ever stayed at. There were big rocks in the gravel site, and there was no way to exit the site without backing up all the way out. The staff seemed tired and overworked, but were friendly. The park has great potential but needs some work. We enjoyed the cool weather and the wild animals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for River Ranch RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   1   8   10   8   1   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
We camped in site 33 which was considered a river site. Overall the park is very nice. However, it appears that tree trimming is needed - too many low branches and trees in the way. We also found that one of the desk help was a bit on the crabby side. Sadly we learned that the park is being changed to long term rentals next year, and it is doubtful that we would stay here for the 1-4 month periods that are being offered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
We really like this RV park. We had 3 sites on the river and had a great trip. Unfortunately we found out when we arrived that this is our last time to be able to stay here because the 2012 season starts seasonal (4 months) or monthly rentals only (and no monthly sites are on the river! This information really put a damper on our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$41
This is a great RV Park!! The park is very well maintained and the staff/camp hosts were awesome and very helpful! We definitely recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Roadrunner RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com