214974 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Tucumcari, New Mexico (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
New Mexico
Tucumcari
Most Recently Reviewed
Tucumcari KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-19 19:37:37
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Tucumcari, New Mexico
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   7   9   5   7   9   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
Very nice simple park with friendly, helpful owners. New 50 amp service, water, and sewer hookups on most sites. Sundays most restaurants closed. Nice strolling area on Rt. 66. Would stay longer and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
Your basic place to stay while on the road on Route 66. Very rustic, used to be a motel. We would not recommend for children. All the utilities worked very well. We have stayed here before and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
This RV park is a real sleeper. It certainly doesn't look appealing but then nothing much in Tucumcari does. The rate shown is with Good Sam discount and included w/s/e(50amp), CATV and Wi-Fi. Everything work just fine. It used to be a motel or motor court many years ago, like back in the 1940's. It is no longer used as that but the buildings are still there. There is a good restaurant right next door serving American and Mexican food. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cactus RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$4
$4 per night using the out-of-state NM annual camping permit (regular price is $14) was for a 50A electric and water site on a level large gravel site. In addition, the generously sized site had a sheltered picnic table with a pedestal BBQ grill (which could not be used as they had a no wood or charcoal burning ban due to extremely high fire danger). There is a dump station at the campground entrance. The campground host was very helpful and friendly. Many sites overlook Conchas Lake and there are primitive sites at the lake's edge. The scenery includes many shortish coniferous trees and desert plants among the large rock strewn landscape. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park was very quiet during our stay but I can imagine lots of noise in the summer. During our stay, there were high winds on several days including one night with wind gusts of 45 mph. The ranger led tour of the dam was informative and interesting. The campground is 35 miles west of Tucumcari, NM which offers limited shopping and dining. We received five bars of Edge on our AT&T cell phone which was sufficient for talking and texting. We received no service on our Millenicom jet pack. The park advertised Wi-Fi but it will not be up and running until May 6. There was Wi-Fi available at the marina store and the 104 store. OTA TV brought in 2 analog and 2 digital channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$4
Conchas Lake has numerous areas to camp. There are 104 developed sites and 41 electric and water sites. The campgrounds are located in various areas of the lake. I believe there’s primitive camping along the shoreline in some areas. The area we stayed in was Bell Point campground which has power and water hookups. Each site has a 3 sided shelter with a picnic table on a concrete slab and a pedestal BBQ near the shelter. It’s very dusty when breezy, interior road is dirt and no one seems to drive slow through the campground. Some sites are closer together then others, some are pull thrus, but most are back ins. ALL sites are on a reservation system which was a pain since there wasn't any cell/internet service there. The gal in the Park Office was nice enough to let me use their phone to make a reservation. If you just need a site for one night and sites are available (the post at each site has a green vacant sign or red occupied sign on them), go to the park office. It’s located further down the main road on the left. There’s a marina with a grocery/tackle shop/lounge/diner. There’s also a phone booth outside which we needed to use since it was Mother’s Day. Weekends are very busy but midweek was quiet. Nice views of the lake and surrounding area. You might want to use your water pump when showering, pressure wasn’t that great. While there we saw people boating, fishing and water skiing. Dump Station is located across from the campground entrance. Make sure you‘re stocked up with food since the closest town is in Tucumcari, which is about 35 miles away. We would stay here again but only midweek. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   7   8   10   7   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
This was a very unusual park but great for an overnight stop if you are near Tucumcari. Opt for a spot at the back corner of the park. Facing the open field gave a nice view of the mountain. There were a number of run down campers that appeared to have someone living in the park, but no one was around that caused any concerns. Fine for the price charged. The staff was helpful in setting up our stay. Horses were allowed, and a pen with an outbuilding was at one end of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
This is a quiet park with easy on/off of the interstate. There are not a lot of bells and whistles, but the people were friendly and helpful. Fine for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
Easy access to I-40. Very basic with gravel sites and no shower or restrooms. Minimal upkeep, but for $15 for full hookups it works for a day or two stay over. If you need the amenities and aesthetics, better look elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Empty Saddle RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   5   7   2   9   10   7   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
No-frills campground that seems to be the best one in town. Sites are behind a closed motel. Quiet, tree-shaded, level. Owner and staff are friendly and helpful and are working hard to improve the park. Electricity, water, sewer and cable good. Wi-Fi is good when it's working, but you get kicked off frequently and I was never able to get on consistently at night. No facilities except for one motel room that is open to use the bathroom and shower. Mostly permanents. Short walk to Del's Restaurant, which I highly recommend. I would probably stay here again if I ever plan to be in Tucumcari again, which I don't..... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
We looked at all the RV parks in the area and this one was close to the sites on Route 66. The sites are a little uneven,full hookups,cable and Wi-Fi. There are people who live here full time. All we met were very friendly. The owner is very friendly and explained all that they have done since buying the property. I do believe this place has great potential. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
It'll do is how I'd sum up this place; certainly nothing fancy with just gravel and dirt parking but quite a few shade trees. Best part about this park is it's very quiet. RV park is behind an old motel that appears to be used now as low rent apartments but everyone was quiet. showers/ restroom is just one motel room left open for RV visitors to use. Seemed to work out but just didn't feel very clean. Poor TV reception over cable but other utilities including WIFI worked well. Owner was friendly but office reeked of cigarette smoke. Also be aware that this a cash only deal. If you are a geocacher, there are several within easy walking distance. There is a Kmart just a block to the east. If I come through this area again I would probably stay here again as others in town didn't look any better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Kiva RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   9   5   6   9   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
A convenient overnight stop off of I-40. We have stayed here several times. Walking distance to Pilot and Love's fuel/food stops. A short drive to town, if you need more food options. Some visitors have not cleaned up after their pets at some sites, but most are clean. Rate reflects Good Sam/50 amp. AT&T phones were off-network, and had only an "E" (Edge) connection. 4 washers (all working) and 4 dryers (3 working). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
The rate reflects a one night stay in a 50amp site with the Good Sam discount. We didn’t see any signage coming in on highway 54. There is some highway noise. We picked our site and unfortunately picked one where the sewer wasn’t working. There are gravel roads and gravel pads. Ours was fairly level. Water pressure was good. It was an OK place for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We pulled in about 1:30 PM. The office was locked and no one was around. We tried to call but received some weird message about call couldn't be completed. We finally put our payment into an envelope and picked a site. Wi-Fi OK but slow. Cable very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mountain Road RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   3   9   5   8   9   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Great stop for the night, but it's no destination resort. Nice clean pool and lots of playground equipment. Unfortunately, the equipment is old and very dangerous. The sites are well spaced out with a few trees. The laundry is cheap and open all night and Wi-Fi worked great. It was surprisingly quiet for how close to the highway it is, but perhaps because of the 30 knot wind. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
The park looks a little cleaner since we were here last year. Very friendly people. New picnic tables. Can eat in the restaurant if you want. Wifi is a little weak. Satellite worked great. Nice overnight stop. Price is for 1 adults and 2 kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
When possible, we always stay at KOA campgrounds. We would not; however, recommend this one. The campground itself is OK with big wide pull throughs, a dog park (very very small), and good location. However, we were treated very rudely by the maintenance staff. They advertised a hot tub. After a long day on the road, a hot tub is nice. However, when we went to the pool area one of their maintenance workers was there. We asked if we could use the hot tub and he said "only if you don't mind there's no water in it." He could have just said he was sorry that it wasn't in operation. Don't plan to ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tucumcari KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com