206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Boone, North Carolina (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.30 miles S
7.34 miles SW
7.51 miles NW
9.09 miles NE
15.00 miles S
17.01 miles SW
17.01 miles NE
19.13 miles NE
19.58 miles NW
22.01 miles SW
22.79 miles SW
22.84 miles SE
23.40 miles SW
24.98 miles NE
28.81 miles NE
28.99 miles NE
29.88 miles SW
32.39 miles NE
33.05 miles NE
34.02 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Appalachian Ski Mountain
0.31 miles SW
Dan'L Boone Inn
0.43 miles NE
Appalachian State Univer
0.64 miles NW
Daniel Boone Native Gard
0.93 miles NW
Wal-Mart
200 Watauga Village Dr
0.97 miles NE
Tweetsie Railroad
4.16 miles SE
Hound Ears Club
4.48 miles SW
Vanderpool Cg
(828)297-3486
5.01 miles NW
Crippen's
5.16 miles S
Blowing Rock
6.50 miles SE
Riverwood
6.63 miles SE
Grandfather Mountain
8.96 miles SW
Ski Hawksnest
10.69 miles SW
Sugar Mountain
11.18 miles SW
Lees-Mcrae College
11.22 miles SW
Jackalope'S View
11.30 miles W
Linville Resort
14.58 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1489 Mount Jefferson
16.95 miles NE
North Carolina
Boone
Most Recently Reviewed
Honeybear Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-22 23:09:03
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Boone, North Carolina
Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   6   7   10   6   4   8   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
For the good: staff was friendly and very helpful. Water pressure and power were great. The rest: older facility and looks like it. The main office and bathhouse need renovation IMO, not terrible, just not up to other KOA cg standards I've been to. The WiFi didn't work. My site wasn't even close to big enough for a 28ft TT. Couldn't park my truck on it, sites are very close where you pull in and pull out and next to one another. Couldn't level my trailer with all the blocks I could safely fit under the right side and deflating my left side tires to 10psi! Appeared to have great tent sites. It poured rain the entire weekend, so it was a muddy mess. Fire ring was some rocks in about a 12-14" circle, so bring your own pit. Lots of permanent sites. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We enjoyed staying here. Site plenty large and used only one block to level the trailer. The staff were friendly and helpful, laundry room clean, and camp store very adequate. But no alcohol for sale. It is a 10 minute drive to town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
Although the allure of it being in the mountains sounds intriguing, you really can't see much. You will know that you're 4000’ up though because the 4 mile drive up the mountain from the main road is tight, but certainly doable and obviously all up hill. The office staff was extremely nice, but the sites not so much. They tried to put us in a narrow, heavily treed site for which the turn was not really possible without maneuvering. They were able to move us to an open site which was much better but was just a gravel narrow path cut out of the grass. Picnic table, but no fire ring. To get in and out of town is a trip. The Boone Golf Club is nearby and a very good course. Wi-Fi was OK. AT&T phone service on the weak side. Nice playground, donkeys, goats and chickens that children would enjoy. I think we'd look for alternatives if returning to Boone. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Boone KOA
Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   10   7   9   8   6   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
This is a clean campground, with friendly staff. It's in a beautiful area. It's been mentioned before, but the entrance does come up quickly, but if you know the general area to look for, you will be fine. The sites are small, but ample to do what you need to do. This was the first trip with a much longer trailer than I was used to. The other campers were very helpful and nice in assisting us with getting into our spot. The creek is nice, but will try to stay at a pull through site next time. Yes, we will go back. The cable had better reception than we are used to. The campground is nice, quite and relaxing. Even our 16 month old made a friend with another child in the campground he also enjoyed his time at the campground and nearby Tweetsie railroad for the Thomas weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very clean little park, but very tight. Our site backed up to the stream, and with our awing out we were almost touching our neighbor. Their sewer connection was 5 feet from our picnic table. Nice area to walk the dogs around in, and the folks their for the whole summer were very friendly! We just did not like the tight sites. Also coming east off Grand Father mountain we could not make left hand turn into park. We had to go up the road and make u-turn and come back down to campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We returned because the campground is pleasant with lots of mature trees and some attractive, stream-side sites. We had to split between sites to get a full week, a reflection of the camp's popularity - some come here for the whole summer. We enjoyed getting together with relatives and were fairly well accommodated, given the holiday limited site availability. There are a surprising number of cultural activities in Boone, a university town, and nearby Banner Elk, an upscale community. Emphasis is on country music, but there's summer theater at Lees-Mcrae College. However, I down graded to a 7 because: dryer out of order for weeks. Wi-Fi throughout is poor to none in evening and some times in non-peak / daytime hours. Water pressure is low - small pipes just don't get the flow to more distant sites. But, yes, we would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Flintlock Campground
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   7   9   5   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Very quiet campground. We stayed here while visiting local attractions like Tweetsie Railroad and Blowing Rock. Campground was clean and well kept. They had video games and movies on Friday/Saturday. They were also giving out free root beer floats and vanilla lattes. The only issues we had was that our site was not exactly level and narrower than expected. They had a ton of magnolia trees providing lots of shade. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Our group of seven camped here for a week, our second time at this campground. We LOVE this place. Sites can be small and unlevel, but the staff was great. They assisted us in backing in for a couple of tight spots. It rained a lot, and some sites could really use some more gravel to help with drainage. Cable worked great, Wi-Fi was not great, but better than last time. Had an issue with a dryer not working well, they refunded our money. The stream and shade here are just amazing. We used the coffee bar behind the office as our group hangout spot during the rain, worked out great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We enjoy the cool mountain air with lots of mature trees - 15 degrees cooler than July at home in the DC area! WiFi better than most, maybe because an antenna is mounted on a tree across the drive. But, they must have good band width because throughput is good all times of day. This is a hilly park accessed via a narrow road with switch-backs from the main Hwy (105). Few pull-throughs (some are parallel to driveways): think twice if you have a very big rig. Many fifth-wheels and motor homes have made it in. Convenient to downtown Boone and nearby, mountain attractions. The camp has a funky name and the city is named after pioneer Daniel Boone, but it has a lot of cosmopolitan amenities as well as country / bluegrass music. My neighbor is here for a 2 month stay and his advance reservation was not honored for his choice of site, but staff delivered some gravel to fix a muddy area next to his RV. We got a 10% military discount; no other discounts. On-line reservation system not well designed, especially for low band-width access: better to call. We would come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Honeybear Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com