223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Wilmington, New York (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.30 miles SW
13.90 miles SE
14.71 miles SW
19.13 miles W
19.67 miles NE
19.67 miles NE
20.54 miles NE
24.93 miles SE
26.80 miles S
28.33 miles NE
30.25 miles SE
31.79 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Santa'S Workshop
1.38 miles NE
The Lake Placid Olympic
3.07 miles SE
Whiteface Mountain Ski C
5.40 miles SW
Lake Placid Lodge - Lake
9.55 miles SW
Averil Conwell Dining Roo
9.66 miles SW
Le Bistro Laliberte
9.81 miles SW
New York
Wilmington
Most Recently Reviewed
Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-19 19:33:08
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Wilmington, New York
Camp Information
Sites
218
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   10   9   9   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$56
We arrived a bit early and felt unwelcomed by the lady at the front desk who seemed furious that we would dare to do so! She did begrudgingly requested that someone check to see if our site was empty, which it was. In fact, there was hardly anyone in the back part of the campground where our site was located. Other than the undesirable reception, the rest of our stay was pleasant. All hookups worked perfectly, as did the cable. The Wi-Fi signal was not constant. The bathhouse (Restroom #1) in our area was immaculate, showers strong, hot and the washer and dryer were efficient. It’s a heavily wooded setting with a dirt surface. I’m not sure I’d want to be there in the rain, as I expect it might be a sea of mud. We didn’t use the pool, eat in the snack bar or participate in the many advertised activities, but others looked as if they were having an enjoyable time. It’s a great spot for exploring this beautiful area of the Adirondacks. A trip to the town of Lake Placid is a must, as is a visit to the site of the 1980 Winter Olympics, and a drive up Whiteface Mountain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$56
Fantastic campground close to all there is to do in the Lake Placid area. The only negative was the location of our deluxe patio site. It is at the entrance to campground so you have a steady stream of cars passing 20 yards from the patio. Also, the immediate view is of the office and the dumpsters in the distance. One morning a staff member cleaned the road using a blower and completely covered our camper and breakfast in dirt. If they moved the patio sites to the rear of the campground it would be much better. We got to meet the Olympic bobsled and skeleton team there and the other events were well run and entertaining. Wi-Fi worked perfect. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Great location with an easy drive. The roads can be very narrow at times along with the sites. All sites are dirt and many flood when it rains. We first arrived while it was raining to find our site underwater. Asked at office and luckily were able to move. Be aware that the rows to the front of campground are larger and less prone to flooding. My first impression was not good. It is also confusing how to drive around the campground as I went the wrong way. Again it was pouring and very crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn KOA
Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   8   10   6   9   9   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
This campground has a lot going well for it. It is very clean and well maintained. Each spot is raked and cleaned after the camper leaves. Hookups are well done and in the right location for a variety of units. We were in the front part of the CG and it seemed a bit less crowded than the River end. Water pressure was OK and cable did fine. Site was pretty level. They have a nice playground and pool plus a game room inside, outside bocci, basketball, and a clean laundry. For all those reasons the place would be a 9 or 10. Unfortunately, there are some negatives that caused me to rate them lower. Depending upon your needs these may, or may not, be an issue. When reserving online, we thought River front sites were available. At check in, we found there are no motor home slots at all. We had included that request in the notes but no one bothered to let us know. They just took our money and would not likely have refunded it if we were unhappy. The WiFi is awful. In four days we never managed to get a good connection. We even went into their hotspot area which did not help at all. I heard the same comments from three other campers. When we asked about it, the lady in the office looked at her computer and said, "it is working fine here, must be OK". Finally, the place was quiet at night but, during the day, neighbors felt the need to serenade us with their choices of music plus the poolside music could be heard. Country on one side and Classic Elvis on the other. It is difficult to sing along to two tunes. The hosts frequently patrolled the area and it did not seem to disturb them. I would stay in the front area again, my wife would not want to return. That's the story, as I see it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Campground in good location near Lake Placid and other attractions. Staff helpful and friendly. Sites fairly close and road to camping area narrow; only one way in and out. Bathhouses old but clean. Located on river and you can rent kayaks at the campground. Have a well stocked camp store. The playground, putt-putt, and pool were very nice. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
We stayed in the section along the river. The campground is well maintained and has a separate section for tents. The sites are pretty tight. However, they were assigning them on an every other one basis because there was not that much demand. There is a lot to do in the area and the drive up Whiteface Mountain should not be missed if the weather is clear. The Ausable River is dammed at this location which provides for an enjoyable canoe or kayak outing. We would stay here again if in the area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for North Pole Resorts
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com