223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Boone, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.30 miles S
7.34 miles SW
7.51 miles NW
9.09 miles NE
15.00 miles S
17.01 miles SW
17.01 miles NE
19.13 miles NE
19.58 miles NW
22.01 miles SW
22.79 miles SW
22.84 miles SE
23.40 miles SW
24.98 miles NE
28.81 miles NE
28.99 miles NE
29.88 miles SW
32.39 miles NE
33.05 miles NE
34.02 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Appalachian Ski Mountain
0.31 miles SW
Dan'L Boone Inn
0.43 miles NE
Appalachian State Univer
0.64 miles NW
Daniel Boone Native Gard
0.93 miles NW
Wal-Mart
200 Watauga Village Dr
0.97 miles NE
Tweetsie Railroad
4.16 miles SE
Hound Ears Club
4.48 miles SW
Vanderpool Cg
(828)297-3486
5.01 miles NW
Crippen's
5.16 miles S
Blowing Rock
6.50 miles SE
Riverwood
6.63 miles SE
Grandfather Mountain
8.96 miles SW
Ski Hawksnest
10.69 miles SW
Sugar Mountain
11.18 miles SW
Lees-Mcrae College
11.22 miles SW
Jackalope'S View
11.30 miles W
Linville Resort
14.58 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1489 Mount Jefferson
16.95 miles NE
North Carolina
Boone
Most Recently Reviewed
Flintlock Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-08 09:29:37
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Boone, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   7   9   6   7   10   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
The good: nice, friendly, helpful staff; adjacent farm animals - nice touch. The bad: wifi is terrible - gave up trying to use our tablets and switched to phones with data feed; site was barely long enough for our coach (40') and no room for the car at all; very tight exiting. We've stayed here twice but I'm pretty sure if we return to the area we'll seek out another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
This was our second stay at this park (the first in Oct 2011), the only one thus far we've visited more than once. Being a long holiday weekend, the place stayed packed, but it never seemed overwhelming. While other reviews are correct on various points -- some sites do appear a bit tight, and some units had levelers out, and there aren't grand views per se -- I found the roads from town rather nondescript, and camp amenities are more than adequate. Our 5-year-old grandson had a grand time with the pool, the playground and the farm animals, and made new friends at every turn. My spouse again found plenty to do in the area (a requirement), and we even enjoyed the Independence Day parade in town. This is a nice, family-friendly park, with gracious staff. I suspect we'll make it back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
This was our first time camping at the Boone KOA for Memorial Day weekend stay. We got there at 7 PM and was able to check in at the office. I asked if they could put us into a pull-through site that I could use my satellite dish. They put us in site # 6 at the far left-hand side of the campground with a clear view of the southern sky. I have a 30 ft travel trailer and it was was a tight squeeze down the crowed streets. My travel trailer just about bottomed out at the hitch trying to pull into the site. The spot was terraced with a grassy spot in front. This gave up a bit more room but most sites are tight with little room to park your tow vehicle. The sites are bit un-level so you’ll need some leveling blocks to make rig level. The small pool at the campground was a nice treat along with the mini golf. The Wi-Fi is strong near the office but gets very weak on the back-side of the park. The campground used to be a working farm back in the 70s so it’s not in town but back in the country. The campground does lack good signs pointing the way to the campground. It’s not hard to find but does take a trained eye to spot the road signs. We enjoyed the campground and we would come back but I think the site prices are bit high given the amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Boone KOA
Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   9   7   7   10   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$35
This was our first time camping for 4 days to do a little fall leaf watching. We got there at 6PM and was able to check in at the office. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. I wanted to use my satellite dish but tree canopy is very thick. But, they offer a free cable box. They put us in site # 49 which is on the creek with full hookups. I have a 30 foot RV, and with a little patience, I was able to get my rig into the back-in site. The site are a bit tight but this campground was built in 1970 when the rigs where a bit smaller. The sites are bit un-level so you’ll need some leveling blocks to make rig level. The WiFi is strong near the office but gets very weak as you move away from the office and non-existent at our site. The campground does have a very large green sign at the bottom of the hill on the right going down NC Hwy 105 at the entrance of the campground. It’s not hard to find but does take a trained eye to spot the road sign. NC Hwy 105 does have a lot of truck traffic so it's a bit tricky pulling out with your rig heading back toward Boone which is a left-hand turn on to NC Hwy 105. Yes, there's a bit of engine braking noise from the trucks but no different than a near by train with other campgrounds. The road down into the campground is a steep hill but slow down and you'll have no problems getting in or out of the campground. If you have time and you're heading toward Grandfather Mountain and/or Linville Falls which is a right-hand turn out of the campground, I would highly recommend that you visit Famous Louise's Rock House Restaurant located in Linville Falls directly off NC Hwy 221 S. We enjoyed the campground and we would come back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
rate based on $197 for 7 days. 1st the good. Excellent service from staff, very friendly and helpful, outstanding! Lots of shade and a great stream running through the camp. Restrooms were great. The not so good. Tight spots. I only bought my 20' rig with no slide and there was no extra room. The cable TV system was out the 1980's. You had to have a box for each TV, but the staff warned me it was hit and miss. But the service from the staff made this family owned park all worth it. If you are coming get a river front site, we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
The park is well maintained and the employees are friendly and helpful.The park is located 3 miles from downtown Boone. We stayed in site 33 which is on the creek running the park. There are many creek front sites, most with sewage. The restroom and showers are clean, well maintained and heated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Flintlock Campground
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   8   8   7   7   9   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Awful bath house with dribbling shower. But very good wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Very quiet campground. We stayed here while visiting local attractions like Tweetsie Railroad and Blowing Rock. Campground was clean and well kept. They had video games and movies on Friday/Saturday. They were also giving out free root beer floats and vanilla lattes. The only issues we had was that our site was not exactly level and narrower than expected. They had a ton of magnolia trees providing lots of shade. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
We have been RVing in North Carolina for the last four years and our trips always include stays at Honey Bear Campground. The length of our stay has grown increasingly longer, from one week up to four months, so it is clear that we really enjoy Honey Bear! The setting is beautiful with lots of trees and a pretty mountain stream. It is very quiet and you really feel like you are away from all the hustle and bustle, though it is a short drive to all the conveniences the area has to offer. There are many great things to do in the area from driving on the Blue Ridge Parkway to hiking the trails to visiting the nearby wineries. The staff at Honey Bear is always very pleasant and they go out of their way to be helpful. The facilities are always sparkling clean. The coffee shop is great. Internet access is provided at the campsites. There is plenty of space for kids to run, while still allowing for quiet areas at the campsites. There are lots of weekend activities to keep the quests entertained. We love Honey Bear and can’t wait for our annual return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Honeybear Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com