223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Saugerties, New York (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.41 miles SE
9.72 miles E
10.93 miles NW
11.09 miles SE
11.85 miles NE
14.37 miles NW
16.31 miles SW
18.84 miles SW
20.25 miles NW
20.39 miles E
23.15 miles SW
29.62 miles SW
31.32 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Cafe Tamayo
1.54 miles NE
Bard College
4.76 miles SE
Joshua's
7.55 miles SW
Pj Mcglynn'S
7.60 miles SE
Cortina Valley Ski Area
8.22 miles NW
Campers' Barn Of Kingsto
8.86 miles SW
Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome
9.31 miles SE
Le Canard Echaine
9.85 miles SW
Bear Cafe
10.51 miles W
Beekman 1766 Tavern
11.16 miles SE
Sams Club 801 Frank Sottile Blvd (Located To Zip)
13.28 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
601 Frank Sottile Blvd
13.28 miles SW
Catskill Game Farm
13.78 miles N
Stewart House - Catskill
15.66 miles NE
Rebecca'S - Hudson
15.76 miles NE
American Museum Of Fire
16.41 miles NE
New York
Saugerties
Most Recently Reviewed
Saugerties / Woodstock KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-09 17:53:55
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Saugerties, New York
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
The entrance from either direction from RT 32 is a hairpin turn that we barely made, then a sharp uphill climb in the reverse direction to the office. The bathrooms were very run down and dirty. This is NOT a good location for any Class A and especially not a big rig. All the roads are hills with tree roots growing through them. All the sites are sloped except the ones the full-timers have. There is a pool and a playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   10   3   10   10   9   2   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We drive at least six hours, two times a year, to stay at Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds. This is, by far, our favorite campground. The place is very well maintained by management and staff who really make you feel at home -- they will go out of their way to make sure you are having the best camping experience possible. The property is wooded and you feel secluded with privacy on each and every site. Our favorite site is in the section they call "The Ledges" which gives us a huge site with a large cliff face in the back that is all ours. There are so many more beautiful sites, but we come back to this one every time. There is a fishing pond and a stream/river that runs through the property and the vast property offers lots of trails and forest for exploring. There is an old fashioned swimming hole on the stream with a rope swing and a small beach which seems to be a gathering place for many. For those who need bathrooms and showers, they have them and they are spotless. How can they not be when they are checked by staff on a regular basis all day long? There is so much more I could say about Rip Van Winkle, but I don't want to spoil all of the surprises for others. I will only add that there is no place like it. I know you will enjoy your stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$52
We overnighted here on our way home. It was pouring when we got there and our site flooded a bit, but it had dried up completely the next morning. A walk around the campground revealed a very nice swimming hole, a large clean pool, and some beautiful, large sites. The tent sites along the stream are particularly nice. I would make a special trip to camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$52
The campground is heavily wooded, and the sites were large with lots of privacy. We had a lot of rain and the trees prevented the camp from drying out, but the drainage was very good. We didn’t make use of all of the facilities, but after looking around, everything seemed to be well maintained. The showers were .25 for 8 minutes, but were usually generous with the time. They were clean with plenty of hot water. We will put this place on our return list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Rip Van Winkle Campground
Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   9   8   10   5   4   8   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2014
$41
I think I must have been in a different campground than the previous reviewers! Perhaps I have become too accustomed to campgrounds that truly cater to big rigs. The entrance to the park is a long dirt road that ends with a fairly steep hill up to the office area. I had called that morning to reserve a site and was told a reservation would not be necessary based upon my projected arrival time, and that there were plenty of pull throughs available. When we arrived on schedule, the park's owner commented that if he had a 40 foot motor home, he wouldn't go anywhere without a reservation, and I must have spoken to his son who was "too lazy" to make it. Oops! We were put in site 59, told we would not have to unhook our toad. Very tricky turns around trees, stupid us, should have unhooked anyway. Site was heavily wooded, 30 amp WSE, dirt, pull through, no grass for pets. One of my dogs cut her foot on glass when I walked her. Leaving early the next morning was also tricky for a big coach because there were cars parked in the roadway on the only way out. Perhaps there are other pull throughs on the other side of the park that are better suited to big rigs, but we did not see them. The long and short of it, if you driving the New York Thruway and want to stay at this park, be sure to make an advance reservation suitable for your coach! Located about 2 miles off I-87. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$54
We have stayed here many times over the years. Staff (owners) are very friendly and always willing to help. Everything is well maintained. They do not accept seasonals which is a big plus for us. It is a very easy on/off the New York State Thruway with gas stations and plenty of places to eat around. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$47
Very pleasant CG in a wooded setting. Owners are very nice and pretty much run the place by themselves. Roads and sites are gravel and have a few rough spots but not too bad. We were shown to our site and it was easy to maneuver our 40' MH even with the toad attached. We had a pull-through and getting in and out was not a problem. The dense tree cover makes satellite reception difficult except probably in the spring before the leaves come out. There was free cable but we didn't bother with it. We were able to stream video on Verizon 4G without difficulty although we have a Wilson Sleek which I think made a difference here. The CG is an easy couple of miles from the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Saugerties / Woodstock KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com