224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
0.68 miles N
5.37 miles SE
6.09 miles S
23.09 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Gros Morne National Par
2.55 miles NE
Newfoundland
Gros Morne National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Trout River Campground (Parks Canada)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-03 19:55:48
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$16
This campground is best suited for tents and small RV's. There is cell phone coverage throughout the park. There is a dump station but black tank flushes are not possible because there is no fitting at the end of the hose - good planning Parks Canada. The rate quoted is with the $8 discount per day with the annual Parks Canada Discovery pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Nice Park, well placed, staff was excellent. Great hiking to beautiful places. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Most of the sites are better for tents than trailers, and are dark due to the density of the woods that they are carved into. We were able to scout out a few nice more open sites (so I could use my Solar panels) and enjoyed our stay. The showers and bathrooms were clean and plentiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Berry Hill Campground (Parks Canada)
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$16
This campground is about equidistant from Wiltondale and the charming town of Woody Point. It is an unserviced Parks Canada campground with 30 sites including 3 waterfront tent sites. All sites have a picnic table and firepit. Weak cell phone coverage is available. The dump station (with black tank flush hose) and filling of fresh water tank are at the entrance to the campground, which is 4 km away from the sites. However, most sites have a grey tank disposal, so if you are staying for a long period you do not have to make the 8km return trek to the dump station. There are two covered shelters with washrooms, dish washing sinks, and wood stoves. They even provide dish soap and a dish rack. Only one of the shelters has electric lights (which turn off at 11pm due to being powered by a generator), hot water, and free hot showers. There are non-threaded water spigots throughout the campground. Wood ($) is available. Sites are available only on a first-come basis, but seldom is this campground full. And even if it is, ask about setting up in the circle - you will not be disappointed! There is a boat launch. CC are accepted. There is self-registration if no attendant is present. The lovely Stanleyville trail begins in the campground and two other trails are close by. The rate shown is with an annual Parks Canada Discovery pass which gives an $8 discount per night. The closest grocery store is in Deer Lake, so shop accordingly for fresh meat and produce. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$16
Talk about a campground that has nothing - this is it. No water or electric sites, not even a dump station on site. There is no phone service with any carrier. The closest place to get cell phone reception is 20 km away at the Discovery Centre. The campground does have a kitchen shelter that supposedly has WiFi, but during my 4 day stay I never met anyone who could connect. There are 2 electric outlets in the kitchen shelter but they are powered by a generator that is turned on only from 8:30 pm to 11pm. Have you ever tried washing dishes in a sink with faucets that require you to hold them open constantly or take a shower where you have to push it on every 3 to 5 seconds ? - just more fun experiences that await you at this campground. And do not even think about camping here if your RV is over 28 feet long, except in site #44, which can accommodate somewhat larger rigs. While sites are generally quite private they have very narrow entries. There are no trails within the campground and nothing is within walking distance of the campground. Unlike most national parks where there are advantages to camping within the park, there are no such advantages here - the closest trails are 10 to 15 km away, with the Discovery Centre being 20 km away. Typically I love camping in Canada's national parks; but this is the worst national park campground I have ever stayed in. If you want to spend time exploring the southern part of Gros Morne, my suggestion would be that you commute from Rocky Harbour or stay at The Water's Edge campground in Shoal Brook or one of the two campgrounds in Lomond, which are located on rte 431. BTW the Trout River Pond tour boat is no longer operating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com