206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Asheville, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.10 miles SW
8.26 miles E
11.34 miles S
12.36 miles SE
13.43 miles E
16.56 miles SW
17.22 miles SE
20.63 miles SE
22.48 miles E
22.78 miles SE
23.54 miles SE
23.94 miles SW
24.17 miles SW
25.19 miles NW
27.75 miles SE
27.97 miles SE
29.12 miles SW
31.62 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
The Market Place Restaur
0.05 miles NE
23 Page
0.09 miles NE
Biltmore Estate
0.16 miles NE
Tripps
0.22 miles E
Vincenzo'S - Asheville
0.30 miles NE
Thomas Wolfe Memorial S
0.31 miles NE
Blue Ridge Parkway
0.31 miles E
Bojangles Restaurant
0.58 miles NE
Battery Park Cafe
0.61 miles NW
Annabelle'S Restaurant A
1.05 miles NE
Wal-Mart
29 Tunnell Rd
1.16 miles E
Holiday Inn Sunspree R
1.29 miles SW
Windmill European Grill
1.32 miles E
Greenery
1.40 miles E
Sams Club 645 Patton Ave (Located To Block)
1.49 miles SW
Gabrielle'S
1.96 miles NW
Grove Park Inn Resort -
2.19 miles NE
Criterion Grill
2.19 miles SE
Guadalahara Mexican Rest
2.25 miles SE
Wilson'S Riverfront Rv
(828)254-4676
2.41 miles SW
Fine Friends
2.43 miles N
Calabash West
2.70 miles SW
Quincy'S Family Steak
3.19 miles SE
Buncombe County Golf Cou
3.28 miles SE
Poseidon Steak And Seafoo
4.21 miles E
West Carolina Freightliner 8004893833
5.42 miles SW
Wal-Marti-40:50;50B 1636 Hendersonville Rd (Located To Block)
5.97 miles SE
Southside Cafe
6.40 miles SE
Warren Wilson College
6.56 miles E
Mcguffey'S Grill & Bar
6.92 miles SE
Asheville Regional Airpor
10.61 miles S
North Carolina
Asheville
Most Recently Reviewed
Campfire Lodgings
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-17 13:54:52
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Asheville, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   1   2   9   6   1   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  no  question  no  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  no  question  yes  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
First, the good news. While the majority of the sites are back in and fairly short, they are paved and reasonably level. The RV park is very close to all of Asheville's attractions, as well as, The Blue Ridge Parkway, Arboretum, and Hendersonville. Also, don't overlook the Farmers Market and the Moose Cafe which are a short half mile drive; the biscuits are awesome. Now, for the downside. For $40, after the Good Sam discount, I expect the rest rooms, showers, and laundry room to be reasonably clean and in good repair. They were neither. A good service attitude seems to elude the staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Staff was friendly to us. Our second day there we were notified the local cable company was requiring each TV to have its own digital receiver/converter. The park would let you have one with payment of a REFUNDABLE deposit. We opted out. Antenna reception was adequate. As has been noted, some of the sites can be tough for bigger rigs to back into, especially if someone is parked in front of their rig. The rig across from us was on an unleveled pad. By time they leveled their rig, the front end was 6 to 12 inches off the ground. Looked like the thing was taking off. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
Sites are concrete (ours required some leveling) with small patches of grass, & some have shade. Most sites are narrow. The laundry rooms are adequate and clean. There is road noise; however, at night the campground is pretty quiet. Convenient location for stays of up to two or three days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Asheville's Bear Creek RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   7   5   9   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
The campground was a little difficult to find. My first impression was not very good. The driveway is dirt/gravel, very steep and lots of curves. Upon arriving at the office we were greeted and made to feel right at home. The staff was terrific. Jason the maintenance person was phenomenal. The staff is truly glad to have you at their campground and aren't shy about it. We had to cut our stay short, but we will definitely be back. It's close to down town but far enough away to make you feel secluded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$45
The draw of this park is first and foremost the mountain views and wooded setting. I agree with the other reviews about park condition, surroundings, facilities, etc. It's very small and fills up. Even though this park accommodates big rigs, and we didn't have any problems, it's tight and there is not a lot of room for error. The person who performs park maintenance and security, is the biggest asset (staff wise) to this park IMO. He was extremely helpful in helping us navigate in and out, and did everything he could to make us feel at home. The lady in the office was friendly and helpful to us, but I witnessed her become very impatient with someone on the phone (asking questions about site size and accommodating a 40' RV). This park can accommodate large rigs, just prepare for some maneuvering. Strong Verizon and AT&T signals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$49
The campground was immaculate. Staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The views from this campground exceeded any I have experienced. The Wi-Fi was outstanding. It is a little piece of paradise. The campground is a long way from our home (about 3000 miles) so I won't likely return but I will never forget the experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Campfire Lodgings
Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   7   5   4   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
The paved camp site was FHU with Wi-Fi and cable TV. Access to it was really tight even with our 27 ft 5er. Big rigs beware. No turn around and the access road is really tight. The view of the French Broad River was worth it though. The back bumper of our 5er was at rivers edge. Restrooms very nasty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
The campground is clean but some what ran down. On the positive side the place has the best river front view I ever had in an RV Park. Your rear bumper is hanging over the river bank. There are only 4 to 6 sites have sewage. The full hook-up sites have concrete pads. The pads are narrow. We have a 28th 5th wheel, it fit on the pad comfortable but tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Very nice, small quiet and all spots are on the river. There is lots of wildlife ( Ducks and geese with babies will come to you and let you feed them. We would go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for French Broad River Campground
Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   7   6   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Saturday, June 22 – Pisgah National Forest, Lake Powhatan Recreation Area, Asheville, NC. This campground is located on the west side of Asheville off of route 191 and near the entrance of the Blue Ridge Parkway. There are five loops in the park and this time we stayed in the Big John Loop. It was shaded and we did have electricity, but only one of two sites have electric in this loop. Bent Creek Loop across from our loop has about four sites with electric. Hardtimes Loop – no electric and the loop closer to the lake, but you still have a long walk to get to it was the Lakeside Loop. Right now most of Lakeside Loop have water and sewers and hopefully by 2014 all the sites in this loop will be full hookups. The Lakeside Loop has some huge sites for big RV’s. It cost us with electricity $25, but if you have a pass take 50% off and if you reserve add a reservation fee of $9. You can reserve some of the sites in this park and the others first come except this is a very popular park. This park is beautiful and there is so much to see and do in Ashville and the Blue Ridge Parkway. One can bike, hike and swim in Lake Powhatan. Check in was quick and the host was informative about what to see and do in the area. Bath houses were clean and the showers were great! We were headed east and have stayed here before, so it was just a one night stopover for us, but a nice stop on a beautiful day in June. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
Gravel pads within a nice forest setting. Clean modern toilet/shower combinations in individual units. Peaceful quiet campground with close access to the Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Fantastic first come, first serve campground (after October 15). Beautifully treed and spacious spots are relatively level and paved, plus each site offers great fire ring area. Tremendous hiking and mountain biking opportunities in the park. Sites vary from no utilities to full hookups. There is no cell service; no AT&T, Verizon or Sprint voice or data service… We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lake Powhatan Recreation Area
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Management & staff excellent- friendly and helpful. Clubhouse spacious and clean. Pool available in season. Laundry on site is more reasonable than Laundromat Wooded sites. We were not able to connect to Satellite. No Wi-Fi or cable available. Sites are not level or large but staff will assist in whatever it takes to level and facilitate settling into site. Convenient to Asheville and Western NC attractions. Showers could use more cleaning attention. This is our 3rd year to stay a month at this park. Despite any shortcomings we will return again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   4   2   5   6   9   5   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
On the east side of town, close to I-40 and convenient to Blue Ridge Pkwy, Biltmore etc. Park is old, roads narrow considering that vehicles have to be parked on the road. Back in sites narrow and not real easy to get into, trying to avoid other parked cars and rigs. The cable TV is a new thing where you are issued a small box, cable and remote control. You have to connect this box in line with the input cable to your TV. The TV remote turns your set on and off and controls sound and the extra remote changes channels. It took trying three boxes before we got one that worked. One neighbor never did get one to work (after three tries, then the office was closed). When it worked, the audio was so weak that with the TV turned up to 100% on the sound, you couldn't hear it if you had a fan, A/C or furnace running. I think I'd look for a park somewhere else and drive into town to visit the sites here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
We stayed here for a week at a cost of $219 for a pull-thru with full hook-up. All we wanted was a "base" to operate out of to see the sights of Asheville. For that, it served us well as very close to everything. However, there are many drawbacks to this place. First off, very small and narrow roads within the campground itself. Lucky for us we were on the end and it was easy for us to get into our pull-thru site. With a 40' it would be hairy trying to back into any site. Campground not well maintained and there are several seasonal junky sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Park Is marginal at best, but is very convenient to the Biltmore estate and restaurants. Owner is trying to sell the park and it seems he does not really care about his customers or the park. Restrooms had mud all over the floors, and did not appear very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Taps RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   6   9   5   9   9   8   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
The rate is a Passport rate. This park has nice concrete pads, a river, a bike/walking path & beautiful trees in bloom. The WiFi did not work. You have to use a special cable box to get cable but that did not work. My Verizon Mi-Fi & Sprint phone did work well. The biggest problem for us was the relentless traffic noise. You could not speak to people outside without yelling. Inside with everything closed up, the traffic was still loud and only died down between around 1am to 6am. It was a little difficult getting the scoop on getting into the park as well. Don't try to do the right turn into the park from the off ramp. You have to go 50 yds further and pull into the repair shop lot which is where the office is and register. Then there is a pull around when you make a left that will get you into the park. The trail that goes through the park has heavy use by locals, so there is always people walking by from outside the park. I would not stay here again unless the city built sound barrier walls to drown out the highway noise. It was Really loud and continuous. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
What a wonderful park. We originally planned to stay for a couple weeks. We ended up staying for almost six!! This is a no-frills park. No playground, no meeting rooms, no dog park (but a municipal hike/bike trail literally bisects it). Those things are not useful for us so we were glad to not be paying for them. A perfect park for us with its location, views. concrete pads, Wi-Fi, and cable TV. It has easy access to the rest of the city and all Asheville has to offer. The way it sits on the banks of the French Broad river in a valley keeps wind to a minimum and highway noise is very low. The river edge was about 15 feet out our back window. The way the park is oriented you would never think you were in an urban setting. Were I to own an RV park, I would want this one or one just like it. We cannot wait to return. The restrooms/showers were closed for the winter but that was no problem as we use our own. This is going to be one of our favorite parks, I can tell. Be sure to say "Hi!" to Tony and give Cooper, his dog, a pat on the head. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Park is Passport America but they will not take reservations for that so we paid the full price. You pick your own spot and several with the trees can be a problem for your roof and the things up there. There are nice cement patios and we have cable. We understand not all sites have cable though. As far as we can see there is not a bath or shower facility. We scored them low due to the road noise 24/7. It is really one of the worse places for road noise that we have found in the last 3 years. On the plus side there are no trains and it is convenient to catch the Blue Ridge Parkway and to tour the Biltmore Estate. We probably would not stay here again for the noise reason. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Wilson's Riverfront RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com